We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I´ll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse
Ranked #126 of 551 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Yantai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“I´ll be back!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean, friendly, very well location.
Martin (front desk) helps with all about the trip, maps (in some languages)
tours, information... etc!!!
Nice place to make a warm and friendly travel, in this beautiful city.
I will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi there ~ Thank you for staying with us and Thank you for sharing your experience at Kimch Hongdae hostel. I would like you to have a great time and have a safe trip in Korea ^^ Cheers ~
-Manager Martin-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    54
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
2
8
59
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Clean, quiet, friendly, close to metro, good directions provided, in a hood area for shops, supplies, food, & bars. Showers were hot and beds were comfortable. Info on tours, local amenities and city sights all available in the hostel. They also help you with your Korean language and kindly include you in take away nights and drinking Soju in the common room. All adds to a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogstandardtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi!!! This is Martin, manager at kimchee guesthouse hongdae,^^ Thank you for staying with us. We hope you had a great time while you were staying with us, We hope to see you soon and have a great trip!. 감사합니다!!!!
-Manager Martin-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My friend and I decided to have a three and a half week trip at Seoul during their coldest month and just wanted to stay a cheap, affordable and warm place to crash...who would've thought we found that plus close to public transport, excellent service and great staff?! I loved the fact they have heated floors (which I didn't know prior to my stay here!) so when the weather hit -15 and my friend and I couldn't be bothered to make a cameo appearance outside, we'd just chill in the lounge room with the warm floor beneath us :) The staff there are just great (especially Martin whom I hassled quite a few times XD) and they're always willing to help you if you need a hand. Lazy to go out and eat? No worries as the staff there can help you order food for you! There's a convenient store just close by if you wanted to grab something and Hongik Uni Station is only a five minute walk. Thanks a bunch Kimchee for the the great accommodation and service. You'll definitely be seeing me again hopefully sometime next year :) - Izzy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isrien-Izzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hey Izzy!!
Thank you for staying with us and give us good review. And Thanks for your gift!! I ate your chocolet with the other guest ^^ You are best guest!!^^
We are looking forward to see you again.!! Thank you!!
감사합니다.
-Manager Martin-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya-shi, Aichi, Japan
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My friends and I stayed about 12 nights at the Kimchee Hostel in Hongdae and we really did not want to leave! The hostel is in a prime location in Hongdae and you are too far away from places to eat or to go drinking and clubbing of course. The rooms were gorgeously warm when outside it was -8 degrees centigrade! David the owner, Martin (you utter cutie!) and everyone else are really accommodating. They'll order food for you (which we did A LOT because we're lazy).They'll tell you or even show the good places to go to have a good time. You can even coax them into joining you in drinking or karaoke :D The price was really good, the cheapest we could find. The lounge are was really cool because it made talking to other guests and making new friends really easy. Ahhh, I can't think what else to say but I felt really really comfortable there! And next time I'm in Seoul, hopefully next year, here will be the first place I want to stay at.

Thanks Kimchee for making our trip so awesome! x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hi!!! This is Martin manager at kimchee guesthouse hongdae,^^ Thank you for staying with us. We hope you had a great time while you were staying with us, We hope to see you soon and have a great trip!. 감사합니다!!!!
-Manager Martin-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Love this place. It's nice if you and your friends can occupy the room for 10 people (double-deck beds). This place is cheaper compared to other hostels. The room we occupied has its own bathroom/CR. It's spacious. AC's really cold. :)) The people who run the place are nice and friendly. They can even call a cab for you (just request for it). The downside is just you'll walk a couple of blocks from the train station. but i think it's ok. we'll definitely be back and stay here again :) You need to rent the adapters. You can borrow hair dryers. :P It's also near MiniStop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathersss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi This is David manager at kimchee guesthouse hongdae, Thank you for staying with us. We hope you had a great time while you were staying with us, We hope to see you soon and have a great trip!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The staff is helpful & friendly. They will recommend you places to go and how to reach the places.The room and toilet are very clean. Since i stayed at the dorm, i get some friends to hang out. Definitely will choose this hostel again if i go to Seoul next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yulwenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we would like to see you soon. Merry Christmas and Happy New year!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hotel staff service is good, the hotel is very convenient, the overall high cost ~~
The hotel is located in the local neighborhood, very quiet, but go back to the hotel from the subway station takes about 10 minutes
Delicious restaurant nearby but less
I stay very good experience
Next time i will Select it again ~~

Room Tip: 8 bed rooms with independent balcony 6 person room without balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, 매니저 at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
hi i'm chrys staff of kimchi hostel . i was Nico actually before change my name.anyway
thaks for your staying with us. we really thanks for guest , i wish you'll come again our hostel.
we'll do our best for you guys. thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sinchon / Ewha
Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#10 of 551 in Seoul
70 reviews
Hongdae
Bounce Guesthouse
Bounce Guesthouse
#15 of 551 in Seoul
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
Orange Guesthouse
Orange Guesthouse
#86 of 551 in Seoul
38 reviews
Hongdae
Hongdae Guesthouse
Hongdae Guesthouse
#27 of 946 in Seoul
115 reviews
Hongdae
Cozzzy Guesthouse
Cozzzy Guesthouse
#58 of 551 in Seoul
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse

Property: Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse
Address: 67-6, Yeonnam-ro 1-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 03991, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Hongdae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 551 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimchi Hongdae Hostel is a comfortable, safe and friendly budget accommodation in the cozy central entertainment district of Seoul. You can mingle with travelers from all over the world in a quiet, laid-back setting. We are only 5mins away from HongIk University subway station (line 2) and airport bus stop.Extremely informative English-speaking staff offering detailed information on directions, attractions, good shows, some of the Korea's most popular restaurants, cafes, bars, and clubs, all within a few minutes walk.Kimchi Seoul hostel puts you in the heart of everything Seoul has to offer.-Air Conditioning in Every Room!-Ground Heating system-FREE 24-hour WiFi access in the whole building-FREE Internet Access daily at our Internet Stations-FREE usage of Personal Lockers for your valuables-FREE Clean and Fresh Linen and towel-24 hour access to fully equipped Kitchen (stove, toaster, microwave, refrigerator, etc)-Common area with comfy sofas, cable television-Detailed information on directions and advise-Brand New furniture, linens, towels, computers, electronics etc.-Easy Access to famous attractions such as Sinchon, Namdaemun Market, Dongdaemun Shopping malls, Lotte World, Namsan Park, Gyeongbokgung Palace & Changdeokgung Palace, Insa-dong, Myeong-dong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing