We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Seoul: Palace, Temple and Market Guided Foodie Tour at Night
152

Book in advance
from
$56.50
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Changgyeonggung Palace
from $56.50
More Info
from $18.47
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $1,021.67
More Info
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveler rating
375
296
80
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
375
296
80
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews joseon dynasty korean architecture king sejong century trees hanbok gate landscape beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 754 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2019

The palace was originally built by the 4th ruler of the Joseon Dynasty, King Sejong for his retiring father, King Taejong. It served as residential quarters for queens and concubines. The main building is Myeongjeongmun, the office of the king and it is the oldest of the Joseon Dynasty palaces. There are many palace buildings - royal family rooms, halls & pavilions spread over the compound. What I enjoyed most is the leisure walk towards the greenhouse and its nearby ponds. Tranquil indeed.

Besides the main entrance at the eastern side, there is another entrance next to the Changdeokgung Palace Huwon garden. Hence it is best to combine your visit with Changdeokgung Palace and Huwon garden.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank LG_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2019 via mobile

A real interesting complex consisting of several 'palaces' build in the 15th century. Good for a stroll of 1.5 hrs and to escape the buzz of the city. Very nicely maintained and the surrounding wall gives a feeling of being out of Seoul

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank ckk757
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 30, 2019

Nice place to go for a walk while admiring the beautiful ancient structures in the grounds. Depending on the time of your visit, there are pocket gardens that can be in full bloom.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank AzianMatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 25, 2019

I was not let down by this site. I generally came here for the serene gardens, walking paths, and old architecture. Along the way I learned about Korean royalty. A must see is the greenhouse here with VERY amazing bonsai.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank AmeriSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 17, 2019

Changgyeonggung is smaller compare to changdeokgung or Gyeongbokgung, but it has its own beauty. It is especially beautiful when it rains. If you are looking for peaceful place with less people, Changgyeonggung is the right place. Garden is so beautiful!!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank angigima
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews