We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does most of what you expect, still not enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IB Ville Guesthouse
Ranked #214 of 553 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Does most of what you expect, still not enough”
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Firstly, this hotel is cheap, so I guess I shouldn't complain too much.

The positives: Big TV, good internet which is free, the price is excellent, it's in a good location very close to Myeong Dong shopping area and the centre of Seoul. Also very close to the subway meaning it's easy to get to other parts of the city. The staff were also mostly friendly and helpful.

The negatives: Heating was all over the place. It was freezing outside, but at night my room was absolutely boiling, so much so that I had to complain about it but was told there was nothing they could do as the heating came from under the floor. The AC in my room didn't have a control, so couldn't change the temperature. I only stayed for 3 nights, but for 2 of those nights they didn't provide a towel for me. I thought they just didn't provide them so bought some myself, then on the final night they tell me sorry, we just forgot about the towels, then give them to me. There were a lot of ants in my room too.

Maybe these are individual problems that you won't encounter if you stay there, I hope so. But this was my first hotel and a combination of the problems listed above plus jet lag meant my stay was not really a positive one.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tea-beer-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
12
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

The room and bathroom were clean and as seen in the pictures. A floor heater system (adjustable temperature) will keep you warm enough during winter. Towels are provided too and it is self service. There is free WiFi available as well. Cable TV was also provided with many channels including a few HD channels (most channels are in Korean). There is no curfew timing for this guesthouse.

Finding the guesthouse from Sejong Hotel was not difficult. However, the walk from Sejong Hotel, through Myeong Dong station, to the guesthouse will not be an easy one (if you have a heavy luggage) as there are a few long flights of stairs and there is no escalator or lifts available in the subway. Upon exiting the subway, you have to walk up a gradual slope (Namsan Hill is just behind) around 100m (I think) before reaching it. Another downside is that the guesthouse does not have lifts. The location might not be suitable for people with many heavy luggage or old aged people due to the amount of climbing and walking needed.

Overall, the price was reasonable with the services that it provided. Also, it is just 6-7mins walk from Myeong Dong where there are lots of things to shop and other attractions such as Namdaemun & Dongdaemun are just a few stops away.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyTeeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed at IB ville for 4 nights in mid-Oct 2010. We agree with all the nice things about this place mentioned by other travelers. However, we didn’t like the following:-
(a) lugging our luggage up to the 2nd floor as there is no elevator. It was harder on our last day as our luggage weighed much more than the lst day.
(b) agree that the two people in charge of this guest house are friendly. We saw them for the first day and during breakfast time on the second day (they provide free toast and coffee) but after that, they were no where to be found when we needed their help. We called them from the phone at the pantry/computer area but no one answered the call.
(c) At night, we left the window opened slightly instead of turning on the air-con. We could not sleep well as their blankets were not thick enough to keep us warm. We asked for extra blankets but we were told to turn on the heater instead.
(d) This guesthouse is rather difficult to locate as it is situated in a small road off the main road.
(e) It’s also rather inconvenient to get to the guesthouse from the airport bus drop-off point at Hotel Sejong. From here, you will need to lug your luggage towards the Myeongdong Station and get down a flight of stairs at this station and up another flight of stairs to the other side of the road. So far, we did not see any escalator or elevator in the Korean subways.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phwongsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I was a solo traveller in Seoul and had stayed in IB Ville for 6 nights in September 2010. The facilities were new and well equiped. Internet is free!! And also, the people running this place speaks english and are friendly too. The room rates are not expensive at all. Feels comfortable and at ease! Location wise, it could'nt get any better. A short walk would lead to Myeongdong subway and of course, the hippy myeongdong shopping area. Btw, must try the sandwiches at the shop called "Isaac". It's along the way from the subway to IB Ville. Awesome.....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donavan_seng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

One of my friends stayed here before and had some good things to say but with the price i was paying i didnt expect much out of this. but man this was such a pleasant surpise. I must admit that i was quite impressed with this guest house. My room was not huge but was big enough for two people and everything was pretty much new so i coudlnt be more happy about it.
The only minor complain i have is that the place doesnt have a phone in the room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkoh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Guest House Myeongdong
Guest House Myeongdong
#207 of 946 in Seoul
65 reviews
Namsan Guesthouse 2
#22 of 553 in Seoul
360 reviews
Banana Backpackers
#27 of 553 in Seoul
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24guesthouse Namsan Garden
#124 of 553 in Seoul
19 reviews
B My Guesthouse
#51 of 553 in Seoul
62 reviews
Crib 49 Guesthouse
#142 of 946 in Seoul
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IB Ville Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IB Ville Guesthouse

Property: IB Ville Guesthouse
Address: 47, Toegye-ro 20-gil, Jung-gu | IB Bldg., Seoul 04629, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 553 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — IB Ville Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IB Ville is located just few minutes away from Myeong Dong and Mt. Namsan. Location is everything for a visitor to the beautiful city of Seoul and when you stay at IB Ville, you are never far from wherever your desire to be. IB Ville places you near a vibrant assortment of shops, restaurants, attractions, and nightlife - all within walking distance or accessible via subway. Our rooms, lounge, and accommodations are all handsomely appointed with comfortable furnishings blended with modern conveniences. Plus a friendly staff is available to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your IB Ville Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ib Ville Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing