We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin star temple food”
Review of Balwoo Gongyang

Balwoo Gongyang
Ranked #256 of 125,798 Restaurants in Seoul
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Jongno-gu
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When my cook stay at Baekyangsa Temple fell through due to Chuseok , I was crushed.Then I learned about Balwoo Gongyang in the heart of Seoul. While it is not the experience of a temple cookstay, it IS superb temple food. We secured our lunch reservation before leaving for Korea.We were warmly greeted and taken to our private room.We ordered the "middle" menu for 45,000. Each dish was a joy to the eyes and taste buds.
I am VERY grateful to have had this experience and recommend it to all who love food and serenity.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank hellp842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2019

Was very excited to try out the temple food and was it not disappoint.The restaurant is opposite Jogyesa Temple and a stone's throw from our hotel. Some dishes were outstanding and some were average. But liked their way of bringing out the subtle flavors of fruits and veggies with very few spices and garnishings. Some of the items like kimchi and Melon salad was super good. Very nice experience though little expensive at $45 per person. It was a seven course meal and each course had multiple items. They do have different highly priced menus with more elaborate menus for higher prices too. But we could not have eaten anything more. In fact, we could not finish the rice in our meal itself.
Service can be improved. Each party has a private room for lunch/dinner. All in all a great dining experience

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Traveller20175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

The food was impeccable the restaurant had a great range of different foods and styles. Overall the food was amazing and met my taste. The service was great and we did not need to wait long for food at all. Defiantly a place to remember.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pozilla012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

or leftovers. literally the look and taste of whatever served to us. temple food? perhaps food of a monk of a very poor temple in ancient times. my wife tasted most and left them untouched again. a scam with a bitter aftertaste.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank josephg493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

Balwoo Gongyand is located in the fifth floor of the Temple Homestay Information Center. It’s a small restaurant and reservations are recommended. The food is simple, vegetarian, and well prepared and presented. I found all the food tasty and unique. It’s healthy food from natural ingredients. It isn’t processed. This food could affect your system if you’re not used to it. It acts as a cleanser. That’s actually a good thing. The only drawback is the price at $45.00 USD/person. However one is supporting the Temple.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank RaySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balwoo Gongyang also viewed

Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Balwoo Gongyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing