We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get any fresher than this”

Noryangjin Fish Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Full-Day Culinary Tour of Seoul Including Noryangjin Fish Market and Korean BBQ...
More Info
$84.00*
and up
Seoul Choose Your Own Adventure Tour Private Tour Including Lunch
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Markets of Seoul: Korean Markets and City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #56 of 754 things to do in Seoul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't get any fresher than this”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Went around midnight with out food tour guide. The place was not a busy, but still plenty of open stalls and enough fresh creatures in the live tanks. As a tourist you would probably pay way to much for the fishies, and the mongers are known to switch fresh catch for dead after the sale so you have to keep your eyes open, or better go with a local. We made a late night snack out of some life octopus, a flounder shashimi and some 'squirt'. After buying the seafood you bring your bag to one of the restaurants downstairs. Again, as foreigner you need to be assertive and know market price for seating and preparation, but the end result is awesome. Get a bottle of cheap beer and shosu to mix, and you will have an meal to remember.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbysuitcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    236
    109
    30
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have a look but don't stay to eat”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The fish market is very interesting and worth a visit but don't bother eating there. We paid a high price for some sea food expecting a well prepared meal. However the food was prepared without care, the side salad was wilted,the atmosphere was industrial to say the least and we had to pay extra for preparation after paying top price for the sea food (the only time we were ripped off in Korea). So have a look and then go over the road to one of the many small establishments selling great food.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SHGNQAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience with live seafood stalls everywhere”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

For seafood lovers... this market is accessible by the subway and after crossing a bridge.
But it was snowing pretty heavy on the day we went and both my partner and I were so tired after walking in the heavy snow, we take a cab/taxi to this market.

Upon arriving this market or some of us might called it a mega huge "warehouse", we were atonished by the number of stalls selling live seafood. It was fun watching the locals haggling for better prices.

We were so lost and blur as every stall owners tried to get us to buy their seafood.
Both of us proceed to one of the second level restaurant recommend by fellow TA members. We got the staff to recommend a stall for us.
Bought live Alaska crab, fresh oysters, big prawns and scallops.

TIPS:
Bring your seafood to be cooked upstairs and enjoy with soju.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Holyark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cheap and Fresh!”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

When i arrived there i was like , wow! Ive never seen such big prawn. The size is like an adult feet. Note , is a prawn not a lobster! This are what is our list ;
Lobster - feet size
Abalone - palm size for 4
Prawn - feet size for 8
Long leg crab - Large size
Scallop - The white meat size about 3' diameters
Stingray sashimi
And we brought them all to lower GF and we had our very very tasty dinner.
The seafood cost us only 130k KRW and the restaurant charged us 50k KRW for cooking , drinks , sauces ,fried rice and soups

Definitely a must go place if you're in Seoul!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank gee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Freshest seafood and great photo opportunities”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Photographers will love this place. Watch the seafood market in action, with every imagineable (and in a few cases, unimagineable!) type of seafood on display. It's like a free trip to an aquarium. Plus you get to eat the creatures on display.
You can catch great photos from the second floor corridor.
Take the metro to Noryangjin station.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank redoxsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noryangjin Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Noryangjin Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing