We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IS@K Traveler's Lounge
Ranked #169 of 580 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Busan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place is warm and full of life. Indeed, The staff works a lot on making you comfortable. The location is great, there are different kind of rooms (2 Beds, 4...), many things to drink and eat for free, clean bathroom, and the most important thing : people from the staff are really helpful and aware of anything you need. I met a lot of very nice people in there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
5
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is an awesome hostel. If I'm coming back to Seoul, there's one thing for sure which is that I'm gonna stay here. The location is great, the facilities are nice, and the price is great given the location and facilities, but what really sets this place apart is the staff. They're the most genuinely friendly and helpful people I've met in Korea.

My flight was horrendously delayed, and I only got to Itaewon in the middle of the night, but one of the staff actually stayed up with me, and accompanied me to the convenience store to grab a bite. Really appreciate the gestures like these.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knn-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a sweet little place! Nice and clean and cool location. Sparkling showers and loos. The place felt very safe for a lone female traveller. Also v.handy for me as a kosher traveller, as it was near the kosher shop and close enough to walk to services at the synagogue. Staff happy to help in any way they can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokkaido, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's hard to get a good night's sleep here - the walls are thin, beds not super comfy and people like to party here. The staff watch tv so guests cannot and there is little privacy or security except for the two front doors being locked (we couldn't lock our room while we were away). One night we couldn't shower as they were doing maintenance at 9pm. However it is in a great location near the subway and food and shopping in itaewon and the staff are friendly and helpful and everything is very clean. Laundry was very expensive - 10 000 won. I have never paid this much even in Europe. Ideal for short term stays but no longer than a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed in a female dorm last week for a couple of nights. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. It is also right in itaewon so there are plenty of bars/restaurants around. The common area and bedroom were very nice, I had a good sleep in the bed. The wifi was great as well. Having come from India, it was so nice to have such fast reliable wifi.
When I go up to Seoul again I'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geegCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Great location (near Itaewon!) Free toast/breakfast, coffee etc. Comfy dorms with lockers. Great common area and easy to meet people - movies on projector at night time! Rooftop hangout area with cool views and another good common area. Can bring your own food and keep in kitchen... Computer with internet for everyone to use. Staff will help you work your way around Seoul and show you attractions and lots of brochures and info in hostel. Cleanest hostel I've stayed at. Great bathroom/showers with lots of free products (toothpaste/shampoo/soap etc). A/C for summer in all rooms. Would recommended without doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed at IS@K during Mid-May 2013.
Common area looks new and is well designed. Looks like a great hostel to meet others. There is one computer with internet provided free for guest use. Washrooms and kitchen were kept very clean. Toast with Jam and Butter is provided as a small morning snack.

Stayed in the room which was labeled online as the Standard Double Private Room. This is the same room which a previous reviewer labels as a prison cell. The small size warrants this description. Reading double I assumed there would be a double bed in the least. We were shown to a room which had a washroom stall partition style door, and a bunk bed. During our short stay from Midnight until 6am, we were awoken by other guests enjoying the end of their evenings in Seoul. Noise which is acceptable and expected when staying in hostels. However, because the door was missing a top and bottom, it was impossible to sleep. The owner did however provide a fan and air conditioner which made the noise and temperature more bearable.

In addition, we were overcharged upon reaching the hostel. After previously discussing the cost of one night, the owner overcharged us a small amount. I am unsure if he had knowledge to what he was doing as we exchanged email correspondence only hours before. Being tired and wanted the little sleep I was looking for, I didn't object to his small price increase.

The owner definitely cares about his establishment but should continue to make improvements. The hostel seems like a great place if you don't mind sleeping in larger rooms and would like to meet other guests however based on my experience, If you're looking for a private or semi private room, look elsewhere. There are many other Hostels and Korean Hotels to be found for the same price or less.

Room Tip: This is a good hostel, pay the extra for a deluxe double and avoid the (noisy,prison style) standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Itaewon
I.T.W Hotel
I.T.W Hotel
#263 of 493 in Seoul
47 reviews
Itaewon
Dodam Guesthouse
Dodam Guesthouse
#101 of 580 in Seoul
20 reviews
Itaewon
Yacht Guesthouse
Yacht Guesthouse
#54 of 580 in Seoul
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itaewon
Itaewon Backpackers
Itaewon Backpackers
#217 of 580 in Seoul
14 reviews
Itaewon
GV Residence
GV Residence
#124 of 580 in Seoul
24 reviews
Itaewon
Itaewon Land Guest Room
Itaewon Land Guest Room
#379 of 580 in Seoul
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IS@K Traveler's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IS@K Traveler's Lounge

Property: IS@K Traveler's Lounge
Address: 238 Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu-gu | 4f, Seoul 140-892, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 580 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISAK Guest House is a brand new Guest House (Backpckers Hostel) in Itaewon, Seoul. We are the first hostel in Itaewon Area. Itaewon is the most famous and familiar place where is fun, interresting, convenient for tourist. You can easily access to ISAK Guset House from Incheon International Airport by Air Port Limousine Bus No. 6060 and also from Gimpo Air Port or Seoul Station (Railway)by Subway linesAir Port Limousine bus No. 6060 stops at the front of ISAK Guest House every 15-20 Min. From Subway line No.6 Itaewon or Hangangjin Staion it takes only 5 min by walk. ISAK Guesthouse offers cheap, clean, convenient, comfortable and cozy space to all guests,ISAK Guesthouse hopes all guests to understand and learn something with exchanging their hearts and feelings and also sharing information and knowledge for travel each other. This is ISAK GH's policy.All staffs and host will welcome you with warm heart and help you for your memorable staying in Korea. we are very happy to wait for the guests from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your IS@K Traveler's Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing