We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Studio 41st Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Studio 41st Hostel
Ranked #24 of 532 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

it's my second time here at Studio41st and I love it! Each room is like an apartment of its own with almost hotel-like facilities, with water coolers, cooking facilities, utensils, private bathroom. clothes rack, laundry powder etc. The rooms also had a nice cosy feel to it, which I really liked. And most importantly, it is very clean and new :)

The staff were also very very friendly and helpful all the time. Of all the hostels and guesthouses I've stayed in my few visits to Korea, the breakfast provided here is the best! The breakfast variety is more varied and the common room is also cosy and nice.

I'll highly recommend this place! It is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood area at Hongdae, which makes it near the hip places yet maintains a quiet atmosphere for rest at night :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yenping88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Yenping,

This is Sun, a manager of Studio 41st hostel :D
We appreciate your generous comment :)

I hope that you and your parents had great time in Seoul and at Studio 41st as well ~
We always ready to give a hand when our guests need help!

We wish all of our guests are happy!

Have great time and make wonderful memory in Korea ~ Hope to see you again!

Warm regards,

Sun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    48
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

it locates at Hongdae area, which is quite popular for young ppl, clubs and good food are all around, yet the neighbourhood is pretty cozy and quiet, a good place for us to refresh ourselves after a tired whole day trip.
the facilities are clean and eco friendly, ppl can have private bathroom which is very important to me. nice breakfast , lovely and considerate staff, can't love it more.
I'll be back for many times~

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello!! Judy~~
This is AJ, a manager of Studio 41st Hostel ^^
Thanks for your awesome comments about us.
We really appreciate it.
It was really nice to meet and talk with you.
We are so glad that you and your friends had a great time at Studio 41st ^^
I couldn't say good bye to you guys because of my day-off =(
Next time, I will be here to say good bye for next meet!!
Take care until then ^^
Thanks for coming Studio 41st Hostel
From. AJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We usually rent an apartment when we go away, but we couldn't find anything suitable in the Hongdae area. Studio 41st made an excellent alternative. The place was clean, and the people really friendly and helpful (thanks AJ and colleagues). We even came to embrace the Korean bathroom!

The location is great. We're really glad we didn't stay downtown or in Itaewon. Studio 41st is in a residential area, with real locals eating in real locals' restaurants - at all times of the day. But it's a short walk to Hongdae proper. To say Hongdae comes to life at night is an understatement. We were a bit old for the clubs, which certainly cater for the younger folks, but there are plenty of relaxed, quirky bars hidden away. And yes, many are hidden - so you need to be brave and head up or down those dodgy looking stairs! You can always turn round and leave.

A little tip for drinkers: places that say 'hof' or 'pub', as a rule, want you to buy a token something to eat. This can be fine, but not if you ate a barbecue just ten minutes beforehand! Places that say 'bar' seem to be happy to just give you a drink, even though food is probably available there as well.

If you're brave, visit 'Cheap Hof' for your beer and excellent fried chicken. If you're braver, visit their not-so-excellent loo.

Anyway, if we go back to Seoul, we'll probably head back to Studio 41st.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello! Luke & Graham
This is AJ, a manager of Studio 41st Hostel ^^
It's quite late response =( Sorry.
We really appreciate your generous review about us ^^
It was so glad to meet you guys.
Every morning, little talking time was so memorable to us =)
Thanks for coming to Studio 41st Hostel, Luke and Graham ^^
Hope to meet you guys again somewhere around the world.
If that place is Seoul, it will be fun and fund ^^
Thanks,
From. AJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Me and my friends had a great time at Studio 41st. We love the guesthouse;

lovely room, comfy and cozy living room, nice breakfast and

their friendly warm welcome make us feel like we are in our home safe.

The location is great just 10 min. walk from Hongik Station

and around with convenience store, restaurants, coffee shop and etc.

We will always stay here If we have a chance to visit Seoul again.


Miss you my 2nd home. :D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Eak,

I am Sun, a manager of Studio 41st.

We miss your big smile and your family.
Our cats are missing you ~
I have to appreciate it I could make good friends from Thailand ~ :)

We are glad to hear that all of you had a great time with us at Studio 41st.
It was really nice to meet you guys, and it was memorable moment to us.

Thanks for coming Studio 41st Hostel again^^

Take care of yourself ~

Hope to see you ! ^^

Cordially yours,

Sun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed Oct 17-23, 2013. Booked 2 family rooms, each good for 3 people (we were a family of 5 adults). We opted for a guesthouse instead of a hotel because we wanted to spend more on sightseeing and shopping than on fancy accommodations.

The rooms were nice, cozy, and most importantly, clean. We had everything we needed. There was a hairdryer, a clothes hanger, washing machine, sink, etc. The managers (AJ, Kimkong, Sun, Adrian) were very helpful, giving us maps and travel tips. We booked a DMZ tour and tickets to Nanta through them. Their friendliness really stood out and made our stay memorable. We also played with the cats who live out in front.

Breakfast is simple but substantial--there's four kinds of juice, different types of bread + butter and strawberry jam, yoghurt, small snacks, a platter of salami and square cheese, and fruits. There are fresh eggs, which you can cook using their stovetop & frying pan. There's also cereal and milk. Guests wash their own dishes, so it really is like home. :p

It's a ten-minute walk through a peaceful residential neighborhood to the nearest subway station (Hongik University) and the surrounding areas have a lot of nice cafes and restaurants. Definitely a place worth coming back to. Thank you, Studio 41st!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Hannah,

This is Sun, a manager of Studio 41st.

How is your family going??
Today is raining day in Korea ~ and much colder than days when you stayed at here~

We must say thank you that your sister left a drawing and letter to us~
How impressive those are! It was great gift for us!

We are happy to hear that you and your family had a great time with us at Studio 41st.
It was unforgettable time with you guys ~

Hope to see you again and take care of your self!

Best wishes,

Sun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

AJ sent me info on how to get to Studio 41st from Incheon Airport after I'd booked. Subsequently AJ, Chloe, Adrian were helpful. I was on a business trip but didn't want to stay in any of the standard places so reverted to my student days travelling and staying in hostels. Glad I made that decision. I wanted a home away from home experience for a few days and got it alright. Peaceful and safe neighborhood ; there's a good Korean restaurant opposite the Oberlisk Building ( 15 minutes walk ) for eating and watching people - delicious Kalbi Tang ; there's also Vietnamese food across the main avenue intersection there ; easy access to subway for sight-seeing downtown ; many local eateries and grocery shops along the street leading to hostel as well - one doesn't have to walk far to get basic necessities. Turns out it wasn't like a business trip for me ; more like a couple days holiday trip.....Kam sa ha mi dah to all at Studio 41st.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chin Tao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello!!! Mr.Lee ^^
This is AJ, a manager of Studio 41st Hostel.
Thanks for your HOT! hot! Review about us.
We really appreciate it =)
It was really nice to meet you at Studio 41st Hostel.
Little meeting in our office was quite fun and good to us.
Thanks for coming to Studio 41st Hostel.
and thanks for sharing your story with us ^^
We hope that you meet your old pal someday =)
also, we want to meet you again!
Thanks,
From. AJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my family had a great stay at Studio41st. The room was adequate although we could have done with a bit more storage space. We also loved the location, in the middle of a friendly community and good communications. But the big selling point of this hostel is the fantastic feel.
This really is a home away from home. The common areas are nice and comfy and our son loved to play with the cats and especially his new friend AJ. I have never stayed anywhere with such a fantastic staff! Everyday they gave us a few tips depending on what we were doing that day, they really made sure we had a good time. When we moved to a bigger, more expensive, hotel in Insadong we all missed Studio41st and our friends there.
When we all come back to Seoul we will absolutely stay with you again!
Daniel, Jenny and Isak

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JennySTorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hallå!
Daniel, Jenny, and my lovely cutie lil friend, Isak ^^

This is AJ, a manager of Studio 41st and Isak's new friend in Korea ^^

How are you guys doing? Isak! Are you miss us? ^^
We really miss you all a lot ^^.

We, Team Studio 41st, are doing well in here ^^

BUT!!! We miss Isak's big smile and hug.
Of course, we miss Jenny and Daniel's nice and happy smile, too.

We are glad to hear that all of you had a great time with us at Studio 41st.
It was really nice to meet you guys, and it was memorable moment to us.

Thanks for coming Studio 41st Hostel ^^

Take care Daniel, Jenny, and Isak ^^ until we will meet again ^^

adjö~~

From. Isak's good friend, AJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#10 of 532 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Hongdae
Come Inn Guesthouse
Come Inn Guesthouse
#1 of 913 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Hongdae
Bounce Guesthouse
Bounce Guesthouse
#12 of 532 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
Oasis Guesthouse Seoul
Oasis Guesthouse Seoul
#2 of 532 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
#3 of 913 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Hongdae
Urbanwood Guesthouse
Urbanwood Guesthouse
#5 of 913 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 41st Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 41st Hostel

Property: Studio 41st Hostel
Address: 32, Seongmisan-ro 22-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 03988, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Hongdae
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 532 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio 41st Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful, quiet residential area and still within walking distance of Hongdae in Seoul Korea. Studio 41st offers a memorable experience that will be imprinted on your mind for a long time.Studio 41st is an ideal place for families and friends who seek a family-friendly and friend-like atmosphere. Guests can keep privacy in a fully equipped en suite room, whereas all staff are super enthusiastic about providing one-to-one information about places to go, eat, and see on request. From a welcoming greeting to farewell, guest will experience Korean heartfelt affection, called 'Jeong(情).'One of its great features is complimentary breakfast buffet, which consists of various kinds of organic bread, fresh salad, seasonal fruit, ham, egg, cheese, cereal, and beverage. Breakfast is served in a big, cozy common room every morning by our staff hands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Studio 41st Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio 41st Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing