We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby but good location”
Review of Hotel Yaja Jongno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Yaja Jongno
Ranked #336 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is excellent but as others have noted in a seedy side alley which can get noisy. I stayed for four nights and although my 'deluxe' room was really quiet, the bed comfortable and the sheets changed every other day, the room was not cleaned and the bathroom was extremely grubby which detracted from its other comforts. Take your own soap!

Eccentric balloon display in lobby and 'breakfast' is a misnomer - far better to go to the excellent Paris Baguette on Insadong.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room or above and a room that does not face the alley
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Yaja Jongno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel comes across as rather seedy.

It's in a good location but it's surrounded by a few love motels which for unassimilated and unbeknownst foreigners, may come as quite a shock.

It's seriously hard to find and I was familiar with the area.

They spoke no other language but Korean at the reception desk which will make it challenging for anyone who doesn't speak Korean.

The hall ways had a heavy smell of smoke in them.

We received a free little tub of ice-cream on the way up to our room.

Surprisingly our room was great. It was spacious and modern.

Hotel Cats may be trying to distance itself away from the "love motel" status but I'm afraid that it's hard thing to do when you are surrounded by them.

-What would help this cause more is if they treated their guests like actual hotel guests and not a couple checking into a love motel for the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KtotheX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in the hotel in Sept 2012. I can only assume the negative reviews were from awhile back. We booked sight unseen for the price and the difficulty of finding a conveniently located place. The price was half the other hotels and located near Insadong, the river walk (Chongkyechun), restaurants, and numerous street vendors. Is this a "love hotel?" Might be, but other, more long staying guests, were also there. The staff spoke enough English to be courteous and helpful. The room we had was small but larger were available for a higher price. Some may find the glass enclosed tub and toilet disconcerting but we found it amusing! The TV worked and did have an erotic video available. We are in our 60s and 70s but veterans of California and took it all in stride. May not be the best bet if you are traveling with children but others found this not a problem. Do pay attention to the guidelines others have written about finding the hotel....it isn't easy but worth the trouble. We recommend it highly and plan to stay there again on our next trip to Seoul.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice room, the AC worked well, and the location was why I chose it in the first place. We were able to walk to plenty of places: temples, places, parks, the Insadong road of shops and restaurants as so many others have noted. Free ice cream in the freezer by the elevator, yummy. Free parking for our car which sat there for three days while we explored on foot and by subway.
And the subway, clean, very clean and quiet and efficient to travel anywhere. Our Seoul experience was only enhanced by staying there and its great central location. The room was sort of small, but that is Seoul, packed in folks, get used to it. We definitely would go back and price is right. We got the junior suite and it was just right.

Room Tip: Go with a larger room that standard if you are large in size and have a fair amount of luggage as we...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertocollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I booked this hotel online and finding it was a major hassle. It is located in the Isadong area, great area of Seoul. The hotel is off and alley and you really can't see it until you are on top of it. The I notice that when I go to my room it has a huge bathtube in the middle of the room- how was I to know this is a "love" hotel but not at all seedy actually after they moved my room to one with a huge bathtube I found the hotel to be very comfortable plus in a great neighborhood

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pisco47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location, however the area does feel rather dodgy at nites. There's lots of late nite eateries and it is within walking distance to Insadong, Jongmyo shrine etc. The train station has 3 lines and it's also close to the main Jongno road thus very convenient and accessible.
Nice touch- free ice cream and coffee at lobby, and sometimes breakfast snacks. Wifi is only at the lobby, computer in room is impossibly slow so don't count on it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joarcsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Quite a stylish hotel and good value. Good first impressions despite evasive front desk staff. Our room even had a bath/jacuzzi in the bedroom. The place has a strange air about it, though. A little like a place that couples might rent by the hour.

I accidentally dropped something down the side of the bed and discovered a nasty hoard of used condoms when I pull it away from the wall. Yuck. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank locomota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Amare
Hotel Amare
#160 of 500 in Seoul
42 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Nafore
Hotel Nafore
#68 of 500 in Seoul
190 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Shilla Stay Gwanghwamun
Shilla Stay Gwanghwamun
#84 of 500 in Seoul
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Makers Hotel
Makers Hotel
#10 of 500 in Seoul
185 reviews
Insadong
Hotel Sunbee
Hotel Sunbee
#34 of 500 in Seoul
413 reviews
Jamsil
Signiel Seoul
Signiel Seoul
#91 of 500 in Seoul
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yaja Jongno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yaja Jongno

Address: 9-1, Supyo-ro 28-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03133, South Korea (Formerly Hotel Cats)
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $61 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Yaja Jongno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Yaja Jongno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing