We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly Owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Choi's Guesthouse
Ranked #282 of 582 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Friendly Owner”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our winter stay in Korea had been awesome because of a comfortable place to stay (private room) and good people we had met while staying there. Check in was a breeze. It is a cozy place to rest after a biting cold day. Thanks for the wonderful accommodation Big Choi! We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I've stayed at Big Choi's three times now, and each time have been pleased with my experience there. The place feels homey and welcoming. Each time, my partner and I have reserved a private room (two single beds). It's sparsely furnished but very functional, with working A/C in the summer and a space heater in the winter. The shared washrooms are kept relatively clean and the kitchen is big and comfortable.

It's also in a great location; Hongdae! It's far enough from the action that nights are quiet, bit close enough that you can be in the thick of things after walking only 5 minutes or so. The nearest subway stop is Hongik University (about 7 minutes walking, or so) and there are convenience stores and restaurants nearby if you're not feeling the Hongdae crowds.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: The twin-bed private room is comfortable and far enough from the communal rooms that noise is genera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a wonderful and great night sleep, great communication with the staff in this hostel (previously known as Kimchi Hong) are very friendly. We arrived late at 11pm and the receptionist still brought us to grocery store and purchase our breakfast for the next day and showed us everything we could use in the hostel and where we should visit and must go places. Its an awesome Hoste!!

The only problem we had was, walking to the subway station from the hostel was slightly a distance away, especially with a broken knee aunt together. But overall, for the price paid it was really okay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meteorstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

It turned out to be very good hostel. It's located in "Hongdae" district very famous for night life and fun. Its location is good close to airport bus and subway. Thanks guys I will come back again ~^^

Room Tip: good place for getting lots of info and friends.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank vancouverlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

The location is about 10 mins walk from Hongik University subway and there are lots of convenient shop and restaurant so there's no need to worry about food. The staffs are very friendly, helpful and cool! I had a great time :)

Room Tip: very good for young traveler
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kakyung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Met a lot of great people there and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank f2grey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. Nice location, very near to convenience stores, coffee shops, and party places...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YzaKCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#12 of 497 in Seoul
3,298 reviews
Namsan
The Shilla Seoul
The Shilla Seoul
#16 of 497 in Seoul
1,557 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#21 of 497 in Seoul
621 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Choi's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Choi's Guesthouse

Property: Big Choi's Guesthouse
Address: 448-6 Seogyo-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul 130-863, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 582 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Big Choi's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimchi Hong Guesthouse Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing