We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WIN: Great staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse
Ranked #126 of 551 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WIN: Great staff!!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

All the staff at Kimchi Hongdae Hostel are very helpful and friendly. When I was looking for a certain coffee and had only have a rough map of it, Nico was so nice to walk me there. Sang-ye is also very kind and nice. She could speak Thai a little bit, but enough to warm my heart and made it feel like home to me. She also helped me order food delivery, which is a a really great experience for me.

I booked 2 nights in a 6-bed female dorm and it is only on the third floor. I had the room by my self for one night, then one roommate for the next day. Both the bed room and bath room are well cleaned. The hostel provides towel for free, but you might need to bring your own soap and shampoo. I especially like the heated floor. It is so temping to make me sleep on the floor ;)

The location is a bit walk from subway station, but along the way there are many restaurants, coffee shops, and convenient stores. So it was safe to walk alone at night.

I'll be back to stay with Kimchi Hongdae Hostel again in my next visit to Seoul ^o^

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomisOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
hi i'm kimchi hongdae hostels staff chrys(nico)
thank you for your staying our hostel. we try to be better to guests .
see you again~ :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    54
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
2
8
59
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

All staff in Kimchi Hongdae Hostel Seoul are very friendly, helpful, polite, kind .. Bedroom & bathroom cleaned every day ..
Overall I am very satisfied and comfortable stay for 7 nights, at Kimchi Hongdae Hostel Seoul.. Because I can sleep well.. :D
Thank you Kimchi Hongdae Hostel .. Next time I'll be back & stay at Kimchi Hongdae Hostel again..

Room Tip: For a woman who trip solo, i think better for choose a " 6 dorm female only with private bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReTrip11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
hi i'm kimchi hongdae hostels staff chrys(nico)
thank you for your staying our hostel. we try to be better to guests .
see you again~ :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The staff is really friendly and speak English fluently. They will help you using the hostel facilities and also can order food delivery in Korean phones for you :)

This hostel coved all your basic need, the bed is ok, the room is clean. The public bathroom and the laundry service is nice. Though the hostel isn't as pretty as the other competitors. But the price per night is undeniable.

I stayed at the 10-mixed-bed dorm room in this hostel with my friends during November to December. The location, near Hongik station is really great and convenient. You can take the AREX straight to the ICN airport while still connect to many other rides. Though distance you need to walk to and from Hongik Station is a bit far in my opinion, 5-10 mins walk. Around this area, you can find many foods and store open up till pretty late so no problem in dining out even if you come back late from your adventure.

Really recommend for the budget trip.

Room Tip: They got promotion on the Dorm types. If you travel with lot of friends, this is a excellent choices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imfai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and give us good review. WE are looking forward to see you again. Have a good trip^^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The room I stayed in was at the top floor, the 8 bed mixed dorm. The facilities were clean and warm, and the bed was comfortable enough. The hostel is a little out of the way from the subway station, but it's quite a lovely walk, even after midnight. It gives you a different perspective on the neighbourhood. The little lockers they provided are also good for storing your extra stuff while you explore the place.

Perhaps the only negative thing about this place is that the walls are quite thin, so you can hear everything that goes on, even in the private rooms.

I guess for the price you pay it really is a good place to stay in! Staff was friendly and helpful, maybe even overly helpful, because they cleared the linen off my bed and my towel every day, even though I think they weren't supposed to. Or did they not know that I was staying there? Hahahhahahahaha

Room Tip: If you're a single traveller (especially females) and you get a little paranoid, pay the extra 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi there ~ Thank you for staying with us and Thank you for sharing your experience at Kimch Hongdae hostel. I would like you to have a great time and have a safe trip in Korea ^^ Cheers ~ David ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manipal
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hostel is located very near to subarban station and we reached with very less hassles. The stay was a great experience because the hostel staff are very co-operative and they care a lot.

Thanks a lot for giving us a feel comfort in an unknown city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asif_tweez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hey Thank you so much for your review. Your review give us so much energy managing our small hostel ~ We hope you for the best Cheers David ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stay for two nights in August in an 8-bed female dorm. The staff was very friendly, the hostel was clean, and it was pretty cheap. There were also lockers in the rooms. It's a bit of a walk from the subway station, but on the quiet side of the neighborhood so you can still get some sleep. As a solo traveler, I would stay here again. Also, free wi-fi!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superblueridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. ^^ David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seogwipo, Jeju-do, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Kimchi Hostel is in walking distance to one of the most fun parts of Seoul. There is great shopping, food, and a fun nightlife with clubs, bars, and live street performances. The hostel is tucked in the quiet back streets and has a small common area and kitchen, which makes it easy to meet other travelers. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hostel is an amazing price!!! I stay here every time I go to Seoul.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimchihostel, Manager at Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hey thank you for sharing your experience at kimchi hostel. We hope you had great time while you stay in Korea ~~ Cheers David ^^~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sinchon / Ewha
Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#10 of 551 in Seoul
70 reviews
Hongdae
Bounce Guesthouse
Bounce Guesthouse
#15 of 551 in Seoul
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
Orange Guesthouse
Orange Guesthouse
#86 of 551 in Seoul
38 reviews
Hongdae
Hongdae Guesthouse
Hongdae Guesthouse
#27 of 946 in Seoul
115 reviews
Hongdae
Cozzzy Guesthouse
Cozzzy Guesthouse
#58 of 551 in Seoul
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse

Property: Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse
Address: 67-6, Yeonnam-ro 1-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 03991, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Hongdae
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 551 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimchi Hongdae Hostel is a comfortable, safe and friendly budget accommodation in the cozy central entertainment district of Seoul. You can mingle with travelers from all over the world in a quiet, laid-back setting. We are only 5mins away from HongIk University subway station (line 2) and airport bus stop.Extremely informative English-speaking staff offering detailed information on directions, attractions, good shows, some of the Korea's most popular restaurants, cafes, bars, and clubs, all within a few minutes walk.Kimchi Seoul hostel puts you in the heart of everything Seoul has to offer.-Air Conditioning in Every Room!-Ground Heating system-FREE 24-hour WiFi access in the whole building-FREE Internet Access daily at our Internet Stations-FREE usage of Personal Lockers for your valuables-FREE Clean and Fresh Linen and towel-24 hour access to fully equipped Kitchen (stove, toaster, microwave, refrigerator, etc)-Common area with comfy sofas, cable television-Detailed information on directions and advise-Brand New furniture, linens, towels, computers, electronics etc.-Easy Access to famous attractions such as Sinchon, Namdaemun Market, Dongdaemun Shopping malls, Lotte World, Namsan Park, Gyeongbokgung Palace & Changdeokgung Palace, Insa-dong, Myeong-dong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing