We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home way from home”
Review of Studio 41st Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Studio 41st Hostel
Ranked #30 of 582 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“home way from home”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

staying in Hongdae instead of the usual Myeongdong area this time round was the best decision made ever, and Studio41st Hostel is truly a gem of a find.

The location was slightly difficult to find initially after getting off the airport bus, but after a few rounds in the neighbourhood it's a comfortable 7-10 min walk from exit 2 of the Hongik station. The hostel keepers are super sweet people, and ever willing to lend a hand, accommodate our requests and make recommendations. The rooms are smallish, but definitely adequate for a comfortable stay (love the ensuite bathroom, kitchenette and water dispenser). Free WIFI is fast and reliable as well.

Hongdae would be the location of choice for my next visit to Seoul, as the eateries and shops are mainly catered to university students and hence reasonably priced (though the owners may not speak as much English, so it's helpful to know a few basic Korean words beforehand). The energy of the neighbourhood is just awesome and vibrant, and not as commercialized as the Myeongdong area.

Thanks for taking care of us during our stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leenno, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello, Mindy:)

This is Jin, a manager of Studio 41st hostel.

Thank you for your honest review!

it was really nice to meet you and your friend accomodating as guests!

Hope to see you again in Korea.

Take care!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    48
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Note: I also wrote a review for Namu Guesthouse (sister property literally around the corner from Studio 41st). So check that out also... My review for Studio41st will really be almost identical as far as how much I love both places, the staff and locations.

Besides Korea being a super place to visit - One of the main reasons I felt so at home in Seoul is because of my stay at Studio 41st (as well as their sister property Namu Guesthouse...The staff is precious and amazing (both places).Key words: amazing, super, awesome, glorious, cozy, creative, clean, private, green, friendly, relaxed, great location, charming, quiet, in-expensive..... So the details:

Location: Very very good, in a quiet part of Hongdae area. ~10-15 minute walk to the bustle of Hongdae. About ~5-7 minute walk to line 2 subway. Line 2 is the circle line so super central transportation. Lots of charming cafes are nearby as well. Studio 41st looks just like the pictures on the website. No hocus pocus...

Guestrooms / Common Room / Amenities: CLEAN!...adorable decor, cozy and warm. I stayed on the 4th floor in a 4 person room. The room is a really good size, like your own little apartment w/ washer, kitchenette, mini table/chairs, TV/PC. Wi-Fi is available throughout property and works great. I loved the rooftop garden and you can feed the earth worms too (composting). I considered the breakfast pretty generous for all inclusive guesthouse amenity. Serve yourself, eggs, cereal, toast, fruit, juice, coffee/tea, yogurt..

Staff: I miss them!!!! Gaya, Ryan, Moon, Jin...and the mascot Gumi/Gami ..a hug for them all. I felt that all of them did their best to make our stay pleasant as well as keep the place a safe, clean, quiet, haven for it's guests. All of them have amazing personalities and when my friend and I were staying at Namu we would make special trips to say hi and just hang out with the everyone at Studio 41st. Ask Moon is she is selling prints of her paintings yet...heheh...If you are concerned about your rusty or beginning Korean (like me), not to worry all the staff speaks great English.

Good to Know: There is no lift / elevator to access Studio 41st. So you will need to walk up several flights of stairs depending which floor you are on. All of the rooms are private studio type rooms with a dedecent sized bathroom. If you have never stayed in Asia, then be prepared because the shower and bathroom (toilet/sink) are all one room with a floor drain. Have your own soap handy since it's studio/apartment type living.Towels are plentiful in the bathroom cabinets..

There is a washing machine in the room. It takes about 45 min -1 for a load. Soap is also provided. You will need to hang your launtry on the rooftop clothelines or there is a drying rack in a separate area in the bathroom. The guesthouse does have a policy about noise...so don't expect to have karaoke parties and dance-offs even though your room is private. The streets are also safe and quiet around the guesthouse. I walked home late at night often. If you are a single girl traveling alone you can feel pretty safe here as well (goes for all of Korea really). There are also several markets/ convenience stores located nearby.

And finally - if you are arriving by cab or walking...make sure you print the map from their website / give directions to the driver. It can seem a little tricky to get there the first time but it's pretty easy/close to get to the guesthouse from the line 2 metro or Arex. Studio 41st is about ~10 walk from bustling busy sections of Hongdae but there is lots going on/nearby. If you watch k-drama at all. the hostel is walking distance to the 1st Shop of Coffee Prince; ~20 min walk.

Happy travels!
-Kim

Room Tip: You may need to consider a room on the lower floors if available if you have trouble with stairs or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leenno, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Kim!!

Good to hear you again;)

Thank you for your detailed review!

It will be so helpful for other guests who want to know about our hostel!

We miss your groove which made us to have so much fun!

Hope you can have another chance to visit Korea, staying Studio 41st again:D

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Studio41st was a pleasant surprise, I feel like I am going home every time I return!

Great location, in a quiet neighborhood that is close enough to the very happening Hongdae area. Great rooms and concept to accommodate travelers that enjoy private spaces and the friendliness of a guesthouse!

But if you would like me to just pick one favorite out of this place, its gonna be the people who runs it that makes all the differences! Very very good job Moon, Jin, Gaya and Ryan and Mr. Lee!!

I will be back... :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leenno, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hi Kevin!

I am Jin, the manager of Studio 41st :)

Thank you for your excellent review~! I am sure it is going to be helpful for others!

How is it going? Still feel like traveling abroad? Of course, you do! XD

I hope to meet you again, soon at our hostel !

Take care by then!

Studio 41st hostel, Seoul, Korea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seogwipo, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Although the system is set up for paypal the staff were very accommodating and helped with booking. All the mod con's available within the room, great location and the 3 staff I meet were the friendlies Korean's I have meet while living here over 1year now. Their English is great and they get a joke! Lovely people.

Room Tip: Terrible for fitness, my mistake, there isn't fitness there but they did help me find a gum arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpaullong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, Manager at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Hello:)

This is Jin, the manager of Studio 41st.

Thank you for your kind review about our guest.

Based on your comment, we will do our best to improve service

so that you can enjoy the perfect moment in Korea:)

We hope to see you soon.

Take care:D★

STUDIO 41st HOSTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were rerouted for a night's stay here after there was some miscommunication with the other place we had booked. We were given a great room and had a wonderful breakfast. A very modern and green and technologically advanced place to stay in Seoul.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollin_with_Dunston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, Manager at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Hello:)

This is Jin, the manager of Studio 41st.

Thank you for your kind review about our guest.

Based on your comment, we will do our best to improve service

so that you can enjoy the perfect moment in Korea:)

We hope to see you soon.

Take care:D★

STUDIO 41st HOSTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 10 nights. The room was nice. It had a comfy bed, a couch, a kitchen with stove and fridge. There was a PC with free Wi-Fi, a wash mashing and you had your own bathroom with toilet and shower.

We easily foud the hostel with the map provided, the next metro station wasn't very far away. The common room where breakfast was served was cosy. They provided juice and coffee, cereals, toast, jam, cheese and eggs for you.

The best thing about Studio 41st were its managers. They were really friendly and helpful. Thank you so much again for giving us information on how to travel by bus and where to go shoe shopping! We would have been lost without you! And also thanks for willing to mail our huge amount of postcards :)

We can sincerely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi!

This is Jin, the manager of Studio 41st.

Thank you for your detailed review!

It was really nice to accommodate you as a guest:D

By the way, did you find a shoes shop where sells shoes fits your size?

We had found some information but could not give you :(

Hope we see you soon-*

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My friends and I were really glad that we chose to stay at Studio 41st during our visit in Seoul. We stayed there for 4 nights. We love the hostel's concept. Very unique and homely at the same time. The managers (Moon, Jin, Ryan & Gaya) are so friendly and helpful. They would go extra mile to provide answers to any inquiries we had and we were very thankful for that.

Location is good, it is near to Hongik Uni station which is like 2 or maybe 3 stations away from Ewha; Great shopping place if you do not wish to see too much crowd at Myeondong or Dongdaemun.

Room is rather small but good enough for three of us (we had 2 rooms btw). There are small kitchen, computer and a washing machine which came in very handy when you didn't bring enough clothes.

I love their common room, we can call home every night as well from there. There is a free international call. Oh and breakfast was great; good variety to choose from. We didn't stay long since we always had to rush out for some tour or plan, but I wished we had spent more time there chatting with Jin or Moon (their managers in the morning).

If you are looking for a place to stay in Seoul, Studio41st is a very good choice. The people there can manage to make your stay very comfortable and I can't wait to go back again next year.

- Jenny

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio41st0041, 매니저 at Studio 41st Hostel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hello!!

This is Jin, the manager of Studio 41st!

Thank you for your review and mail for the greeting:)

Next time, I hope you to take time longer so that we can have enough chatting time at our lovely common room ;)

it was a bit short but great time when we talk about trip ,plan and little piece of life:D

Take care and See you soon♥


Studio 41st hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Easytrip Guesthouse
Easytrip Guesthouse
#10 of 582 in Seoul
50 reviews
Hongdae
Travelers Planet Hostel
Travelers Planet Hostel
#35 of 582 in Seoul
168 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
Sopoong The URBAN
Sopoong The URBAN
#19 of 582 in Seoul
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sinchon / Ewha
Time Travelers Party Hostel
Hongdae
Orange Guesthouse
Orange Guesthouse
#77 of 582 in Seoul
40 reviews
Hongdae
Hotel Baroato
Hotel Baroato
#96 of 958 in Seoul
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 41st Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 41st Hostel

Property: Studio 41st Hostel
Address: 32, Seongmisan-ro 22-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 03988, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Hongdae
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 582 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio 41st Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful, quiet residential area and still within walking distance of Hongdae in Seoul Korea. Studio 41st offers a memorable experience that will be imprinted on your mind for a long time.Studio 41st is an ideal place for families and friends who seek a family-friendly and friend-like atmosphere. Guests can keep privacy in a fully equipped en suite room, whereas all staff are super enthusiastic about providing one-to-one information about places to go, eat, and see on request. From a welcoming greeting to farewell, guest will experience Korean heartfelt affection, called 'Jeong(情).'One of its great features is complimentary breakfast buffet, which consists of various kinds of organic bread, fresh salad, seasonal fruit, ham, egg, cheese, cereal, and beverage. Breakfast is served in a big, cozy common room every morning by our staff hands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Studio 41st Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio 41st Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing