We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$105
Fully refundable before Sat, Mar 16
Hotels.com
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
6
20
28
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6
20
28
13
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 71 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2012

No real lights in the big black bathroom, huge tub, strangest toilet ever (Elvis style with panel for heat, bidé, fan etc), computer in the room, free wifi and odd breakfast. Fun - but more of an experience than a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrin Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Location is very convenient to subways and airport bus.. Just a 5-7 minute walk and you're there! Since this is a busy street, Restaurants, bars and coffee shop are all over the area. There is a 24hour noodle house just a few steps from the hotel, problem is there is no english name:( though just look for a korean character that looks like 0410 (its d resto with d ordering vending machine).

Myeongdong shopping just a 10minute walk:)

Airport bus 6015 stops at Namdarmun Market. Go down the namdaemun underground market to cross to the other side and you're about 200 meters from the hotel...

Staff speaks english though not that fluent but understandable:)

Price though not that cheap. I could have gotten along myeongdong but they're all
Fully booked. Nonetheless, sleep was good here. Good bed and soft pillows. Window facing Namdaemun market. Free WIFI and a computer inside the room:)

Also the street becomes busy with bars at night so many drunk Koreans on the street, just ignore them and there'll be no trouble.

Overall it was a good stay...

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank byahero888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My parents & I stayed at Hotel Irene twice. On our first leg of the trip in Seoul, we were shocked to see that there were NO DOORS (privacy) for the bathroom (with the exception of the toilet). It was pretty unbearable to have my parents leave the room & take a stroll around the district while i showered. Our second round back at Hotel Irene, we had a bigger room that had a door leading into the bathroom. So the room was definitely more comfortable for all of us. Both rooms we were in had their own pc, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable & always restocked us on complimentary water. The staff is very courteous and will do everything as quick as possible to make your stay comfortable.
The neighborhood of the hotel is a very amusing one. Many businessmen tend to walk down the street of the hotel leaving the restaurants drunk - but on a good note, they pay no mind to anyone. Aside from the drunk businessmen, everything around the hotel is easy accessible; train, shops, restaurants & bars.
I would definitely come back to this hotel!

Room tip: If going with a non significant, please make sure to request for a bathroom that has doors (for the shower & tub)
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We reserved 3 nights at Hotel Irene for our 4-day Seoul trip. When we checked in the hotel, we were told that they didn't have room of our reserved grade for 3 nights. So they "upgraded" our room for the first night and we were required to move on the second night. This is just unacceptable as no one would expect to change room when you stay in the same hotel for 3 days. Hotel Irene should not accept my booking in the first place.

The "upgraded" room was a mess. The in-room PC was not working, the floor was not clean and the desk was not clean. I am not a demanding person and I did accept imperfection. What was really unacceptable was the bedding. There were hairs and stains like blood!!!. That was totally unacceptable and that's did not even pass the minimum standard of cleaniness. Late at night, we requested for a change of all beddings but suprisingly, we were told there was no house-keeping staff at night. The poor hotel staff offered us to change to a vacant room. After touring around 3 rooms, we finally managed to locate a room with an acceptable standard of clean bedding. (actually there was still stained sheet but we'd given up locating another room as we were so tired on the first day of our arrival to Seoul)

Breakfast was included in the room rate. We did not expect much from the breakfast after the first night's experience but Hotel Irene again failed to manage customer expectation. We were first offered a simple buffet line with cereal, toasts and vegies on the first morning. Later, we were also served with an American style breakfast with egg and sausage. On the second morning about the same time on the first morning, there was the same buffet line but without vegie. We expected the American style breakfast to come on the second morning like the first morning but there was none. We were only told there was "nothing more" when we asked the hotel staff. If we were told breakfast was in continental style that would be fine. The point is we did not expect "so much less" on the second morning. So we just gave up the breakfast and got something local on the third morning.

We planned this trip in a hurry and most hotels were full on our travel days. So if you find other hotels were full and there is one available, there is a reason.

Avoid this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TripaholicHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Located within a 5 minute walk to a few surrounding subways, this hotel is also right across the road from the crazy Namdaemun markets. It is a 10 minute walk to the popular Myeong Dong district which is crammed with youth fashion stores, street markets and delicious restaurants. Having said this, it seemed to be in street popular with "business clubs" and therefore seedy drunk Korean guys in suits hanging around the front of the hotel (not that they were loud or anything, just creepy).

Room was modern, though had an extra bed which we did not need and could have used the extra space as it was quite a small room. Nice flat screen TV and good air conditioning - definitely a plus when coming back from a day out in the heat! Room equipped with computer but we used our own laptop - Free wifi works well. Room serviced daily. The front door didn't seem too secure though, as it seemed to not lock occasionally and would hear random beeping/electronic noises coming from it sometimes.

The bathroom was classy but a little dark. Needs a light in the toilet section of the bathroom. We had out first experience with a heated toilet seat here which was interesting and the toilet had a bidet as well - if that floats your boat. Spa bath was giant and awesome.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recksta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews