We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC LOCATION!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jongno Sunshine Guesthouse
Ranked #426 of 959 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2013

stay here twice, but the room is abit old fashioned back to like 80's... everything there are old, and sometime water leaking, bath tub quite small, the flush might not working...
other than that everything is fine, the person in charge are helpful when we request to put our luggages (i think 16 of it) over there for a week cause we went to jeju island and will back to the guesthouse again.
basic breakfast...(jam and bread)
value for money
distance to subway is like walking 3 minutes?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ignatius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 25 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for 6 days and 5 nights. The location of the guesthouse is conveniently located at the center of seoul. Very near tourists spots like insadong, gwanghamun square, gyeongbukgong and changdeukgong palace, jongmyo shrine, jogyesa temple, chonggyecheon stream and gwangjang market. We actually walked from shunshine to those places since its really near and the weather is just perfect. There is a subway entrance/exit just across sunshine (jongno 3sam ga). The guesthouse is not so new and needs renovation, the room is quite small. They provide towel, shampoo and hair dryer. Breakfast is just toast and jam, and on our first morning there was no coffee in the kitchen so i just settle for water. No dishwashing liquid in the kitchen sink, i was kinda disappointed when i first saw the dining area because it was messy. I never saw anyone cleaning the place during our entire stay. There is only one girl in the reception area, she speaks good english. For those who are in a tight budget and looks after convenience i highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

... or as a trip with friends, since the staff is amazing. They are not only helpful giving directions, helping you to plan your tours, etc., but they also dedicate time to talk with you about anything, like friends you have known from years.
The location of the hostel is perfect if what you are looking for is to know the palaces. The street is full of delicious food (cheap delicious food). Close by is Insadong, where you can find all kind of beautiful souvenirs. There is a subway station just around the corner, so if you need to go to other areas of the city, you can reach them by metro.
The rooms are small, but are so well equipped: private bathroom, cable tv, air conditioner, hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, soap. The bed was perfect! For some people might be a little hard, but give it a try, it's better for your back and you will feel refreshed the next day.
Breakfast is included: tea, coffee, jam, toasts, noodles.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Amazing owner Max speaks four languages and his staff also are skilled in several languages. A one minute walk from the subway in a neighborhood of restaurants. Rooms are small but quite adequate and clean, each with its own bathroom and fridge. An excellent value in a good location near several attractions. We appreciated Max's knowledge of local restaurants, recommending several that offered tasty food at quite modest prices. Talking in the evening with other guests from around the world was another highlight. Not fancy, but a really good place to stay.

Room Tip: Although close to the subway, it is up a small alley so could be difficult to find. Make sure you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 828TJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was there last yr july with a friend of mine, the location is gd as it is just nt far frm the Subway station. When we arrived the cab driver actually called their front desk for directions to their guesthouse. When we arrived as it was raining, the kind staff actually came out with umbrellas to shelter us and also help us carry our luggages. Although the room is abit small but it is very cosy. The staff actually can converse in english very well making it easier to communicate~

There are loads of shopping and food around the area if you are willing to walk and explore, for us we headed more to Myeondong and Hongdae which isnt very far from the guesthouse~~

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jassoshisica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The staff was super friendly, gave us a map of the city and told us where to go and gave us some good recommendations. Breakfast was included and the guy from the reception cook it for us, while having a good chat. Room was a bit small and the bed was hard, but that normal for Asia.

Shopping Tip: Close to the hotel there is a street shopping where the prices a reasonable, and you have a good variety of things.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Really nice location, 50m away from Jongno-3 ga exit 4 escalator of line 5 and 100m away from line 3. So in this case, you can ride the subway all the way from Incheon Airport for only 4000won. Convenience store is just at the main street. Staff speak good English and they will help you carrying your luggage up the stairs. But then they really need to renovate the property. Very cheap though.

Room Tip: try using the street view of Daum or Naver map so you wont get lost finding it. Seoul has a lot of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marts_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#14 of 505 in Seoul
3,394 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#21 of 591 in Seoul
84 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#33 of 505 in Seoul
325 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jongno Sunshine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jongno Sunshine Guesthouse

Address: 155-1 Donui-Dong, Jongno-Gu, Seoul 110-807, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 959 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: $56 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jongno Sunshine Guesthouse is located in the heart of Seoul in Jongno where you could experience Korean culture and Korean history.We treat travelers as a friend and family, so that can make their journey in seoul as pleasant as possible. We have Triple rooms, Double rooms, Twin rooms, Single rooms, Female dorm. TV, airconditioner, refrigerator, shower, toilet, shampoo, towel and soap in every room. Except for the female dorm, there is no TV. We also provide free cold drinking water. There is terrace area and communal area where traveler could have a rest.And in the communal area (in the basement) you can have quick breakfast in the morning (9am-10am) – bread, jam and coffee. Free WiFi in the whole Guesthouse.Jongno Sunshine Guesthouse is Korean house that travelers could enjoy their own trip in Korea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon and HostelWorld so you can book your Jongno Sunshine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Guesthouse Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing