We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price quality ratio is good”
Review of Hill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hill House Hotel
Ranked #134 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Price quality ratio is good”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I got impression that this hotel is just next to subway station. Distance is maybe somewhat few hundred meters uphill. Hotel itself is clean, good and nice service. Nearby many 24/7 small kiosks and restaurants. Subway in Seoul is handy, even though we had problems with baby trolley as this station does not have lifts from street level to platform, you need to carry couple of stairs (it is hard if baby is sleeping).

Room Tip: During winter those rooms without window are good choice as rooms are warm and there is good heating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    145
    58
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
111
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Short taxi from Seoul Station, and 5 minute walk from Hoehyeon and Myeong-dong Metro stations - hill was not a problem and the walk was safe day and night. 10 minute walk from Seoul Tower and the cable car in Namsang Mountain park. Friendly and helpful staff, and yes the breakfast girl serving the eggs was very nice. Room was fine, and who needs a shower curtain in such a large bathroom anyway? Not sure but I think there was radiant floor heating. Needed to consult the translations (provided) to understand the room electricals and remote controls, which was fun. Overally I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The price can be considered reasonable and it was indeed a pleasure staying there. Its only a walking distance from the Hoehyon station. Along the way to/fro the hotel, there were few small restaurants which to me its more like a 'family business'. The area can be quite quiet even at night but it's safe. Besides these, the Myeongdong shopping area was just a walking distance around 10-15 mins.

The hotel serves a continental breakfast e.g. toasted bread with jam, egg, orange juice, milk, coffee & tea. Though its simple, it makes you felt at home with the smiley staff serving you especially ! The amenities of the hotel was also basic, the toilet was big with bathtub but there wasnt any shower curtain thus the floor will always be wet after a bath and the linens were new . The only thing I do not like was the bed as its too hard for me. I do recommend you to stay for 1-2 nites only as you will get tired if you think of the way back up the hill whenever you comes back frm shopping !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel is walking distance form Hoehyon station (Line 4, Exit 2). Two major locations (Myeongdong shopping area and Namdaemun Market) are in 10-minute walking distance. Breakfast is served free (choice of eggs, toast, cereal, orange juice, milk) every morning from 7-10AM. The hotel takes a little bit of steep climb, but Seoul is generally hilly, so that won't be a problem after several hours of walking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We wanted a hotel near many of the tourist attractions - N Seoul Tower, Namdaemun, Myeondong, Nanta show, Gyeonbokgung Palace, etc. I found this hotel online and based on the reviews and price it seemed to be a great value. My family and I booked three rooms and stayed five nights. We enjoyed our stay very much! The hotel was clean, included a delicious free breakfast and the staff was extremely helpful!

My son and I shared a room with two twin beds. The rooms included toiletries, slippers, free wifi, two free bottles of water in the mini fridge daily, instant coffee and electric water kettle, and large flat screen TV. You can request the remote for the air conditioner/heater. The beds were very VERY firm. I'm not sure if it was because of the firm/hard beds, but I woke up one morning with a lot of neck and shoulder pain. The view from our window was blocked by wood. My parents' window had a view and wasn't blocked. There is no shower curtain, like the other hotels we stayed in, so the bathroom gets completely soaked after every shower.

There is a free breakfast of juice, coffee, milk, eggs, toast, and cereal served from 7-10 every morning. A lady with a funny sense of humor makes it for you. We really liked her! The breakfast tasted great and we really liked having an American breakfast every morning.

The location of this hotel is really ideal. It's just up a hill from a main road so it's a bit hard to find but our taxi driver seemed to have no problem. It's located very near two subway stations and lots of the touristy places. There are tons of restaurants, convenience stores and a pharmacy nearby too. We even found an Outback Steakhouse about a block away. The walk up the hill was no problem for us, but could be for some people. It's about a block up hill to walk from the main road.

The staff here were amazing. They seemed to all speak English and were extremely helpful.

Overall this hotel is a great value with a great location and great service!

Room Tip: Request the remote to control the room temp from the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittyhawk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

After visiting some friends in Dalian, China, I left for Seoul. I had spent a lot of time and money in China (fantastic vacation) and was looking for a cheap, last minute place to stay in Seoul for a week. On the day I arrived in Seoul, I booked one night at Hill House Hotel. I was able to take the airport train and then use the subway. Hill House ended up being a short two or three block walk up the hill from the subway station (great location). The staff was extremely nice and friendly and happy to answer my questions. The hotel is spartan but clean. If you are looking for luxury this is not the place for you. For me? This was absolutely perfect. A small hotel, around $55/night in a perfect location with lots of cool places to shop and eat at. The room had a small fridge, color TV with remote, etc. I would definitely go back: because of the bargain price, the friendly staff, the clean rooms and a great location just blocks away from the tower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashgurdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stay there for 4nights..we enjoy ourselves. .really..the important part is the room clean, big bathroom..no remote for aircon but e room so prefect for e whether. .we dont feel cold at all.simple nice breakfast.. we lost our way but manage to find within 15mins..good stay..

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayumi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Saerim Hotel
#148 of 472 in Seoul
86 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#91 of 472 in Seoul
230 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#106 of 472 in Seoul
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Benikea Noble Hotel
Benikea Noble Hotel
#139 of 472 in Seoul
140 reviews
Hotel Mido
#143 of 472 in Seoul
48 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Hotel

Property: Hill House Hotel
Address: 42, Sogong-ro 3-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04633, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing