We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Everything but the bed is awful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
The Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, Gangnam-daero 107-gil, Seocho-gu, Seoul 06524, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #374 of 449 Hotels in Seoul
Shizuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything but the bed is awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

How does this place have so many stars on Agoda? LIES! The shower had no water pressure, there was trash in our closet, our door was open when we got there... We were consistently unimpressed. There was wifi in the room which was nice, but the TV was awkwardly placed on a pole in the center of the room. This place gets an extra star for having an amazingly soft bed, but other than that, don't put yourself through it.

Also, don't be fooled by "swimming pool" and "fitness center". These cost over $20 dollars, and the pool is for kids only.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asmota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    33
    18
    17
See reviews for
18
11
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We joined a Five Stars Tour and had to stay for 2 nights in this terrible hotel which does not even rate a 1 star. The hotel is poorly designed especially the lift lobby. There is only 3 small lifts for guests but 1 was being used by the maintenance staff to transport some hotel fixtures, thus the guests only had 2 lifts to use. At the time of our check-in there were other tour groups checking-in so you can only imagine the long queue of people waiting with the luggage.
The room was also not well maintained. The edge of our room door (rm #1002) was chipped, looking like someone had broken into the room. The chain latch on the door was not installed properly but I hear that it's the same in the other rooms. Above the door was a smoke detector/sensor devise that was also not installed properly exposing the electrical parts. There were no duvet skirting for the beds which meant that we could see the plastic wrapping of the duvet, and the bed sheets and quilts seem too small for the beds. The bathroom lights switches off automatically to save energy so it's not advisable to take too long a shower, and the bathroom light switch is not near the bathroom door so it's troublesome if you need to switch on the lights again.
To give a guest a room in such terrible condition not only shows a lack of respect for the guest, but also shows that the staff takes no pride in keeping the rooms well maintained.
This was the last hotel we were staying in before we flew home and it was the worst way to end a holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharrySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The breakfast was very poor, room had all necessary equipments, wi-fi was very slow, find other places, there were many better hotels around.

Room Tip: There were many better places around
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank River S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The only reason I stay at this dump is because my the company I was consulting with put me there. Rooms are filthy and thrown together and falling apart. The Internet rarely works. The room included breakfast, which is a choice of omelette or scrambled eggs. Its supposed to be a buffet but they never have it. The water in the showers cycles between hot and cold and is impossible to use. The carpets look like they have never been cleaned. There are cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. When I asked to change rooms I was given a room that was even worse. When I complained again I was told it was too bad. The hotel walls are paper thin and the halls are noisy. If you are used to clean rooms and good service stay somewhere else. I would never accept this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sethrapaport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
LEX Tourist Hotel
#225 of 449 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Hotel Foreheal
#291 of 449 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Hotel Sunshine
Hotel Sunshine
#165 of 449 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sinsa / Garosugil
Dormy Inn Premium Seoul Garosugil
Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Hotel Riviera Seoul
Hotel Riviera Seoul
#104 of 449 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Hotel

Property: The Riverside Hotel
Address: 6, Gangnam-daero 107-gil, Seocho-gu, Seoul 06524, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 449 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing