We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
71
23
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
71
23
2
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 97 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Besides Korea being a super place to visit - One of the main reasons I felt so at home in Seoul is because of my stay at Namu Guesthouse (as well as their sister property Studio41st...literally around the corner). The staff is precious and amazing (both places). If I gush about Namu (and Studio41st) I would use words like: amazing, super, awesome, glorious, cozy, clean, friendly, relaxed, great location, charming, quiet, in-expensive..... So the details:

Location: Very very good, in a quiet part of Hongdae area. ~10-15 minute walk to the bustle of Hongdae. About ~5-7 minute walk to line 2 subway. Line 2 is the circle line so super central transportation. Lots of charming cafes are nearby as well. Namu looks just like the pictures on the website. No hocus pocus...

Guestrooms / Common Room / Amenities: CLEAN!...adorable decor, cozy and warm. I stayed in the 6 room dorm (room A) - but private (3-4 person) rooms looked cozy and a good size. Wi-Fi and computer for common use works great. Cute little balcony with a small table for morning coffee. I considered the breakfast pretty generous for all inclusive guesthouse amenity. Serve yourself, eggs, cereal, toast, fruit, juice, coffee/tea, yogurt...and special Sunday breakfast cooked by Gina. Wake up early for that...hehe.

Staff: I miss them!!!! Gina, Sunny, Ryan & quiet Paul...a hug for them all. They all went out of their way to help make my stay pleasant. They are all such fun (funny) & creative, warm people. Be prepared for photo-op time! If you are concerned about your rusty or beginning Korean (like me), not to worry all the staff speaks English.

Good to Know: There is no lift / elevator to access Namu. So you will need to walk up a short flight of stairs. The dormitory room has small lockers in the room if you need them (I never locked by items & had no problems). If you are staying in a private room, there is a key to the door. There are only two bathrooms to the guesthouse (it's a small/cozy guesthouse). One bathroom is for the shared dorm and the other is for the private rooms. The bathrooms were clean and large. They do have soap but maybe also bring your own. Towels are plentiful, self serve and available.

There is a clothes line to dry any hand washables on the balcony and a laundry mat on the corner. The guesthouse is also pretty quiet which is welcome after being out in bustling Seoul. The streets are also safe and quiet around the guesthouse. I walked home late at night often. If you are a single girl traveling alone you can feel pretty safe here as well (goes for all of Korea really). There are also several markets/ convenience stores located nearby.

And finally - if you are arriving by cab or walking...make sure you print the map from their website / give directions to the driver. It can seem a little tricky to get there the first time but it's pretty easy/close to get to the guesthouse from the line 2 metro or Arex. If you watch k-drama at all. Namu is walking distance to the 1st Shop of Coffee Prince; ~20 min walk.

1/2 of the reason I can't wait to return to Korea is so I can visit the friends I made at Namu again...=)

Happy Travels
-Kim

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trainer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAMU_Guesthouse, 매니저 at Namu Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hello!

This is Sunny, manager in NAMU :)
I am really impressed with your long and detailed review...

I also happy to meet you...
I also felf amazing, super, awesome, glorious, friendly with you. Really really.
And I really miss you.
It is my great memory and luck that I met you.

Definitly, I do believe we can meet again in somewhere.
Again, so thank you for your geneour review :)

Take care and always be happy and sunny( :) )
Travel in Korea will make you fresh and happy. I hope so.
Take care! See you next time.

-Sunny


NAMU guesthouse in Seoul, Korea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Everything is perfect!
Amazing and cozy place to stay with..
- Friendly, fun and caring managers ^^ They can speak English well and help to cheer me up when I lost my phone at the subway >.<
- Really good service: nice room, clean kitchen and bathroom, free WIFI, laundry service, breakfast. You can use the kitchen to cook. They also prepare many maps to guide you in Korea.

I love NAMU Guesthouse ♥

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAMU_Guesthouse, 매니저 at Namu Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hello~!

This is Sunny in NAMU! :)
Thank you for your cute review! > <
You are also Daebak~!!!!!!!

I already missed you :(
And I really happy to hear from you that "I love NAMU guesthouse♥"

I'm sorry that you lost your phone....But you got brand new phone! :)
Anyhow really thank you for your generous review.
Come to Korea again!!!! Thak care and always be sunny!!!! :D

See you next time!

NAMU guesthouse in Seoul, Korea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've been to Seoul last year, stayed 8 nights at Namu for the first time. Impressed because Namu made me feel at home. So here I am back again to Seoul and back to Namu with my friends, this time for 9 nights. Need nothing much to say, just Namu is an amazing place to stay. The staffs are friendly, awesome, fun people to be around with. The place itself is very clean, warm, and very comfortable. Even the simplest breakfast they prepare us, gives warm feeling like being at home in another country. The price is also reasonable. So for everyone who is looking a place to stay during your Seoul Trip, just go to Namu. Don't think twice. Just check in, like we do. I guarantee you a wonderful stay at Namu!

Room tip: All rooms are good.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jok j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAMU_Guesthouse, 매니저 at Namu Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hello :D

This is Sunny, manager in NAMU!
Thank you for your review.
We will always do the best!
And I hope you made a lot of previous memory in Seoul and NAMU^^ (Again)
Come to Seoul again! :)

Anyhow Thank you for your review, and I give you good luck to you from bottom of my heart♥

Thank you! See you next time!

NAMU guesthouse in Seoul, Korea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are planning for a cozy place to stay at in Seoul... Namu Guesthouse is the best. Free WIFI and you can even cook what you want for breakfast! :) Very friendly "managers"! You can also ask the managers to call "Kyochon" for take-outs/delivery! :)

Room tip: Choose the room with your own CR... :)
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAMU_Guesthouse, 매니저 at Namu Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hello!

Thank you for your review :)
We value your feedback and pride ourselves on working collaboratively.
I really hope travel in Seoul(especially, staying in NAMU) always makes you fresh!

Thank you again for your generous review!
See you next time! >.<

NAMU guesthouse in Seoul, Korea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

All righty, if you're interested in lots of detail, here we go! My friend and I stayed at Namu for 4 nights in October 2012, and it was a really good experience! If it's your first time, it's a little bit of a walk from Hongik University subway station (where you get off if you're coming on the Arex airport subway line from Incheon Airport), but don't worry, you quickly get used to it! The path is basically straight, no confusing turns. Use the map that Namu emails you, and you're good :) *Note: We had a late flight, so we didn't arrive at Namu until close to midnight, when everything was dark and hard to see. When you reach the building, go UP the first flight of stairs, and the entrance will be on your left side! The lights in the stairwell are motion sensored, so they won't go on until you get close to the door. We must've looked a little silly trying to figure this out, haha.

The staff at Namu are very sweet and kind. Jina works the morning/afternoon shift, and Sunny works the night shift. They always gave us a warm greeting, whether it was "Good morning!" or "How was sightseeing? Did you have a good time?" And they were so helpful in giving us directions, looking up information, and booking us tickets. (We went to see Nanta - awesome, awesome show, PLEASE go see it!) I wish we could've talked with the staff more! Sunny's shift ends at 10pm, so there isn't a staff member there 24/7, but after she leaves, someone from the nearby Studio 41st guesthouse (just around the corner) comes to check on Namu and to make sure everyone is ok. If any trouble arises and Jina/Sunny aren't there, you can always call Studio 41st!

As other people have said, the rooms are very clean indeed! There are 4 rooms. The 6-bed dorm room has its own bathroom inside, but the other 3 rooms share a bathroom. It's very clean, and we never had to wait too long! Towels are provided, and there is a hair dryer and AC unit in each room. You will likely need a converter to charge your cell phone, but no worries, you can borrow one from Namu :) We had to switch rooms after the first night, so Jina just asked us to put our suitcases on the balcony while they cleaned the rooms. No big deal, and the balcony is ADORABLE. I wouldn't mind just sitting there, reading a magazine and drinking coffee, haha. And yes, breakfast is provided! Fruit, yogurt, juice, toast, eggs, cereal - WIN.

Namu is located in Hongdae, which is an amazing place if you're looking for a good, lively atmosphere. Hongik University is nearby, which means that the area caters to young people - lots of cafes/restaurants, affordable shops, bars, and clubs. All these things are easy walking distance, so it's convenient if you're looking for something to do, but it's also far enough away from Namu that you can sleep restfully at night without being bothered by lots of noise and people. GOOD LOCATION. One of the best parts of the trip was just strolling through the main street of shops/restaurants late at night (lots of people still out and about), grabbing some street food, and joining a crowd of people listening to a trio of college guys singing k-pop. They were awesome.

Overall, really good stay at Namu Guesthouse, I would stay there again, and I would definitely recommend it to others! Thanks Jina and Sunny for making our trip to Seoul so wonderful :)

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsakakibara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAMU_Guesthouse, 매니저 at Namu Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Hello! :D

This is Sunny.
I am impressed with you and your detailed and long review...

I'm soooooooo happy that you had great time in Seoul and NAMU.
I hope we can meet again :)
We will miss you and your smile!

Take care and Always be happy!!


NAMU guesthouse in Seoul, Korea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews