We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cleanest budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun
Ranked #114 of 471 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“cleanest budget hotel”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

we stayed last dec 2012. second stay in a toyoko inn,as expected,room is tiny but very clean and well designed, everything you need is there. wifi was excellent. toilet is very compact, just slightly bigger than an airplane toilet. no extra pillows were given,even if i was willing to pay for it and i called reception 2x to ask for it. she did make the effort to look for extra pillows. no restaurant nearby, so if you're coming from the subway going back to the hotel, you won't see any food outlets. make sure to have dinner before going back to your room.

Room Tip: if you're claustrophobic, make sure to request for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2012YOUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    203
    58
    2
    4
See reviews for
51
48
152
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Location:
Strategic! Exit 3 or 4 at Dongdaemun History and Culture park and walk ard 5-10mins, you reach the hotel.
15-20 mins walk to Hello APM, Migliore, Doota Mall (all open till 4AM). This is awesome for us as we can do midnight shopping! No need worry abt subway that closed at 12AM.
Ard the area, got alot of cafe and Korean Traditional restaurant. You will never worry about hungry at night as you can see lotsa of it along the alley to Doota.
There is airport transfer bus that stop directly in front of the hotel. So you can take bus from airport or to there. Guess around 7000 won per person if not mistaken. This is good option if you do not want to take trains and change to subway while carrying heavy/big luggage.

Service: Friendly staff and still able to communicate with them in basic English, else body language always work :).
There is prepaid washing machine provided that cost around 2000 won for one time wash. Remember bring your own detergent!
As for breakfast, it's almost same every other day. If you bored with it, you can always go cafes for english bfast.

Room:
Small. We have expected this since this is not the first time we stayed in Toyoko Inn. All their hotel same design :). Do book in advance! We booked it 4 months ahead (if you are member, can book 6 mths ahead) as their rooms really fast all fully booked. We tried to book bigger room (Type A) but also no more.Regret didn't book on the first day when member's window is open.
Not to worry if you have the small room. You still can put your luggage under the bed. We have no issue with that as we used to it. :)
Both the room and bathroom are clean.

Value:
With the price given, I'm much satisfied with the room, service and location. You can't ask for more! And I definitely will continue stay in Toyoko Inn next round and share it out to my friends :)

Room Tip: Do expect the room size is small, k since it's budget hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgnesCPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The only negative thing i can say about this hotel is the small size of the room and the bathroom. Its very compact and you can only put your luggage under the bed. The positive? Its great value for money, very accessible to transport (Exit 4 of Dongdaemun History and Culture, Line 4) and last stop of the airport limousine bus, very accessible to shops (just turn right on the corner street) like Dongdaemun, Myeongdum, etc. Chunmuro station is walking distance if you want to visit folk village, Namsan Tower and also 3 stations away (line 3) from the palaces. I love this hotel. Whats more, the breakfast is included and the room is thorougly cleaned daily during my one week stay. Highly recommended. Take note its 2 hours away from the airport but its worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Easy location for central Nagano city, and bus or train station for outer area adventures. Small room and firm style western beds- but typically well organised space (we could fit all our luggage under the bed no problem). Great free breakfast (Japanese style) and ever helpful staff. Not the Hilton but definitely great value.
You do stand out if your not a business person but nobody seemed to care. We stayed 4 nights so can't complain!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

As we were going to korea for some reasons and we must stay in this toyoko inn, price was cheap & room was small ... but it was easy to get to the subway, and if u like shopping, (like me ^^) there are many many midnight shopping mall around!!

By the way, it was clean & tidy, the only problem is too small, even we can not open 2 luggage on the floor at the same time.

Breakfast..are on complimentary, but choices are limited!!

If u r going for a shopping but budget trip, try this one, it is fair, but nothing will be more than expectation, no early check-in, no late check out...

Room Tip: I'm not sure as our room type is picked by our agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very convinent. Excellent location, just a stone's throw to the subway. The hotel provides free breakfast and use of washing machine, microwave and computer.

The rooms are spotless clean. The English-speaking staff are polite but not too helpful.

Room Tip: The non-smoking rooms are actually rooms without window. They have exactly same size and layout as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happymanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

the price is the best part about this hotel. the rooms are adequate for the price, nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. it is also a few minutes walk from the shopping district, so if late night shopping is what you are out for, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tintinbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
ibis budget Ambassador Seoul Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
KY-Heritage Hotel Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Uljiro Co-op Residence
Uljiro Co-op Residence
#154 of 471 in Seoul
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Kingstown Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Dongdaemun I
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Just Stay Hotel
Just Stay Hotel
#315 of 471 in Seoul
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun

Property: Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun
Address: 337, Toegye-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04565, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing