We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Considering price, location, facilities - this is an excellent choice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz
Ranked #9 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Considering price, location, facilities - this is an excellent choice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 12 nights in a Suite.

Based on consensus from previous reviews of this hotel, the primary advantage of staying here is that it is a spacious, modern, and luxurious apartment at a very good price. The disadvantage is that it is a relatively long commute from the main ‘touristy’ attractions and districts like Myeong-dong.

Should you stay here?
In my opinion, the size and relative value of the hotel, as well as the very active surrounding Konkuk University area, makes this hotel excellent value. If you’re staying in Seoul as a family, or are a couple who just like space to stretch out with all of your shopping, then I highly recommend this hotel for you. If you are worried about the extra 10 - 20 minutes commuting time, remember this is Seoul - the subway is easy, clean, and affordable (as are taxis). Just wake up 10 - 20 minutes earlier! It is really not that far from places like Myeong-dong, Isadong, Itaewon, etc. However, if you are in Seoul for perhaps, 2 - 3 days and want to cram everything in, you may be better suited to a more ‘central’ location.

The Suite
It is a luxury apartment with full kitchen (oven with basic trays, stove top with basic pot and pan, large sink, fridge, freezer, rice cooker, kettle, wine fridge). The bedroom is huge with two queen beds pushed together. Each bed has its own automatic controller to adjust the angle of the bed if you want to sit up or sleep with your legs higher than your body.

The walk in wardrobe is massive with a large amount of storage space and a dress/makeup mirror. I suggest taking the time to unpack into the wardrobe.

The bathroom is large with a very high tech heated automatic bidet toilet with a lid that opens for you every time you come near it.

Facilities
We had the buffet breakfast in the restaurant once. It was a decent spread at a good price - about $15USD per person.

The gym was free and rather large with a good range of equipment. Be sure to stretch out after your long flight with the inversion machines!

Surrounding area
The hotel is located in the Konkuk University area, which is by no means a quiet area. Inside the hotel building are two cafes, a 7-11, several restaurants and a wine bar.

Next door is a department store with a very substantial food court. Amazing food. Next door to the department store is StarCity, where the E-Mart supermarket/variety store is located, as well as even more cafes, restaurants, shops, and a movie theatre. The subway is also about 4 minutes walk from the hotel. Just across the road.

Staff were very helpful and friendly. They spoke good english. It is likely the the main reason that you wouldn’t choose this hotel is because of the distance to the main touristy sights. It is not ’that’ far away and not that much of a hassle. You may just need to change subway lines an extra time and add an additional 10 - 20 minutes. We recommend you give this hotel a go. In my opinion, it is unlikely you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a suite. Perhaps request a high floor, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentaz, 고객 담당 매니저 at The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Marcus K

Thank you so much for staying at The Classic 500 Pentaz Hotel and posting wonderful review and valuable pictures of this hotel on Tripadvisor.
As you mentioned, we are located a little far from main touristy attractions and districts of Seoul. However, It is just 10~20 minutes to spend time on the road for riding an easy subway train or a taxi. Our spacious room, luxurious and modern facilities, convenient and active surrounding, and friendly personal service will cover this kind of location problems.
We are also so pleased to hear that you highly recommend this hotel for our future customers.
Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to this Pentaz Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Lee
Director
Room Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    100
    20
    12
    0
See reviews for
189
46
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife, ten month old child, and myself stayed at the Classic 500 for 3 nights this past month and I have to say it was one of the best hotel stays I've had. The hotel is immaculate. The rooms were beautiful, and the service was top notch. Without going into excessive detail the front desk was extremely accommodating of our needs and really bent over backwards to help us. Seriously, staying there made me want to move to Korea. The room itself was gorgeous, so hi-tech with the light sensors lighting up my path at night :). We couldn't find one thing to complain about other than maybe there was so much room we had to look a lot before we left to make sure we didn't leave anything behind. I'm not sure how much of a criticism that is though. Also, the location may be slightly out of the way form the main sites to see in Korea but it was quick hop on the subway to get anywhere. Overall this place was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank markp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentaz, 고객 담당 매니저 at The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear markp23

Thank you so much for staying at The classic 500 Pentaz hotel and posting your review on Tripadvisor.
We were so glad after reading your perfect and wonderful review and I’ve sent it to all hotel associates to share your feedback which will give us another chance to provide more warm and dedicated services for our customers.
It would be grateful if you could give us another opportunity to serving your family members in the near future.
We sincerely appreciate your effort to write fabulous review on the Tripadvisor again.

Best regards,

Patrick Lee
Director
Room Division.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

i have stayed for a week, it was excellent accommodation, polite staff, will designed suits, very good breakfast, shopping area are very close e.g Lotte Department Store, convenient, i do recommended for others to enjoy these appartments

Room Tip: higher floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Abdulaziz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentaz, 고객 담당 매니저 at The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Abdulaziz Z

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Classic 500 Pentaz Hotel and taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to know that you had an unforgettable staying in well-designed our suite room with polite service.
We are very appreciative of all feedback which encourage us greatly in improving our services and facilities.,
Thanks for recommending this hotel for others to enjoy staying here and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Patrick Lee
Director
Room Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband, 10month old, sister and I stayed at a suite and had a wonderful experience. The room was clean and spacious, the appliances and furniture were very new and modern (but mostly labeled with korean text), and the staff were super polite and helpful.

I will definitely stay here again.

Also, it is 2 minutes from the subway station and the big Lotte Department store (with basement fast-food and grocery store), Kinkuk university, and the requisite affordable local chow. We had the best buffet korean bbq 2 blocks from the hotel for about $14 per person!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dewtravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentaz, 고객 담당 매니저 at The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear restofeedback77

Thanks for choosing The Classic 500 Pentaz Hotel and sharing your fabulous review on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful experience with your family at The Pentaz hotel. Your comments has been shared with our associates and these will be the greatest encouragement and motivation for future better services.
We hope you stay with us again with your family and we will take another great care of your stay.

Sincerely,

Patrick Lee
Director
Room Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at The Classic 500 for 7 nights and it was certainly one of the best accommodations we have stayed so far. Away from central Seoul, it is located at Konkuk University Station (Subway Line 2 or 7) and it’s just a stone away from Lotte Department Store, Star City Shopping Mall, E-Mart Supermarket, many restaurants and bars. The apartment with two bedrooms is very spacious with beautiful modern-contemporary interior design. It provides the necessary amenities and it’s fully well equipped with electrical appliances.However, it would be better if it provides English translation on how to use some of those electrical appliances. Overall, it's excellent residence and the staff were friendly and helpful. We love this apartment and would definitely choose to stay here again if we are back to Seoul for holidays!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hijacqlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentaz, 고객 담당 매니저 at The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Hijacqlyn

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Classic 500 Pentaz Hotel and posting a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.com.
We are most pleased to hear that this hotel was certainly one of the best accommodations you have stayed so far. We shared your thanksful review with our associates and we will continually work towards providing excellent service and facilities surpassing our guests expectations.
In regards to English translation of electrical appliances, we already prepared an English instruction book on the desk of living room to help understanding our hi-tech appliances.
Thanks again for leaving a valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Lee
Director
Room Division. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed there recently for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Good hotel for those in a group of maximum 4-5 persons as they have 2 double beds and you could probably add in another extra bed.

Pros:
1) The apartment was very spacious and had modern interior design. Had full length windows giving you a beautiful view of the university, mountain, buildings, etc, depending on which side you are facing.
2) Had sufficient electrical appliances to make staying there comfortable. They had a large TV in the living area, an oven, washing machine, big fridge, heater in the bathroom, automated bidet, wine chiller, adjustable beds, etc. They even had cooking and dining utensils. Only thing was, we didn't know how to get the induction cooker to work as we wanted to heat up some foodstuff. It would've been good if there were instructions in English or various other languages for the appliances as we had to figure out how to operate the washing machine.
3) Konkuk University metro (Line 2 & 7) is just diagonally across the road. Even though the location is off from the main shopping areas of Myeongdong, Itaewon, etc, it is still very accessible.
4) Had lots of restaurants, pubs convenience stores, boutiques, etc near the metro. Being near the university means the place is bustling with activities and students. Restaurants were still open at about 11pm when we were walking around. Street food stalls were also serving up delicious snacks.
5) There's a mall just beside the hotel. There's a Lotte department store and supermarket as well.
6) The front desk staff could speak English, which makes things much easier. They were also very courteous and provided excellent service. Even the cleaning staff were courteous, although their knowledge of English was very limited.
7) During cold nights and you do not want to venture outside, there's a Starbucks, a 7-11 and restaurant in the same building.

Cons:
1) The 2 double beds were lined up together. So if the 4 of you are not petite, it may be a little squeezy. Would've been great if the double beds were separated.
2) As mentioned above, would've been good if there were translations for the appliances.

Excellent hotel to stay in, highly recommended. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene_Sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentaz, 고객 담당 매니저 at The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Eugene Sim

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Classic 500 Pentaz Hotel and sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are very appreciative of your feedback which assists us greatly in improving our services and facilities.
Specially, we are very happy to hear that you have satisfied our courteous and excellent service. l
We will continually work towards providing warm and excellent service to all our guests to make Pentaz Hotel the most preferred hotel in Seoul for both business and leisure travelers.
Thanks for your note that you would definitely come back again.

We look forward to serving you soon.

Sincerely,

Patrick Lee
Director
Room Division.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

location is good but not in centre of Seoul, few lines of subway just less than 5 mins walking distrance. Tons of restaurants nearby and they all open pretty late. Lotte dept store next door with a pricy supermarket. Very handy to have two coffee shops and one 7-11 within the same building.

Good bargin and we have enjoyed so much the space and edgy household products in the apartment, strongly suggest you not to spread too much your own belongings all over the place in the apartment, per the size of the room, it will be a hard for you to locate where exactly you placed that and tough when packing to leave (HAHA, so true)!

However a few annoying facts:
1) reception never says hi when you walk pass their area anytime (even when check in)
2) all rooms are non-smoking
3) water pressure in bathroom is bad
4) no coffee machine in room (this is basic I believe if you already have a washing machine, seperate fridge for kimchi and stove and all kinds of gadgets, including the adjustable bed (OMG, that helps when reading book on bed), why no coffee machine then?
5) the furniture looks trendy and new but in fact the quality is somewhat poor to fair, so it is just good looking.

Room Tip: ask for high floor nearby the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tomli0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentaz, 고객 담당 매니저 at The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear tomli0829

Thanks for your staying at The classic 500 Pentaz Hotel and sharing your valuable review on the Tripadvisor.com.
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed so much the space and edgy household products in this hotel.
However, we feel very sorry about a few annoying facts you have indicated during your stay.
I would like to assure that we take your feedback very seriously and will make every effort to make necessary improvements.
Thanks for choosing The Classic 500 Pentaz Hotel to stay with us again.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Lee
Director
Room Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Samseongdong / COEX
Oakwood Premier Coex Center
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#1 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#8 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Lotte Hotel L7 Myeongdong
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
JW Marriott Dongdaemun Square Seoul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz

Property: The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz
Address: 90, Neungdong-ro, Gwangjin-gu, Seoul 05065, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Seoul
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
#21 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the prestige business residence, PENTAZ features spacious and pleasant rooms that perfectly designed for those staying abroad on business for a long period. PENTAZ provides the exclusive private service, luxuriously and efficiently designed space for satisfying both relaxation and business needs all in one.During your stay, you can enjoy our fitness club, Sauna, spa, indoor golf driving range & putting green, live buffet, wine bar & fine dining in order to refresh yourself.During your stay, you can enjoy our fitness club, Sauna, spa, indoor golf driving range & putting green, live buffet, wine bar & fine dining in order to refresh yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Classic 500 Executive Residence Pentaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Classic 500 Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing