We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay at Hanok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doo guesthouse Bukchon 1
Ranked #58 of 942 Seoul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Delightful stay at Hanok”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

It was our first trip (me and my friends) to Korea and our first experience to stay at hanok. It was the right decision that we choose Doo Guesthouse to be our first stay in Korea. It just took us a few minutes to walk to the subway station. It is near the tourist attractions such as palaces (Gyeongbokgung and Changdeokgung), etc that can be reached by walking, so save money for transportation. It is actually located in Bukchon area, one of tourist destination in Seoul where you can find many Hanoks are still preserved. Doo guesthouse was equipped with amenities we needed. It even has washing machines and dryer that we can use for a few won. All the staffs are friendly and helpful. We had the experience to wear hanbok, a traditional korean clothing provided by the guesthouse. In short, i would recommend Doo Guesthouse as a place to stay in Seoul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocipassau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
11
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Doo Guesthouse where we booked the special room.

Though the room is small (for 6 persons), it had all the things we needed (hairdryer, towel, toilet rolls, a fridge & TV).

It was a unique and great way to experience the Hanok stay. As the special room is located on the upper ground of the guesthouse, we have our own private courtyard which was really nice as we were able to sit and chill at night with some beer & food.

Doo Guesthouse is located about 7-10mins walk to Anguk station which is not a problem to us as there are many shops, nice cafes, restaurants & convenience shops along the way.

The staff at Doo Guesthouse is very helpful and booking my accommodation with them was really a breeze as they were very prompt in their replies.

I would highly recommend Doo Guesthouse for anyone wishing to experience the Hanok stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Located in the heart of Bukchon, Doo Guesthouse is one guesthouse which provides one with a pleasant & comfortable hanok experience.

It is only a 5 minutes walk from Anguk subway and the must visit local attractions in Seoul such as Gyeongbokgung Palace, Changdokgung Palace, Gwanghwamun, Insadong are all within walking distance too! Saves one the hassle of getting onto the subway.

The staff are friendly and efficient in responding to your queries too.

Overall, a good and reasonable place to stay at while in Seoul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YennieYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonju, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I visited this hanok (korean style house) and we enjoyed our stay. The room was small, but it had everything we needed. We slept on the floor which was quite comfortable. There was a small table with a mirror and a TV on it. Also there was an air conditioner as it was a hot night. For the most part it was quiet, except we could hear a girl speakig in the lounge next to us, but it was ok, because she left after a short time. Doo guesthouse staff was very kind and helpful by giving us a map. There is free bread for breakfast and coffee. I think Doo guesthouse was a great stay. I would recommend it to tourists and locals to experience a traditional Koean stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank masonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We considered our stay at Doo was an upgrade from another backpackers hostel small tiny room to the spacious hanok family room. The previous hostel had electrical malfunction and was nice enough to transfer us to Doo with no extra charges. We initially did not opt for Doo as it was out of our budget.

We were given the family room which can fit 4 person at the back of the guesthouse for the 2 of us as the small rooms were fully occupied (another blessing). It was a shared bathroom with another room, but the room was vacant so we had the showers to ourselves except for the last day. The room had small tv, hairdryer, mirror, combs, air conditioner and heated floors. The space between the room and the bathroom has electric kettle and small fridge. The bathroom supplies are available and there are small clean towels and working hot showers as well.

There are kitchen which they provide free bread for breakfast, 2 desktops with super-fast free internet, laundry facilities and free hanbok for you to try on and take pictures. As for security, each rooms are provided with padlock where as for the front entrance, there's a security code given if you were to return after midnight. There's a designated smoking area near the lounge.

The area is excellent with good mix of small cafes and self owned groceries as well as convenience stores. The area has a few schools and offices so you could see a lot of people walking around during rush hours.

The subway station (Anguk - exit 3) is a walking distance away though there's some steep uphill walking required when you return, same as other areas in Seoul I guess. If you are to take the bus or taxis, you will need to go to the main road which is also a walking distance only.

There are no complaints as the night time was quiet, the guesthouse was clean and the owners were friendly. We are recommending Doo for an excellent hanok and Korean hospitality experience.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the right side from the entrance to avoid the smoking area beside the lounge on the lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank imsukis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Well, just want to add my two cents since most reviewers covered all concerns regarding staying at Doo guesthouse. This was a very first trip to Korea with my daughter, and I couldn't have been happier that friend of her recommended us to try out the Korean experience to stay at Doo. Although it wasn't quite the same like home, but the friendly staff and the cleanliness of this place really make me feel like my vacation home during our stay. Definitely recommend future visitor to Seoul to try out this place. You won't regret the Korean experience staying at Doo guesthouse!

Room Tip: As this place is very desirable, I recommend you book it ahead of time and confirm with them to ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I went on a trip to Seoul with my dad for two weeks and based off of good reviews, we decided to stay at the Doo Guesthouse. Despite the troubles we had on finding the place upon our arrival (as we would have for any other place since we weren't familiar with the area), we were greeted with very friendly and sincere employees, who invited us to make Doo guesthouse our home for the next two weeks. My dad and I felt very comfortable because the employees treated us like family and were really generous and flexible, which gave us a good impression of the traditional Korean living experience - not only are the staff extremely friendly and happy to meet tenants' needs, the atmosphere was also very nice... Looks sort of like how traditional Korean houses look in Korean dramas! Even though we weren't used to sleeping on the floor and sharing a bathroom with other people, we found it to be a good experience, and quickly became friends with other visitors!! Coming back to the guesthouse after a long day of exploring was always something to look forward to, since there would always be staff to welcome us to a nice cup of cold water or some tea, and the atmosphere would always be so clean and peaceful.

Aside from personal experience with my dad (we rented semi double room for 60,000 won each night, 7th night free), I would recommend bigger families to get a bigger room so that they can have their own bathroom. Couples and those traveling with less than 3 people should consider the semi double room. Air conditioning is available in the rooms. There is also wifi access free for visitors, as well as an internet cafe where there are desktop computers available for use. One can also have the opportunity to try on traditional korean clothing, or what they call, hanbok! There is also a laundry facility available on site - $5,000 won for one cycle of washing and drying. The staff are happy to help you with finishing laundry while you are out exploring the heart of Seoul, which is about where the Doo guesthouse is located. Specifically, this guesthouse is close to insadong area, and the anguk subway station. Therefore, shopping and transportation is very convenient!! There are also pretty good Korean restaurants and marts in the area.

Overall, the friendliness of the staff was the biggest factor to my good impression of Seoul and Korea's culture, traditions, and people. It helped tremendously that the guesthouse staff all knew how to speak pretty good English too. There, we felt at home, and liked that the guesthouse was conveniently located near a lot of tourist attractions in Seoul (and otherwise, one can easily take the subway to pretty much anywhere)! The other factors, including location, style of living, amenities, and convenience also enhanced my stay in Korea! I am definitely coming right back to the Doo guesthouse the next time I visit Seoul, which I hope will be very soon!!

Last but not least, I recommend people to book in advance, as the Doo guesthouse seems to be quite popular to tourists due to their awesome reviews!! They are easily accessible through phone and email during normal business hours. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank woohijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Bukchon Guesthouse
#13 of 942 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Raon Guesthouse
Raon Guesthouse
#8 of 942 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Hanok Guesthouse 201
Hanok Guesthouse 201
#57 of 942 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Bukchonmaru Hanok Guesthouse
Kimchi Guesthouse
#122 of 942 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
The Place Seoul
The Place Seoul
#62 of 942 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doo guesthouse Bukchon 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doo guesthouse Bukchon 1

Property: Doo guesthouse Bukchon 1
Address: 103-7, Gyedong-gil, Jongno-gu | Doo guesthouse, Seoul 03056, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 942 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Doo guesthouse Bukchon 1 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doo guesthouse Bukchon 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing