We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious steaming hot wangmandu!”

Gamekol Son Wangmandu
Ranked #123 of 38,562 Restaurants in Seoul
Cuisines: Korean
Neighborhood: Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Reviewed July 22, 2015 via mobile

We were hungry when we walked through the market and stopped here for a snack as we saw them bring out of several huge platters of freshly steamed (HOT!) wangmandu (giant steamed dumplings). Your choice of spicy or non-spicy. They are minced pork and scallions with or without kimchi. Five for KW3,000. What a deal! Huge, full of flavor, and delicious. They were enough to keep us going. Frenzy of activity every time they brought out fresh platters of hot dumplings and for good reason: these are awesome.

Date of visit: July 2015
2  Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 96 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2015

We stumbled across this place while walking around the market -- we noticed the steam coming from the dumplings and the long lines of people waiting to buy them that we had to go see what all the commotion was about.

There were two types of dumplings to choose from: regular or spicy. Since they had ran out of the spicy we ordered their minimum amount -- 5 mandu (korean dumplings) for about $3.

We quickly scurried off to the side to eat our fresh, hot dumplings, as the several guys had made it clear earlier that you should not stand in front of their restaurant unless you were planning on buying dumplings. We ate the entire box of five steaming hot dumplings while standing. They were gone in about 10 minutes.

As for the dumplings -- they were some of the best I've had, and different than most Korean-style mandu. First off they were huge! Second, the outside was chewy and sticky -- more doughy, perhaps? But in a good way. The filling to dough ratio was just perfect. I shared a box of five with one other person, but I could have definitely eaten more!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Slyand v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

It serves simple noodles, meat pau n red bean pau. you can either takeaway or eat in the shop on the 2nd floor. Noodles was tasty so were the paus. All are freshly make by the shop. Of course as "starters", there must b some kimchi. Arrive around 930 on a Saturday morning n there wasn't much crowd yet. By 10, however, the little shop starts filling up. Would try again the next time I m at namdamung!

1  Thank Lynnyeosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 8, 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 6, 2020
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Gamekol Son Wangmandu also viewed

 

Been to Gamekol Son Wangmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.