We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Group Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lotte City Hotel Mapo
Ranked #44 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ideal for Group Travel”
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I booked five rooms for a week's stay here in early June. The only weak point was that the hotel only seemed to have one luggage cart--and for a film crew with a lot of gear, that was a minor hassle. Otherwise, I could not have been more satisfied with this hotel and its location. The rooms are small by American standards, but large by Korean standards (having seen the apartments of locals, which are not much bigger). The rooms are well-designed and include high-tech toilets with massage, heat, and multiple water functions; a motion-detector lighting system that can be controlled from the bed and will come up to dim if you get up in the middle of the night; safes that fit a laptop and several hard drives; and a nice-sized working desk with wired internet (no wireless) and plugs for both 110 and 220 outlets. Hairdryers are provided, but not irons. To iron your clothes, you have to go to the 4th-floor laundry and use one of two irons provided there. You can also wash your clothes there for about $5/load (wash and dry) or use the hotel's more expensive laundry service. What's ideal about Lotte City is that while it is centrally located, it is not in the congested shopping district of Myeong-dong or the business district of Seoul Central. There is a circular driveway where you can unload your gear (not an option for many hotels) and a business center. (But be warned the computers are in Korean, so it's not easy to print out a document without help.) The hotel is also above a group of restaurants, shops, and cafes and has a bank with currency exchange and an ATM on the first floor. The hotel's restaurant buffet is very expensive, however, so save it for when you are tired of local food and want some variety. For breakfast, zip down to one of the many coffee shops below and save yourself a ton of money. You can also get around Seoul easily from the subway, which is connected to the hotel. Finally, you'll get the best rate if you book from Koreahotel.com and pay in advance. I did that and the reservations worked very well. Lotte City will also allow you to pay a half-day rate if you arrive at the crack of dawn and want to check in early, as we did. For a group of business travelers, this is a comfortable hotel with all the amenities you need, except for room service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    443
    71
    13
    7
See reviews for
200
200
131
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We were delighted with the quality of the room for the price that we paid when booking with Expedia. We stayed for 5 nights over a long weekend.
The compact room was extremely quiet and we got an excellent night's sleep. We liked the bathroom with its silly electric toilet (although it is annoying that it beeps when you sit on it) and rainbath shower.
Everything was very clean and we were very happy with the fast and free internet in the room and there are public computer terminals in the reception area. The manager was fantastically helpful when I needed help in being picked up by a taxi to take me to my husband's office.
You can catch line 5 from Gimpo airport directly to the basement of the hotel (Gongdeok station - find exit 2 and the hotel is clearly signposted). Line 6 also runs through the station and you can make MRT connections to places such as the palaces, Insadong and Museum of Korea.
We ate breakfast at the coffee house in the basement mall and also bought snacks in the supermarket there.
As long as you are comfortable travelling by MRT underground system I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Just an OK hotel. Room quite small, no iron or board (had to go to another floor for that). Bathroom small but nice.
Entrance lobby unimpressive and hotel does not provide a pick up service from airport. Had to catch a KAL coach which is no big deal.
My colleagues tell me that the coffee in the restaurant was undrinkable and they had to go downstairs to a cafe for a decent cup. They don't supply black tea in the rooms (only herbal and Chinese tea) and couldn't supply it even when asked. They do serve it in the restaurant but if you want some tea bags sent to your room you have to pay for it.
Breakfast was served until 9.30 but don't go later than 9 am or else you may find some things are short. First day no cereal, second day no bread third day no juice. All are replenished when you ask but it's annoying to have to ask.
Rate is resonable so can't complain too much but when you're on business you just want things to work as a 5 star hotel should.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boratri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Went there for a short holiday in March 2010. Decent location, only a few stops by the metro/subway from most major sites and one of the earlier stops on the buses from the airport, which is important as you don't want to spend too long on the bus waiting for others to get on/off. Didn't try any food there (not sure if they serve any actually !) as we either bought breakfast from the coffeeshop or the supermarket in the small basement (which had its own bakery). That was always good. The staff were very helpful and all spoke decent English. There is a travel agent in the hotel lobby who helped us book our DMZ tour. Internet is included and blazing fast (as you would expect in Seoul). Rooms clean, quiet, and modern, bed also reasonably comfortable. Excellent value overall especially with a package, and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YW-Slayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The hotel was an excellent place to get a good night's sleep and refresh while exploring Seoul. The building is nice and new and I found the amenities in the room to be more than adequate. The location is not as great as other Seoul hotels but the subway lines below the hotel make it relatively easy to reach the rest of the city. When the Incheon Airport train starts running all the way to Seoul Station via Gongdeok, I expect the room rates to increase, as this will generally solve the location issues. The free computers with internet in the lobby were a great feature.

The only main drawback (which is more of a caveat) is that the service is certainly the level of service commensurate with the price as opposed to that normally associated with hotels of this level of finish. I have no complaints about the service that I received - just don't expect to be rushed by porters the minute that you arrive. I almost appreciated the hands-off approach of the staff.

Overall, I thought the hotel was a great value for what you get and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naga28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Went to Seoul for a pleasure trip and did my normal research on Tripadvisor for places to stay. Went along with Lotte City Hotel due to the fact that it had all the stuff I like to have...space, newness, free internet, convenience, service...

I was not dissappointed, we're even thinking of going back in October for another stay - it can only be better now that we know our way around.

The supermarket in the basement was a big advantage, gave us freedom to eat what we wanted especially after being exhausted after a day of sightseeing. Try the big long strawberries, pricey but I will never be able to eat other strawberries again!

The airport limo buses just outside the hotel and the subway lines 5 and 6 make the hotel very convenient. The staff at the reception are all very amicable. The room (reserved the family room with a twin and a double bed even though there were only two of us cos I like having space) was spacious and the bathroom was big and clean.

The only problem I had was that the air conditioning was not working properly - was too hot, tried to set it at 20 but was reading 24-25. Tried to get it repaired but they said it was normal and in working order. Only on the last night (stayed 7 nights) did it actually kick in and it finally registered at 20 degrees. Would not have been able to tolerate it if it had been summer.

All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to Seoul. I definitely stay here again if I'm coming back.

Pros:
1/ From Incheon, we took the Airport Limousine Bus (9000 won/pax) and got off at the Gongdeok Station 50 mins later. The hotel is located on the across the road on the left. Super easy. Just make sure ring the bell in the bus right before your station is up (the PA system will announce your hotel name).
2/ Check-in was quick, the lobby is located on the 2nd Flr. Free WIFI on this floor.
3/ There's a Lotte Supermarket on B1, along with some bakeries, cafes, restaurants and a salon (both on B1 and B2 level). Everything you need can be found here.
4/ Subway station sits right below, Gongdeok station, line 5.
5/ Internet connections in room is provided, not WIFI though.
6/ Large bathroom, with rain shower :) Room is very clean and new.
7/ Vending machine for drinks & snacks, toilettries available on each floor. Ice and water dispenser at the same location.
8/ Many local restaurants nearby the hotel if you're the adventurous kind, in the direction of the local market across the hotel. Ask receptionist for directions will be the best. One of the BBQ restaurant opens 24hrs, we dined there on our last night. Delicious!
9/ ATM machines on the ground floor, accepts international cards.

Cons:
1/ Rooms are not too large but it is sufficient. Maybe its because we had a double room, we saw other twin rooms seemed to be a bit more spacious.
2/ Soft down pillows.

Overall, I love this hotel and its location. We didnt take the breakfast from the hotel as we're not big fan of buffet in the mornings. Coffee and sandwich works well, so we tried every cafe on B1 every morning.
Get the T-money card if you are staying longer, its convenient. Subway fares are 100won cheaper if you use the T-money card, you can use it in the buses, taxis, and convenient stores. Just reload when you run out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyinmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Shilla Stay Mapo
#91 of 472 in Seoul
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#3 of 472 in Seoul
371 reviews
Yeoido
Conrad Seoul
Conrad Seoul
#22 of 472 in Seoul
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte City Hotel Mapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte City Hotel Mapo

Property: Lotte City Hotel Mapo
Address: 109 Mapo-daero, Mapo-Gu, Seoul 04146, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotte City Hotel Mapo 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte City Hotel Seoul Mapo is a room-specific premium business hotel for both business customers and tourists at home and abroad. It has an advantage of using very convenient public transportations including an airport railroad and subway, and has an easy access to downtown Seoul and tourist attractions within the city. In particular, it is located with 10 minute``s drive by car away from the financing and business district Yeouido and the Seoul Station and very close to Seoul`s major universities like Yeonsei University, Seogang University, Ewha Woman's University and Hongik University. You can enjoy yourself with rest at leisure and successful business by virtue of our differentiated service and newest facilities as good as any five star hotels including business conference rooms, a fitness center and an indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Lotte City Hotel Mapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing