We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun
Ranked #111 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I want to start off saying that I actually didn't stay there. But the airport staff advised us to take the limo bus to Toyoko Inn and then a taxi from there to the Grand Ambassador which is where we booked our room. If you are arriving at Gimpo airport, the airport bus stops right in front of this hotel. We went inside the hotel and asked for directions to the Grand Ambassador. They told us to take the taxi and after waiting for about a couple of minutes outside, a lady from the front desk actually came out and helped us get a taxi. She even talked to the driver to explain how to get to the Grand Ambassador. If they can treat someone who doesn't stay at their hotel so courteously, I can't imagine how much better their service can be to hotel guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 384 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is the second Tokyo Inn I've stayed in and both were very consistent in the services they provide. I stayed at the Tokyo Inn Shinjuku during my stay in Tokyo in late 2010. I had not known that this was a chain of hotels that were also in Korea. I needed a place to stay after dropping off a friend at Incheon Airport and decided to stay here after my great experience at the Shinjuku location. This hotel is in a great location right around the corner from Dongdaemun Night Market (literally minutes away) so you won't have to worry about staying out past midnight and having to take a taxi back to the hotel The airport bus is in front of the hotel so no need to walk a long distance. There is a very good Asian breakfast with rice, soup, and side dishes. The rooms are small but clean. The only issue I had was the check-in and check-out times. I believe check-in time is 4pm and check-out is at 10am. Not convenient if you are arriving early or want to sleep in a few extra hours. I will probably stay here again the next time I want to stay in Seoul on the weekend and buy a few things at the night market.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarmenSandiego30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed here on my own for two nights and had a very good experience! Clean and nice room, friendly and helpful staff.. Considering what you pay it's very good value!! Good location, close to the subway and a bus to the airport stoping right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sofiabeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in Toyoko Inn Dongdaemun for 2 nights in December 2011. We have stayed in Toyoko Inn in Tokyo before and really love it so when we knew that there's also Toyoko Inn in Seoul, we didn't think twice before booking it.
The location is very convenient as airport bus stops right in front of the hotel. It's the first stop so the bus will park there for quite some time and also at 10.00 a.m. which is check-out time so when you check-out, the bus will wait for you at the front door. Subway station (Dongdaemun Stadium) is just 2-3 minutes walking distance. It's also the same station as all those shopping complex, but to walk there I found it's more convenient to walk through underground path (but you have to get down at exit 1 (across the road, if I can remember correctly) instead of exit 3 which is the nearest to the hotel). Anyway, this side of street is quiter than living in those shopping area.
The room is exactly the same as in Tokyo and is very very clean which is the most thing I like about Toyoko Inn. Bed is very very comfy. Breakfast is good enough, boiled rice, egg soup and bread. The hotel staff are very nice and polite and their english is quite good. Will definitely stay there again if going to Soeul.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sweetheart19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is a great place to stay for a cheap price in Seoul. Sure the rooms are a little small by western standards but if you book a double room they are big enough. They are clean, with clean sheets, hot water in the shower, a kettle, and a safe in the room. What more could you want? Well, they also offer a free daily breakfast. It is not the best breakfast you will ever eat and it does get a little repetitive day after day but it is filling and is included in the price of the room.

And contrary to another reviewer, yes there is a convenience store nearby. Just go out the doors of the hotel, turn left and walk to the first light (basically exit #3 of the subway station) and across the road is a Family Mart. You are also within walking distance of the Dongdaemun shopping district with many stores and restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: One hint on finding the hotel though. Even though the hotel sits between exit #3 and exit #4 of the...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WhereIsJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

the location is convenient.(close to dongdaemun but without the noise at night)

the price is cheap(a 3-night stay cost less than 200USD - with membership card)

the room is a bit small but well-equipped(love their PJs...so comfy!! i regret not getting one home)

free breakfast (not exactly the best food you'll ever have but it'll do)

all in all, it's a must-stay budget hotel for those who are not feeling like spending big bucks

one down side-no convenience store near by. so if you are feeling like having a late-night snack, better get them prepared then head back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Echo_Shiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

good value for money, really clean and good breakfast, a lot of shopping arcade and place to visit near the hotel (the hotel is in the city)...
to go to the hotel we can get a limousine bus from the airport (both Incheon and Gimpo)
don't forget to make a member card for discount...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary_Evan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
ibis budget Ambassador Seoul Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Uljiro CO-OP Residence
Uljiro CO-OP Residence
#156 of 500 in Seoul
290 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Kingstown Dongdaemun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
KY-Heritage Hotel Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Just Stay Hotel
Just Stay Hotel
#315 of 500 in Seoul
43 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Dongdaemun I
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun

Address: 337, Toegye-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04565, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: $61 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Seoul Dongdaemun Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing