We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good italian in Seoul”

The Kitchen Salvatore Cuomo
Ranked #160 of 122,727 Restaurants in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Apgujeong / Cheongdam
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good italian in Seoul”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice place for good italian food in Seoul. located in the somerset Palace apartment hotel in the Insadong area. Try to get a table outside in the courtyard as they play crappy techno music quite loud inside. The lunch buffe for 22.000 won is very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AirplanedriverNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having lived in Italy, I think I can say with some certainty that this restaurant is about as close to the 'real thing' as you are likely to get outside Italy itself.

Of the dishes our group ordered, the pizza and gnocchi were exactly as they should be, whilst the quail eggs wrapped in bacon were amazing and very well prepared.

Considering it is in the ground floor of a hotel, the owners have done well with the decor as well - along with the delicious food it makes for a pretty authentic and worthwhile experience if you are in the mood for Italian food in Seoul.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Original Italian cuisine in the heart of Seoul”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The Kitchen Salvatore Cuomo in Seoul lives just like the other restaurants of the group in Shanghai and Nagoya up to the expectations of excellent Italian food in a cozy interior. Unlike many other Italian restaurants in Seoul/Korea, The Kitchen respects the original Italian taste and does not add a Korean touch to the food. The service is up to Korean standards, so simply excellent and friendly. To start, we shared the bruschetta, melanzane alla parmigiana, prosciutto platter and romaine salad. The pizza prosciutto e rucola and linguine alla pescatore that followed were super-delicious! Nice selection of wines and reasonably priced for Korean standards ... the Casanova di Neri (Rosso di Montalcino) was a perfect match with the various dishes. The panna cotta and affogato were to die for. Conclusion : if you are in Seoul and ready for some excellent Italian food ... The Kitchen is the place to be. Valet parking available.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TimVdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villaga, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Delizioso”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Perfetto! I loved this place. Our order included eggplant parmesian (so good, we doubled our order after the first taste), gnocchi, italian sausage, and pizza margherita senza formaggio + two bottles of Tuscan wine. Everything was amazing - possibly (probably) the best Italian meal I've had outside of Italy, despite living in Central Europe for the past 7 years. Not cheap, but not insanely expensive either. Our meal for 3 people, incl 2 bottles of wine totaled approx $260 USD (260,000 W). Overall, HIGHLY recommended.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Salvatore Cuomo also viewed

Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to The Kitchen Salvatore Cuomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing