We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
22
31
13
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
31
13
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 70 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Have always made hotels my choice whenever I travelled but chose IB ville for my first visit to Seoul after seeing the rave reviews on tripadvisor. True enough, I wasn’t disappointed at all! From the first email encounter with them right to the end of my trip and beyond (more on that later), it was nothing less than pleasant and reassuring. They swiftly accommodated to my email request of changing the dates of my stay and provided helpful information in the confirmation with regards to locating the guesthouse. That being said however, the limousine bus does not bring you to the doorstep of this place. You’ll still need to use the underpass to get to the opposite side of Sejong Hotel. After that, when faced with the forked road where the Pacific Hotel is sitting on, take the left and make your merry way up the little “hill” to find IB ville on your left.



The rooms are very well-kept and clean, there’s TV and free internet, which is another bonus! The towels provided are rather small, so you might want to bring your own or just help yourselves to new changes of towels at the lobby. Even though bottled water is extremely affordable in Seoul, the hot and cold water dispenser is still very helpful if you have forgotten to replenish your supplies. The mini mart is a stone’s throw away though, so there’s really nothing much to worry about.



Always helpful and accommodating, the English-speaking staff is a real gem whenever you need any information on what to eat and where to go. On top of that, their commendable service deserves a special mention since they were extremely helpful and accommodating when I contacted them about a piece of luggage which I absent-mindedly left behind at the lobby. Because of my previous interactions with the staff before this, I felt rather assured that my luggage will be safe with them until I sent my international courier down to pick it up. Sure enough, I managed to retrieve my baggage swiftly with everything intact. Think in this respect, IB ville has really proven themselves to be respectable and worthy of all the excellent reviews here especially in terms of their service and efficiency!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shaymin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The main pros of IB Ville would be its cost and location.
It is within a short 5-10min walk to Myeong Dong subway station and Myeong Dong shopping area. So if your main priority is location, convenience and shopping this place has it all. It is also at the bottom of Namsan and you can walk up the mountain to Seoul Tower and Namsan Park or 5min walk to the cable car to take you up.
The rooms are very clean and has all the ammenities; air con, flat screen tv, mini fridge and bathroom. The staff were friendly and they provide drinking water and hot water. The room I had was at the back so I could open the window for fresh air and had no problems with noise.
The main complain is probably that its located on a gradient and if its the 1st trip up to the guesthouse it does seem a rather long and steep climb especially with luggage. But dont let that scare you, after a couple of time it will seem normal, its not a streanous torturous climb (unlike climbing up the mountain to seoul tower).
The main thing for me when deciding this guesthouse was its location and it lived up to it. very convenient for everything, food, shopping and transportation. Infact I could get around to almost all the sites in Seoul using the subway for won1000.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mmonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Decided on IB ville after reading the reviews here. Their response to our email enquiry was prompt. So are the subsequent correspondences. Getting there from the airport via subway was a little tricky especially the flights of stairs that you have to overcome with your heavy baggages. When u exit the subway, u have to walk abt 8 mins to reach the guesthouse.. On the way up to the guesthouse are some eateries which are more patronized during the weekdays as there is a school nearby. But please note that the way to the guesthouse is an up-slope. So it gets really tiring if u are lugging heavy bags after shopping spree.
Stayed in a double condo room as the hotel type was booked. Had a mini kitchen which was useless to us. The room was neat and sizeable. Essentials like hairdryer, shampoo etc are provided. However, perhaps the guesthouse did not expect their guests to turn on the air-con in a 15 degree celcius weather, dust was flying around when we on the air-con and this dirtied our bed which was underneath the aircon. We didnt want to open window as the pathway gets noisy when the Koreans are going to or dismiss from the school nearby. Toilet was much better than expected and it's very clean too. Staff is ok and the guy manning the counter (called Ray) looks cold but it's actually very helpful. My hubby was very ill during the trip and Ray took the initiative to accompany me to the pharmacy that it's quite some walk away, helping me to communicate with the pharmacists there. His English is good too since he worked in Australia for some time.
Location is good, given that it's in the myeongdong area. Bad is that it requires some walk from the subway station or main road, and there are alternatives in the heart of myeongdong area for slightly more in price.

Date of stay: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cashewnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

easy accessible, which about 15mins walk after exit from the MyeongDong subway.
surrounding with alot of nice restaurant and MyeongDong shopping area just across the road near to the subway exits. besides, it also very near to the Namsan Tower that you could opt to take yellow bus where bustopis abt 5mins walking distance from guest house.
famous shopping spot of Dongdeamun, Namdeamun, Seoul station is only few station away from MyeongDong. So really is great location that you could drop your shopping bags before you head to next stop :)

Stayed at double room for 4 nights at Seoul. Room is cozy and clean. WIFI is accessible in the room. they do also have public PC at the reception area.
Staff are friendly and willing to help if any info guided needed.

the only area to note would be the water heater is inconsistent which kind of frustrated especially during cold weather :s

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galsbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Firstly, i stayed in IB Ville throughout my whole korea trip, a 6 days 5 nights trip =) n it was very memorable!

The place wasn't very hard to find being very near myeongdong station, just about 3minutes walk away. Behind the hotel was one of seoul's iconic tourist attraction, Namsan Tower (which was very nicely lit up at night, it was breathtaking considering how near it was to IB Ville) and just across the street is Myeongdong shopping district, Seoul's shopping mecha!!!

Me n my friends opted for the 3 bedroom styled room and it was very comfortable and quite spacious. I was more impressed with the cleanliness of the bathroom as its impt to me while travelling. Towels, hairdryer, shampoo, and soap were all provided in the room, as well as house slippers! oh, thr was a fridge too =3 wifi is provided downstairs, and thr's also desktops too

Reasonable pricing as breakfast was provided as well (toast jam butter n coffee/tea), The staffs were super friendly n they speak very good english! perfect for foreingers

Overall, I would highly recommend this place to travellers on a budget n looking for a place which is right smack in the middle of Seoul's shopping district, Myeongdong =)

Date of stay: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamomedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews