We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money and Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Backpackers Inside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Backpackers Inside
Ranked #3 of 534 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money and Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is our second time to stay in Backpackers Inside during our trip to Seoul. And as usual, we enjoyed our stay. The staff we had met (Min, Roy, and Britta) are all cool, accommodating, helpful, and friendly. It was really nice to have small chit-chats with them during breakfast and while staying in the common room. The deluxe rooms we got are clean and fully equipped with mini-kitchen, bathroom, washing machine, fridge, microwave, and PC. It felt like living in a college dorm! The surrounding area is relatively safe and we felt secured going home even on the wee hours of the night.

Inside is near Sungkyungkwan University so the area is very lively even at late night. You can find different restaurants and cafes and convenience stores to suit whatever you need. It is also just a few walks away from Hyehwa subway station and the airport bus so travelling is really convenient.

We will definitely stay again in Backpackers Inside when we return to Seoul, hopefully this coming 2014 spring or winter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoJacosalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    74
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
16
116
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

it's a five-star hostel! even better than i expected, really. all you may need and wish from a lodging, you get here. the neighbor is nice, very near to the station, bus terminal to the airport, and touristic sites (only 20 min walk to changdeokgung palace!).
not only the hostel itself is clean and neat, but the atmospher is also warm and homey. very comfortable and relaxing,even for an introvert-shy-looner like me. the crews are nice and very helpful. surely i'll stay at INSIDE if i ever have chance/s to visit seoul again. it was my first trip abroad alone, and they just made it very easy to me. thany you so much guys! *you should add 2 more stars on your logo ;)

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank nidandelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Clean place, helpfull staff, near bus stop and subway station, easy to find and most important thing is easy to find a place to eat. I stay from 18 - 20 and 22 - 24 of October 2013 both stay periode I have a wonderful time here, it is almost like home. I will be back here someday. Thank you ^_^

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novidya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The place is near the bus station and Hyehwa Subway station, very convinient for transportation, lots of choices for food and cafe. Staff are friendly and easy to communicate. You get what you paid for, the only thing we had problems with is the shower heater lol its a battle everyday but aside from that all is good.

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe rooms its always nice to have your own private bathroom that sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macon_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I will never finish saying how happy I was when I stayed there, a lot of the best moments I had in Seoul were during my stay in this place and with the friends that I made there, without problems I can say that I felt like home!! I still talk to the people I met there an would lve to go back again!! It was amazing how nice the staff was and helpful!! Everything was super clean and I witnessed how they cleaned often, we always had hot water and no curfew!! we were able to borrow umbrellas too! Clearly it has been the best place where I stayed in korea, now I consider the staff my friends and for the time I stayed I consider them my second family as well, I totally recommend this hostel to people who want to stay in a cozy place, cheap, clean and with an excellent service ;)

Room Tip: single rooms are cozy but the dorms are amazingly confortable too and the prize is way much better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayragarcia061091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

really! i love this dorm so much.. just like my second home in Korea
thanks for super friendlly staffs.. even i just talk so rarely.. but they are so nice!
Minyoung, Mia, Roy and Brit! hwaiting for you guys!
i really enjoyed stay in InSide!

i will come again.. wait for me! hahahah

Room Tip: Female Dorm! new freind everyday! enjoy SEOUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrenGie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The things that I found really positive about this hostel were that the owner ran it (so obviously the service is better), free laundry and cheap dryer, you're able to print for cheap ( can be a huge hassle when not available I've found), friendly and warm atmosphere, couch and tv area, free breakfast (toast, jam, eggs, coffee), good location, helpful and caring staff, cheap, and cozy/ feels like home type of hostel. The things that I didn't like were that it is a very small hostel. I prefer to stay in hostels that hold 50 plus people. Also you need to go downstairs and outside to smoke. It's not far, but it'd be better if there were a balcony.

Room Tip: Know that the private rooms are extremely small. I prefer to stay in the dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coreen930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#10 of 534 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Itaewon
G Itaewon Guest House
G Itaewon Guest House
#7 of 534 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Hongdae
Oasis Guesthouse Seoul
Oasis Guesthouse Seoul
#2 of 534 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chingu guesthouse
#8 of 534 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Lazy Fox Hostel
#9 of 534 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inside

Property: Backpackers Inside
Address: 2F, 5 Sungkyunkwanro 4gil | Jongnogu, Seoul 110-532, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 534 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Inside 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfortable stay and real Korean lifestyle when you stay at Backpackers INSIDE. We are located in the heart of Daehangno, a historical, cultural, and shopping center (Dongdaemun) of Jongro in Seoul. It is only a five minute walk from the bus stop and the subway station.Meet the other travelers from all over the world (we accept only foreign traveller), while sharing a cup of espresso in our fully-equipped kitchen or playing Wii in our cabin-like common room[Reception Policy]We accept only foreign traveller.(Bookings made by Koreans will be cancelled by us, I am sorry for that)If you don't send us your arrival time again to us individually, your booking will be cancelled without notice.Without our confirmation mail, your booking is not 100% confirmed. Check in: ~10pm(After midnight check in, your booking cancelled automatically except informed to our staff.)Check out : ~11amOur super friendly and attentive staff can provide you with information on the city of Seoul, tours and attractions, and other general information on the rest of Korea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Backpackers Inside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inside Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing