We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely facility in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gangnam Artnouveau City II
Ranked #127 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely facility in a great location”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The Artnouveau Gangnam II is a well appointed residential hotel in a womderful location. The room was very spacious and included a small kitchen with fridge, microwave, rice cooker and washer-dryer. The bathroom was shower only. The room included a large sitting area with a big screen TV and sliding doors to separate the bedroom area. Lots of closet space which is nice if you are staying for a few days. Had some difficulty adjusting the temperature and the room was quite dark as it was located next to another building, but those are the only complaints. Friendly, helpful staff. Wireless is available, but ask for a connection at the desk.

Great location, close to Subway Station, banks, shopping, restaurants, and many convenience stores in the area.

A very comfortable home away from home at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Islandmomma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    65
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
38
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I was very surprised at the elegance and appointment of the Gangnam centered hotel. The hotel is 2 blocks of one of the main drags and 3 blocks to the Gangnam metro station. The rooms are spacious, great bathrooms with heated toilet that washes your butt. The glass shower stall has a nice overhead and also there was hand held shower with shampoo and conditioner and toothbrush. The towels were clean and thick. There is a half kitchen, rice machine, toaster, hot water pot for instant coffee and tea...a huge full fridge and freezer, a pantry, a microwave and a combo washer dryer. You get your detergent from the front desk but there needs to be directions in English on how to use the washer dryer combo.

There is cable line internet. The closets hidden and flush in the art nouveau style. It was very cold and I loved the heated wood floors. The lighting options created any mood and easy to host guests for drinks or a Super Bowl party. The Tv is big, the couch is comfy and the room services in unobtrusive. There are many TV channels, CNN and English language movie channels. I liked everything about the rooms and was very comfortable on a two week stay.

There is a well equipped gym and sound system with an Ipad dock, a business center with computers, 3 restaurants in the building, a convenience store next door. The rooms are quiet and I like the view of the city sunrise over the mountains.

There are many restaurants in the area.. and a chicken a beer restaurant one block over. A coffee shop on every corner, a Starbucks with outdoor seating two blocks toward the metro. The hotel is next to Samsung City corporate offices and a 10 minute walk to the financial tower in Youksam. The underground mall takes you two blocks to the Gangnam station green line 3 and just 3 stops to the Coex mall, city bus terminal and trade/convention center.

There is an outdoor driving range one block from the hotel. The nightlife in Gangnam is exceptional with many traditional and trendy restaurants, bars, cafes and a lot of young fashionable people strolling the streets and going to nightclubs in the two sectors on the other side of the subway.

The staff was very attractive, spoke good English, were very polite and did everything to protect your privacy. I will only stay in this hotel when staying Seoul.

Room Tip: If you have the money get the two story Emerald room.. it is like a townhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kamakanuiahailono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Good stay at gangnam artnouveau city 2.
located at ideal location, i was on my business trip for two weeks and stayed at this residence.
First I had a single room located at 5th floor however room was mouldy and full with smoke smell. Especially during weekends (fri-sun), the club at basement made a big noise and i could feel the vibration. Well, the next day, i request a room change and they gave me a room on higher. It was good.

Internet was chargeable however provided at the fast speed. I had an ipad2 however there wasn't WIFI available at hotel. Breakfast is simple but nice. at least can request the scrambled egg that i wanted.

Room has washing machine and detergent was also provided thus was good!
There was an induction cooker available, too thus I cooked my own noodle at night.

Overall was a unique design, sturdy furniture and nice shower (power shower).
No bathtub is a minus.

Room Tip: please request for higher floor if you are a light sleeper..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ysy0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
229 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

One important point to note at the very beginning: there are three, separate Artnouveau City serviced residence buildings — Artnouveau City I, II and III all in the Gangnam area. They are not a convenient walking distance from one another; consequently, we suggest you ensure that you know for sure with which of the three you have booked, its exact, correct address, and the relevant phone numbers.

We stayed at the Artnouveau City II in a “Crystal” suite — the smallest, but adequately spacious and well-equipped for two people. “Crystal” suites with a queen-size bed have more free room in the bedroom area than suites with two twin beds. The former also have two bedside tables (one on each side with table lamps, and one table having a phone and control display for lights and other room utilities). Furthermore, there is space to walk around the bed. With two twin beds, there is only one bedside table (with phone, lamp and control display) and almost no space between the end (window) wall and one bed, and the sliding doors (if closed) and the other bed.

Publicity for the suites shows the building as free-standing; however, in reality it is sandwiched along a row of other tall buildings. The suites are located on a quiet side street in a modern, business-oriented part of Seoul with broad boulevards. To visit the tourist attractions of Seoul you will need to use the metro-subway system. The nearest station, Gangnam, is a convenient 5-10 minute walk from the suites.

There are restaurants in the vicinity; however, it will help to know Korean. We tended to eat at restaurants and food courts in department stores and malls because they had menus in English or pictures of the dishes which you could order.

To the right of the building entrance is a small Family Mart convenience store with a very limited selection. If you turn right when leaving the suites and walk up the street (towards the metro-subway station), you will find another small convenience store at the end of the next block. If you turn left on leaving the suites, walk to the end of the block, turn right on the main road and walk about one-and-a-half blocks, there is a small supermarket “Lotte Mysuper” with a better selection of foods. We used this store as it offered a better choice of packaged and fresh foods than any of the small convenience shops.

All the staff at reception were extremely pleasant, helpful, cooperative, professional and forthcoming — providing a standard of service which would have done credit to a 5-star hotel. When we needed specific information or help in our suite they were very responsive, prompt and efficient, definitely a credit to the chain. Current newspapers, in English and Korean, were available to read in the lobby lounge area.

The decoration of the suite was quite ornate, more a distinctive fusion of 1930s and 1950s rather than Art Nouveau (late 19th – early 20th century). As one entered the suite, on one side was a galley (built-in) kitchen with a two-burner electric stove (no oven), sink, cabinet and drawers, clothes washing machine (with instructions in English) and accessories such as a rice cooker, electric kettle, cutlery, dishes, pots and a pan, small dish-drainage rack, dishwashing liquid, scourer-sponge and a small tea towel. On the opposite side was a full-size fridge with a freezer section below. The kitchen was sufficiently equipped for two people. Each day, the staff replaced the two sachets each of coffee-creamer-sugar mix, black tea and green tea as they were consumed.

The entrance area had stone flooring and a door to the bathroom — which had a shower stall only (no bath) with both a conventional shower head and a removable hand-telephone shower. The bathroom had solid soap, and liquid shampoo and body wash. The fixed plug in the wash basin toggled; it worked by pressing down against a spring to close it and then pressing down again to open it. The toilet seat offered options for using the electrically operated bidet; however, instructions were in Korean only.

In the shower stall of our suite, the gap between the bottom of the glass door and the floor was not sealed by a rubber strip. Water would splash out and accumulate on the floor. We used a hand towel as a bath mat just outside the glass door to absorb the water which inevitably escaped during a shower.

The entrance area opened into a living-lounge area with a parquet floor. Desk space was a counter running the length of the room with a chair and a table lamp at either end; underneath were power outlets and an ethernet cable for Internet connection. In the middle, a large flat-screen TV gave access to several dozen channels, mostly Korean, several in English (mainly news and sports) and individual channels in other languages such as French and German, The sequential channel selector button on the remote control tended to skip channels unless one keyed in other specific numbers. (Perhaps reprogramming the remote control might have avoided this situation.) Opposite were a sofa and a coffee table. On the counter at one side of the sofa was a microwave oven.

You could separate the bedroom area at the end of the room by closing two pairs of sliding glass doors. We found the beds and pillows comfortable. Each bedside table had a lamp; one table had a telephone and a touch-screen control panel for operating the lights and other room utilities. There were three double closets, one with drawers and another with a room safe, which was not bolted down and so of dubious security for its contents. Instead, we used a free safe deposit box at the reception desk.

The air conditioner was installed in the ceiling in front of the window and above the bed. A remote control allowed the selection of temperature, fan speed and vent oscillation. The system worked well and provided a pleasant white noise reminiscent of wind or waves when operating.

Despite the room having a heavy door (which opened out into the corridor), noise from the activities outside the room penetrated inside. We slept well with the glass sliding doors to the bedroom closed and the air conditioning on. The double-glazed windows effectively blocked noise from outside the building; we could open three window panels if we had wanted to. Heavy curtains blocked off all outside light if you needed to sleep during the day; opaque curtains provided privacy in the day while admitting light. At the back (quieter side) of the suites, our room overlooked the rooftops of other buildings and faced high-rise buildings on the streets beyond.

The suite had several choices of lighting — full overhead, recessed spot, table lamps, etc. and combinations of these — which always made it a pleasure when we were in the suite.

To get to the Artnouveau City II, we took the metro-subway, which was easy but slow: from Incheon International Airport to the reception desk took us almost two hours. (You can do much better than this using bus, such as 6009, which will take you to the vicinity of the suites, or a taxi which will cost more but drop you at the suites.) The following gives the route that we took: Airport Commuter train to Hongik University station; transfer to Line 2 (green); get off at Gangnam station; leave the station via exit 3; at street level walk straight ahead away from the intersection and traffic lights; at the second street to your right, turn right; walk to the third street and turn left. Artnouveau City II is about half way down the street past Coatel serviced apartments. You can locate the site of the suites along the street by looking for a circular sign with the letter A in script projecting out from the top of the building.

Exit 4 of Gangnam metro-subway station (well-lit with a maze of shops) had both a lift-elevator and escalators to street level; however, during our stays they did not always work. If you leave from this exit to go to the suites, walk down the side street (to your left) and away from the main boulevard in front of you. Proceed down two blocks then turn right one block, then left. The Artnouveau II is half way down the street past the Coatel building, all at your left.

Buying a metro ticket at the vending machines is easy: touch English, Single Trip, the button with the first letter of the alphabet of your destination station (the name of the station could be on a succeeding display if the list continues) and the number of tickets. Pay the amount displayed by putting paper money and coins in the appropriate slots. Collect the ticket(s) and your change (if any). Keep your ticket as you will need it to leave the station at your destination and to collect the 500 won deposit on the ticket from a machine outside the barriers and amongst the ticket vending machines (just insert your ticket and the machine will drop a 500-won coin). You can buy rechargeable tickets if you find them convenient.

The Seoul Metro Transit Authority website has system maps and full details. Note that not all stairways have escalators, so you might have to carry you luggage up and down stairs. If you look along the platform you should find a lift-elevator to the ticket-level concourse; upon passing through the barriers another lift-elevator should take you up to street level.

Room Tip: Try for a room as far away from the lifts-elevators as possible, and thus from other guests coming a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I stayed at the hotel mid December for 5 days and it was conveniently located and clean. The front desk was very helpful (even in helping me order some late night grub when they are not suppose to). It was a good location to stay as it was only 5 minutes walk to Gangnam station but being on the south side of the Han river means a fairly long journey to the north side to visit the palaces, Myeong Dong and Dongdaemun etc. However the south has very nice shopping areas like the trade center, Apgujeong etc. There are also a few nice restaurants nearby such as Beef BBQ place and a small local dining place which I see loads of local Koreans queuing up to eat during lunch time on a work day. There's also a nice restaurant serving korean noodle dishes next door at Coatel. The rooms are large and has a bed area and living room area for you. It is fitted with all the amenities such as microwave, fridge and even washing machine. The decor is very Korean fantasy and more suited to a women's cup of tea but all in all a great place to stay for holiday or business. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benbecks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

i like this hotel. The location is good, just 5 minutes away from the metro. Hotel staffs are friendly, most of them can speak English. I like the breakfast also... food are quite healthy. The only thing that I don't like is facility. The gym is too small. No sauna also.. still need some improvement. on the hotel facilities.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor if you prefer quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winnieCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed at Gangnam Artnouveau City II (not Yeoksam Artnouveau City which is in the next suburb) with my wife back in March this year - it was a very comfortable stay. The hotel is situated on a quiet street a block away from Gang-Nam's busy main road. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby. The Hotel is situated about 7-10 minute walk from Gangnam station (Line 2, No 3 exit).
We stayed in the Crystal room, the room can be divided in two by sliding glass door which separates the sleeping room from the rest. Toilets was clean, a shower with strong water-flow and toilet had bidet seat. The hotel supplies Shampoo and body wash. The room has a kitchenette with a twin hot stove, rice cooker and a sink. There are basic cooking utensils, pots/pans and limited numbers of plates and cutleries. There is a massive fridge, complimentary bottled water replenished with the room service daily. The room also has a washing machine/dryer combo, ask for laundry powder from the front desk and they will bring it up to you. We stayed for 2 weeks, although we never cooked anything, the washing machine got plenty of usage. There is a gym on the basement level with a couple of treadmills, bike and some weight-machines - It was quite and clean. A 24-hour convenience store (FamilyMart) right next to the Hotel was extremely handy.
The staff at the front desk are friendly and polite, they spoke fluent English.
I would imagine it might be hard to find initially for a foreigner as its tucked away from the main road. I recommend getting a taxi and ask to go to the corner of Gang-Nam-Dae-Ro and Sa-Im-Dang-Ro, from the Hyundai car dealer on the corner, walk up Sa-Im-Dang-Ro and the hotel is on the second street on your right.
I’ve booked to stay there again for my trip in 2 weeks away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SideFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Urban Place Gangnam
Urban Place Gangnam
#129 of 472 in Seoul
95 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Coatel
Coatel
#179 of 472 in Seoul
122 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Gangnam Family Hotel
Gangnam Family Hotel
#146 of 472 in Seoul
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seocho Artnouveau City lll
#186 of 472 in Seoul
81 reviews
Samseongdong / COEX
Yeoksam Artnouveau City I
Yeoksam Artnouveau City I
#226 of 472 in Seoul
134 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#34 of 472 in Seoul
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gangnam Artnouveau City II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gangnam Artnouveau City II

Property: Gangnam Artnouveau City II
Address: 49, Seocho-daero 74-gil, Seocho-gu | Gangnam Artnouveau City II, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#43 Family Hotel in Seoul
#46 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gangnam Artnouveau City II 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The serviced residence Gangnam Artnouveau City which is located in the center of Gangnam Korea has a good position for traffic, shopping, entertainment and business.Consisted of 192 rooms each equipped with top-level kitchen and washing machine, Gangnam Artnouveau City provides comfortable rest and business environments with luxurious interior and the highest grade services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gangnam Artnouveau City II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gangnam Artnouveau City Ii Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing