We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
Ranked #107 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
san antonio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for the price. Booked with expedia so got upgraded to a suite. Nice room. Climate control didn't work the whole weekend regardless of hotel efforts. They were always willing to help even though they couldn't fix the problem. Will return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jharve07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your trip.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay although you had a problem with

climate control.

We sincerely apologize again and thank you for your kind review.

It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Sincerely,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    315
    102
    17
    17
See reviews for
48
184
115
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Knew what to expect based on the reviews and photos of the hotel. Of course, the boutique styling is its main selling point. Staff are helpful enough and will try their best to fulfill what you ask for.

The hotel is unique, but if you pay closer attention to the details, you'll see some of the flaws. Some cons: Their aircon system is centralized, during our stay it's only set to the heater (winter season), so the only way to let in some cold air was to open these vents in the window, which is a first for me in a hotel. I remember waking up one night perspiring! They did bring up an electric fan, which is odd for me to use in a hotel. You also need to pay for the toothbrush and toothpaste, so we ended up buying one in a convenient store. It was difficult to adjust the hotness/coldness of the shower. The room was a bit smaller than what I expected, but well appointed, the bathroom is also well designed. Soundproofing could be better, I could hear someone coughing from another room below.

Still, worth the try if you're after something different from the usual hotel feel, especially for couples. The location is convenient and we always loved the walk from the subway leading to the hotel and back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at the IP Boutique hotel.

We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our staff and some points of our hotel.

Guests can adjust the room temperature although our climate control system is centralized.

However, our climate control had some problems during your stay. We sincerely apologize for

the inconvenience caused.

Thank you from all of us here at the IP Boutique hotel.

Kind regards,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As I wrote in the title, I have booked this place based on feedback from previous travelers and I didn't make mistake.
Hotel is...well...cool in design, even those dark halls make sense in total picture. Glass&mirror interior was more than enjoyable.
Staff super polite. Location great for going out or reaching other areas. Normal pricing for Seoul, comparing to other areas. If you look for bit different style, this is IT.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidCRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for posting your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

we are looking forward to welcoming you back and please contact us if you need any further

assistance.

Regards,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in IP Boutique Hotel for 4 nights in Jan 2013, and my conclusion is that there is too much hype about this hotel. It is good, but I’m not willing to give it a rating of ‘excellent’.

Location wise, it is not that bad. It is about 500m walk from Itaewon Station leaving via Exit 2. Itaewon area caters more to foreigners and thus there are different food varieties ranging from Western, Italian, French and even a Halal restaurant along the way. So those who wish to have something different from Korean food, it is easily available here. However, this area is quite expensive due to the numbers of tourists visiting/staying, expect costly meals and so does the room cost of IP Boutique Hotel.

In my opinion, IP does live up to their award of being trendy. The room looks futuristic especially the bathroom. I especially like their wall mural in the room that we had. The hotel also gave to our request for a high-floor and non-smoking room. Hence, we had a good view from our 11th floor window and the room has no smoke scent. They gave quite good toiletries except no toothbrushes, BYO. The room has a large closet to hang clothes and a safe-box provided. There is a mini fridge that is stocked with items but all items are chargeable. We used their gym facilities as well and all equipments are in working condition. It is not a big gym, but no one is using anyway. The hotel staffs are very friendly and they speak fluent English. Their café looks popular as we always saw quite a number of guests inside, but we did not try.

Here go the bad points. After all the excellent reviews I read about IP, I was really disappointed that the room’s fixtures and furnishings look very worn and dated when we finally looked into details. The carpet was stained and there were cigarette burn marks on the floor and on the bedside table. The wall to the bathroom shows gaps (which is probably due to poor renovation works) and I was not very impressed when I saw a very thick line of greenish algae on the bathroom wall. The water pressure for the room that we stayed was really slow and it took a while to fill the bathtub. On our last day, the contractors started some renovation works along the corridor and it became quite noisy. IMO, the standard of the room does not do justice to the price we paid for the room. IP Boutique Hotel is quite pricey.

One last remark, a light-hearted joke to share. As we all know IP hotel lift corridor is really very dark. On top of that, they strategically placed mirrors along the walls and at the end of the walkways. One night, while waiting for the lift on the 11th floor, another male guest who was inside the lift gave a ‘yelp’ when he saw me standing in front after the lift door opened (I was wearing a long white coat & probably my pale makeup). It was rather amusing but yet embarrassing for the both of us. Occasionally we could not find our room door as well due to the poor lightings. Sometimes we would also have a mini fright of our own because of the mirror reflection. I hope the hotel can do something about it. Is it really an ‘In’ trend to have dark corridors?

Room Tip: High floor rooms will give a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kisetsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay.

We are sorry that you were not satisfied with some points of our hotel.

The equipment gets worn out easily, so we renovate our rooms regularly in order to make our

rooms to remain in the best condition.

This is the reason that you heard a small noise in the afternoon.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponthir
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fabulous hotel, great location and quirky rooms. Best hotel we have stayed in Seoul, will definitely stay again. Glass partitions, seperate lounge and bespoke bedrooms made the hotel quite unique, and close proximity to subway made travelling aroung Seoul quite effortless. Although we did not eat in the hotel, the food and drink menu seemed quite enticing. Previous stays in 'love hotels' have been quite mediocre by comparison and for definite this is our hotel for the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimFerris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Jim,

Thank you for writing about your experience at the IP Boutique hotel.

We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and comfortable.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time.

Sincerely,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am very picky and loved this hotel!

I don't understand why so many people complain about this place, aside from the dark halls, which, yes the halls are actually very dark, everything was great! Everywhere else is VERY bright and clean with cool decor and lots to applaud! Staff, room and location all great!

We were here for Xmas and hadn't had time to make xmas dinner resos- the hotel concierge upon check-in booked an AMAZING 5 course meal for us atop one of the tallest buildings in Seoul.

Hotel room:
The room was very white and showed no sign of being dirty.
The washroom to room wall is glass, so careful about what room you book if you are not traveling with a romantic partner.
Bed was super comfy.
View was great.
-Bathroom toilet is a electronic one but our first night we couldn't get it to stop flushing every 5 minutes all night while we tried to sleep of our jetlag. We didnt say anything though so I know they would have fixed it for us since when housekeeping left it was fixed (without us asking).
-I find a lot of boutiques buy cheap trendy furniture that they can change as it goes in and out of style, to an extent this is also true here. Some of the furniture was cheaply made. We had trouble with the built in plugs in all of the dressers etc, they just spat everything back out because they were falling in their frames. Of 4 or 5 sockets in the room, 2 worked.

Hotel + Staff:
all very helpful whether at front desk or restaurant.
Don't have them book you a cab to the airport for you though, there are always cab lined up outside. They were going to charge almost double from what we ended up paying just for prebooking it for us.

Location:
2 blocks off of the metro - cabs are also cheap so we had no problem getting anywhere we wanted to go (traffic was bad so metro was easier). We didnt spend much time besides eating in this neighborhood but you could!
Great for dinner spots! On the edge of a large shopping street and hip lounge and restaurant strip. All types of food from italian, french, korean etc. Yet still quiet at night in the room.

Great value for a cool boutique that sleeps like a fancy hotel but has a funkier vibe like a boutique!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and thank you for staying with us during your visit to Korea.

I'm glad the the staff was able to assist you in finding a great restaurant.

A dark hallway is concept of our hotel. While some guests say it is ok, other guests say it is dark.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,


Resident Manager

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location. Rooms are pretty big for a boutique style hotel and the decorations are kooky and fun. It's like a stylish, sophisticated love hotel, and I mean that in a good way! Our room was extremely clean, the bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom was huge and the bath overlooked the street. Great shopping and bars nearby and Itaewon is the perfect base from which to explore the city. Staff were friendly and helpful. Basically no complaints from my husband and I. We were there at Christmas time so the whole building was all bright and festive. Highly recommended if you're sick of sterile, corporate hotels.

Room Tip: reviewers who have complained about corridors being too dark? Don't let that put you off - there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirbykirbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPBOUTIQUEHOTELSEOUL, 매니저 at Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for including the IP Boutique Hotel on your trip and thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. We are glad we were able to make you feel comfortable.
It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Kind regards,

Resident Manaher

Young Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Itaewon
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
#149 of 472 in Seoul
390 reviews
Itaewon
I.T.W Hotel
I.T.W Hotel
#263 of 472 in Seoul
47 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#66 of 472 in Seoul
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#17 of 472 in Seoul
615 reviews
Samseongdong / COEX
Imperial Palace Seoul
Imperial Palace Seoul
#26 of 472 in Seoul
776 reviews
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#3 of 472 in Seoul
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel

Property: Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
Address: 221, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04349, South Korea (Formerly IP Boutique Hotel)
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed in the nightlife, culture, restaurants area of Seoul city, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel lies 2.Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. For those of you who want to venture out, Itawon Street, Leeum, Samsung Museum of Art, Itaewon Subway station are just some of the attractions available to visitors.IP Boutique Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Seoul. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including safety deposit boxes, car park, airport transfer, meeting facilities, 24hr room service.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing