We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour with Dan Gray”

O'ngo Food Communications - Private Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.99*
and up
Small-Group Korean Night Food Tour
Ranked #2 of 39 Food & Drink in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our food tours should be your #1, must do thing in Korea. We are focused on great food and exclusive, curated experiences. Because our goal on is to have our guests experience culture through the cuisine. You can join other adventurous foodies on our popular Night Dining Tours or Street Food Tours or you can have a customized experience for you and your group. The was started in 2008 by noted Korean food historian and chef, Jia Choi, PhD. Our tours will take you on an in-depth adventure into Korea as you will taste, see, and explore. We have programs in Seoul and other great destinations such as Jeju, Jeonju, Boseong, Gyeongju, Busan and Andong. O'ngo has done tours and programs for groups and companies such as YPO (Young President's Organization), the European Union, the Hilton Group, Mars Chocolate, Yahoo! and more. Our tours, staff, and cooking classes have been featured in the New York Times, National Geographic (tv), The Kimchi Chronicles (tv), Bizarre Foods (tv), USA Today, Johnny Jet (web), Lonely Planet, Gadlings, Politiken, Olive Magazine, Food Network Asia, the Sydney Herald and Euronews. O'ngo is a registered and insured tour company with the Jongno area and the Korean Association of Tour Agents (KATA).
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Korea
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tour with Dan Gray”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My family was in town for a coule of weeks and I wanted to show them parts of Seoul beyond the regular tourist places. I decided to book a tour with Dan Gray. It was great. My family got to see a lot of different places off the beaten path and enjoyed ourselves quite a bit. Dan was very concerned about each person on the tour and wanted to make sure everyone was having a good time. Nice job.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaCuore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    58
    12
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A unique gastronomic adventure”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Deciding to go on one of O'ngo itineraries when in Seoul is already one of the best decisions made thatnyounwill never regret. During our visit, to maximise our time and see the ins and out of some districts in Seoul - we booked one of the food tours. Luckily we were guided by the ever popular Mr. dan Gray who has a good grasp of korean culture and interlacing it with the culinary heritage that makes it easy to imbibe and more so enjoy . We visited 3 restaurants each having their own specialty such as rice wine and hand made noodles, famous korean barbecue and soju and delicious crispy korean chicken .
Dan speaks very good English and has western roots as well hence being with him during the tour created intelligent and funny conversations plus incorporating korean games make this experience all the more interesting. Looking forward to trying the rest of the tours on our next visit

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Xtinemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Tour guide in South Korea”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I haven't stopped thinking about our time with Daniel Gray. Not only did we have amazing food and drink in unusual places, so loved our teachers and the food we made at O'ngo cooking school, the two walking taste tours we took were outstanding, we stayed in so many wonderful and different kinds of lodging...so much fun! We really got such a feeling about your country and culture and hope to come back one day....
Mostly, I felt so taken care of, at all times. We were in such good hands from the moment we met you at the airport till we said good-bye. We never needed anything and if there was a moment of wishing for something...you were right there with it.
You are a natural caregiver and a marvelous tour guide!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 333Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“To discover korean culture one must eat your way thru it”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Deciding to go on one of O'ngo itineraries when in Seoul is already one of the best decisions made thatnyounwill never regret. During our visit, to maximise our time and see the ins and out of some districts in Seoul - we booked one of the food tours. Luckily we were guided by the ever popular Mr. dan Gray who has a good grasp of korean culture and interlacing it with the culinary heritage that makes it easy to imbibe and more so enjoy . We visited 3 restaurants each having their own specialty such as rice wine and hand made noodles, famous korean barbecue and soju and delicious crispy korean chicken .
Dan speaks very good English and has western roots as well hence being with him during the tour created intelligent and funny conversations plus incorporating korean games make this experience all the more interesting. Looking forward to trying the rest of the tours on our next visit

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Xtinemd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Food Lover's Dream”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had two tours with Daniel and O'ngo: The Korean Taste tour and the Korean Fish Market tour. Both were amazing and completely exceeded my expectations.

This company was organized and responsive from my first contact with them. Daniel personally responded to all my emails promptly and was waiting for us at the tour starting points.

The Korean Taste tour begins at the O'ngo cooking studio, where Daniel demonstrated how to make an delightful Korean pancake (we had one with almost every meal during our trip and this one might have been the best). After that we walked around the area for 1.5 hours exploring underground markets and the best culinary treats in Insadong. We ate non-stop for two hours and saw parts of Seoul we otherwise would never have seen.

The Fish Tour was also amazing! We roamed around the market for about 75 minutes taking in the scene and buying a wide variety of fresh fish and seafood. The Fish Market is very large and bustling with activity. It's well organized and a must see. The fish we bought (It's included with the tour) was killed fresh, and half of it was prepared as sashimi before our eyes, the rest was taken to some out-of-the-way restaurant adjacent to the fish market that will prepare your fresh fish and provide you with an area to eat other fish market purchases (and serves alcohol - also included in the cost of the tour). We feasted like kings and even got to try eating live octopus (after a demonstration from Daniel).

I'd highly recommend doing at least one tour (or perhaps all if you are inclined). You will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hibiscus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'ngo Food Communications - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to O'ngo Food Communications - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing