We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Alpha Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Guesthouse
Ranked #408 of 580 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Kofu
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I'd seen some bad reviews but my first choices of places to stay were fully booked and I really wanted to stay in what was supposidely a cool area of Seoul (it isn't too great btw).
So...despite this I took a gamble anyway.
I was worried at first. The place seemed really seedy, it was down a dark back alley, there was a bad smell floating around outside and no staff were anywhere to be seen.
First impressions proved mistaken however, had no problems at all whilst I was there. The bed was big and though the Chinese guests in the nearby rooms were annoyingly loud that was hardly the hotel's fault.
Except for the occasional Chinese storms I encountered no other people during my time there, the out of the way area was good, all I needed was a place to crash.
Cheap, wi-fi and no problems.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank bernician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
2
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you're looking for a cheap place to sleep and the most kind owner you can imagine, then this is the right place. Wifi, kithcen, bath and so forth are all in order, and the owner was the most helpful person you can imagine (far beyond normal politeness).

Of course, you should also expect rooms of the quality you pay for: they more or less contain a bed surrounded by thin walls, but that is also all most of us needs..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Villads E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you're looking for an immersive experience in Seoul and meeting other foreigners, Alpha Guesthouse is great.

I arrived from Incheon International Airport and rode bus 6002 to the guesthouse, its a 10$ ticket, and takes about an hour. It is then about a .25mile walk to the hotel.

This location is excellent with a nice sampling of Korean dining as well as fastfood like Subway, McDonalds, Pizza Hut and several others. The instructions to get to the hotel are great, just be sure to look for the right bank, several have names beginning with a K, the KEB is what you want to look for.

The host met me outside the guesthouse late in the evening and gave me a quick tour of the amenities and checked me in. The room was big enough for a suitcase of luggage, bed and desk. Very small. The adjacent common kitchen area was comparatively as spacious. The hotel is set back in a quiet neighborhood. Bring a good pair of walking shoes or boots because you will do a lot of walking.
Shoes are not allowed inside, be sure to bring your houseshoes with you.

The transit system in Seoul is very clean and efficient. The tickets cost about 1$.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Fresh rooms, really well heated when I visited in a cold december. The hotel managers where very helpful in all senses, the wifi worked well, it is close to the green subway line. For the price I really couldnt ask for more, its the place to go if you are looking for a place to sleep and recuperate during a one week visit to Seoul. Makes me almost not want to recommend it, so it remains a hidden treasure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stensaxpapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed there as it was cheap and conveniently located. We got what we paid for and I thought for the price the standard was high. The room was kept clean and as we were out for most of the day, did not mix with the other guests. Everyone we met was polite, especially the staff and the owner who created a family atmosphere for us. We are very grateful to her for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendyParisParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I booked this hostel because it's cheap, strategically located to the places I wanted to go to, and highly recommended by my other friends.

I stayed in a single room because I didn't want to sleep in a mixed gender dorm room. There is a female dorm room but I was told by the manager that they tend to mix it up when the rooms are fully booked. So I decided that it's better to pay more for a single room than to worry about my safety.

Anyway, the room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfy enough. But there wasn't an en suite bathroom, so I had to wait for others to finish doing their business in the common bathroom before doing mine.

No free breakfast was provided, but at least there was water for everyone.

One of the staff members was a fellow Filipino so she was able to give me some tips on how to get around Seoul. She was very nice and helpful to everyone.

The owner of the hostel was very nice, too, and is very familiar with Filipinos since his family lived there for a while. This made my stay more comfortable.

The hostel is near eateries, shops, the subway and universities. If you're Catholic, you can just walk a few meters to Sogang University and hear mass at the chapel every 7:30 in the evening on Sundays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitziec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed in a single room in August 2012. It was the nearest one to my last location (I wanted somewhere near as it was my last night in Seoul and I had a lot of luggage), and it was the cheapest for a single room (at 35,000 won compared to other hostels in Hongdae going for 45,000 won).

The room was fine, big enough for me to sit on the floor with one 25 kg bag, one 8 kg bag and still have some space. The mattress was hard but I prefer that anyway. The main door had an electronic lock and I was given my room key. Wifi works well, and the biggest pro is that it's within five minutes from Sinchon metro station.

The only problem I had was with the air-conditioning system, it works in 30-45 minute intervals (programmed central control), i.e. it goes on, off, on, off, and it's the peak of summer so it got quite stuffy when the air-conditioning was off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryllim23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Beewon Guesthouse
Beewon Guesthouse
#154 of 957 in Seoul
3 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Yellow Brick Hostel
Yellow Brick Hostel
#45 of 580 in Seoul
213 reviews
Hongdae
Come Inn Guesthouse
Come Inn Guesthouse
#1 of 957 in Seoul
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#11 of 493 in Seoul
3,295 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#16 of 493 in Seoul
1,554 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#20 of 493 in Seoul
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Guesthouse

Property: Alpha Guesthouse
Address: 21, Baekbeom-ro 4-gil, Mapo-gu | 2f, Seoul 04109, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Sinchon / Ewha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 580 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alpha Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse is perfect for tourist who want close access to all the famous tourist spots in Seoul. There is a major shopping mall near our guesthouse and convenience stores, restaurants, cafes, bars, and fast food chains galore.Our guesthouse is conveniently located in Seoul’s prime location, Sinchon, which is near the youth-friendly shopping area of Hong-ik University, Yonsei University, and Sogang University and is located in the center of Seoul’s transportation hub. Next to the quiet and clean Arirang Guesthouse is the historically famous Manduksa Temple where you can enjoy the spirit of old Seoul and experience Buddhist rituals. Directions: by subway: Incheon Airport, take the Arex airport railroad, get off at Kimpo airport station, take the subway to Yeondeungpogu Office Station and transfer to the Number 2 line, get off at Sinchon station Exit 6 By bus: At the Incheon Airport, take the limousine bus number 660 and get off at Sinchon station. Once you are at Sinchon walk 100m down the road with Sinchon Notari KEB bank and Sogang University. Step into the alley next to Kia Motors and walk until you see the Rex motel on the right. The Alpha Guesthouse is right around the corner from the Rex Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing