We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright/Cool Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse
Ranked #149 of 586 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Reviewed January 30, 2014

First time to travel to Seoul with friends. They suggested this place because they have stayed there before.

The Good:
-Friendly staff. Very accommodating and can speak good English.
-Convenience stores are nearby. So if you get hungry you can just grab a Kimbap and some chilsung and you're good to go. :)
-Affordable. We stayed at a 6 bed dorm type room.
-The Bathroom. Our room had a bathroom but there are more bathrooms in the 4F. I actually liked the ones in the 4F bettter than the one in our room because it's a lot more spacious.
-FUN common room. There's always a lot of people there at night and seems like they all have a good time.
-FREE breakfast!


The Not-So-Good:
-Location. (well Hongdae is a really cool and fun place to stay at) but it was a bit far from the metro station. Not good when you have a lot of stuff to carry. Walking is good for you but if you've been walking around the city the entire day you just want to rest as soon as possible when it's time to go home. But really HONGDAE near the University is an awesome area.
-Wifi signal in our room was poor. I don't know but the router was inside our room but still we get kick-out of the network every once in a while.
-Service. They don't really change sheets and clean the room unless you go ask them to. And when they do they kind of just go pass it.
-Bed has no heaters and AC/heater system was bad. In fairness the staff apologized for the glitzy facilities in our room when we got there.
-Stairs. Well it's really a backpacker's hostel so cross out the heavy luggage unless you have the energy to bring it up to your rooms in the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors. *The staff offer to carry them for you though. :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drifterboi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 123 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Since we stayed last sept 2012 in Kimchee Guesthouse (hongdae), we went back and stayed again during the last week of Nov 2013 to first week of Dec 2013. ^_^ We were 6 so we occupied the 6-dorm-type room. We have our own CR although the room wasn't regularly cleaned because that time, they only have 1 key for the room. We were asked by them to leave the key. We did once - but they just remove the garbage and didn't even sweep or vaccuum the floor. :( Also, the hostel is a bit far from the Hongik MRT station. So you really have to walk.

But other than that, everything was okay. I think they are the cheapest hostel in hongdae (just my opinion). FREE BREAKFAST - cereals, toast, eggs, butter, strawberry jam, coffee, juice, milk. Staffs in the hostel are kind - like Eugene. he speaks english! so it's not hard for us to communicate or inquire anything. They are all friendly too!

Room Tip: if you are travelling with friends - choose the room based on how many people are in the group. Like...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathersss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stay here for 6 nights in private room. The staff in this hostel are very helpful, shared bathroom & toilet are clean, bed room is big and clean. The hostel is not too far from Hongik University Station. Plus the newly completed Airport express (AREX) also stops at Hongik University Station. Along the way from the Hongik station to the hostel, you will pass by 3 convenience stores (One Circle K, One Family mart & one Ministop) . So buying your grocery is not a problem here. This hostel also have water dispenser, washing machine, vending machine & kitchen. The water dispenser can really save some budget since you don't need to buy water everyday. Security is not a problem here since they have CCTV inside out of the hostel. Free wifi provided and the connection is fast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boonchuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hostel is about 10 min easy walk from Hongik Univ. Station which Airport railway and few subway lines stop.
Free towel and breakfast. Bathrooms are always clean and warm. I stayed 3rd floor dorm room and 5th floor dorm room (this one was like cute cozy attic!) both are kept very warm.
Staffs are very friendly and helpfull. I spent lovely time talking to them and other guests untill late.
Could use wifi at the besement common space and 5th floor attic dorm room but not at 3rd floor room.
Very convinient and high costperformance!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzusaSakaguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The toilets were dirty, the staff didn't do anything about it. All the staff did was just lie down on the common room and watchtower own show. Particularly one staff named David..the bight white guy. I asked him to help me order food and he actually told me that he is not in charge of the and only in charge of cleaning. It was just a phone call how long would it take but he didn't want to do it. I think kimchee hostel should spend some money and send their staffs for service classes. It every Guesthouse worker is like David they are sure to close down soon. No offence

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank starswithdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carter0401, 매니저 at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014
Google Translation

안녕하십니까 김치게스트하우스 매니저 입니다
답장이 늦어서 죄송합니다 . 작년에 쓰셧는데 관리가 소홀한점 죄송스럽니다
현재는 화장실 청소인원을 3명 으로 두웠으면 아침 점심 저녁으로 화장실에 대한 위생관리를 철저히 하고있습니다 그점 죄송스럽게 생각하며 앞으로 그런일이 없도록 노력하겟습니다 감사합니다

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

It's a very nice to had an experience stayed at this place. Very helpful and friendly staff (esp for solo traveler who first time came to Korea), ready to help you at anytime. Clean room. The most important accessible place. 10 mins walk from Hongdae Subway Station, very near to Hongik University, Alot of foods and mini mart arounds. Even night clubs can be reached by walk. Nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttwrihndyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

by just about 10 minute walking from subway station and 3 minute from bus station, I think it is a good place. a friendly staff, they just make my day. thank you. :) the room, with a nice blanket, and water heater in bathroom, its help me a lot in enjoy my holiday even autumn is a cold weather. I love autumn, I love kimchee guesthouse.! gamsahabnida!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sinchon / Ewha
Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#28 of 586 in Seoul
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
Oasis Guesthouse Seoul
Oasis Guesthouse Seoul
#2 of 586 in Seoul
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse

Address: 67-6, Yeonnam-ro 1-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 03991, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Hongdae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 586 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range: $16 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimchi Hongdae Hostel is a comfortable, safe and friendly budget accommodation in the cozy central entertainment district of Seoul. You can mingle with travelers from all over the world in a quiet, laid-back setting. We are only 5mins away from HongIk University subway station (line 2) and airport bus stop.Extremely informative English-speaking staff offering detailed information on directions, attractions, good shows, some of the Korea's most popular restaurants, cafes, bars, and clubs, all within a few minutes walk.Kimchi Seoul hostel puts you in the heart of everything Seoul has to offer.-Air Conditioning in Every Room!-Ground Heating system-FREE 24-hour WiFi access in the whole building-FREE Internet Access daily at our Internet Stations-FREE usage of Personal Lockers for your valuables-FREE Clean and Fresh Linen and towel-24 hour access to fully equipped Kitchen (stove, toaster, microwave, refrigerator, etc)-Common area with comfy sofas, cable television-Detailed information on directions and advise-Brand New furniture, linens, towels, computers, electronics etc.-Easy Access to famous attractions such as Sinchon, Namdaemun Market, Dongdaemun Shopping malls, Lotte World, Namsan Park, Gyeongbokgung Palace & Changdeokgung Palace, Insa-dong, Myeong-dong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing