We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hill House Hotel
Ranked #148 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here 3 days. It's in a fantastic location. The biggest downfall is the bed. It was VERY hard, but they were very accommodating and provided an extra pad. The staff is VERY friendly. It's a no frills hotel, but has everything you need. Free breakfast (eggs, toast, juice, coffee, cereal) really all you need to get your day started. We stayed in a superior double room and had ample space. Nice size bathroom. Heated floors. It's within 3-5 minutes walking of the markets and subway. Ideally located. It's a little difficult to find, and not a lot of taxi drivers are familiar with the location, but the front desk gives you a business card with driving directions on the back and you can just show that to the driver and it's no problem. This hotel is located in an alley, but don't be put off by that. This is a friendly, walking city, and you will have no trouble. I also suggest taking some of the tours from the brochures at the front desk. I can not wait to go back to Seoul, and I would stay here again. This is a travelers hotel. It's clean and has everything you need. Free wifi.

Room Tip: Superior double room is ample space. Nice size bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 308 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel and worth of cash. Rented a superior twin room, the room is very neat and nice. It's spacious too! Even the bathroom, it's really big. The service is also excellent. Wifi is free with no password. Truly an ideal stay in Seoul.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Azalina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The place very nearly to Myeong-dong and Namdaemun market, moreover naerly to Hoehyeon subway it's very convenient hotel have many convenience store around the hotel and peaceful also. So you can walk from hotel to Namsan Park in about 10 minutes. The staff is very nice and very assisting. I like Hill House and I will going back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Washi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location in Seoul. Walking distance to almost everywhere within central Seoul (Myeongdong, Namdaemun Market, Gwanghwamun palace, Bukchon villages, Cheonggyecheon stream to name a few). Although it is a short walk from the nearest subway stop, it is up a steep hill (hence the hotel’s name), so it may be challenging with lots of luggage. The breakfast process is efficient (eggs, cereal, toast) and sufficient to get your day started. For a more local flavor, try to find some of the street stalls near the hotel selling some gimbap – they are a good breakfast food. The hotel only has one small elevator, and it is quite small, so sometimes it is better to take the stairs.

The rooms itself are in good shape with hard flooring instead of carpeting so it is cleaner. The shower/tub has no curtains so be careful not to get a bathroom floor too wet when you take a shower. There is no safe in the room, so you’ll have to use the safety deposit boxes at the front desk. For the price paid (generally lower price than the chain hotels nearby), I am very satisfied with my stay. Please don't expect luxury features or furniture in the room.

I took some points off sleep quality because the walls and doors are fairly thin, so you can hear people walking and talking in the hallway in the evening. However, if you are tired from the sightseeing during the day, it shouldn't be too much of an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canuck2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel was a bit difficult to locate at first as the entrance was hidden in a small street amongst many small streets. Location was ok ... just 15 mins walk from Myeongdong. However, I didn't enjoy that I needed to walk up a steep hill, and then climb a flight of stairs to get to the hotel. It was a bit tiring, especially for my mother who is in her 50s. The hotel is just next to Namsan Tower. Reasonably comfortable, the floor was heated up so it was really good for winter time. The room was a bit dark though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeslynnAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Thank you to all the Trip Advisor's reviews that led us to the Hill House. We paid only $68 (with taxes) $73 on the weekend, and got a quite spacious room with one double bed and one twin bed (called a deluxe twin). For the price, it is much larger than the Toyoko Inn (though I love that hotel). It is clean; has a small fridge; a water heater; 3 bottles of water, daily; a breakfast of eggs, toast and cabbage; a jacuzzi tub (though ours was not working); free parking; really helpful front desk staff; and free wifi. We were on the second floor and so we had wifi in the room. I think the guests in the rooms above us, might have had to go to the lobby to use the wifi.

The hotel is hidden and difficult to find, but we had our taxi driver call the hotel for directions and he found it quickly.

Traveling around the city from Hill House is very very easy. The Hoehyeon metro station (Line 4, Exit 1) is about 5 to 7 minutes away. Namdaemun is right across the metro station and Myeondong is to the right. From this station, getting to Itaewon, Dongdaemun, Insadong, Norajying fish market and Yongsan Electronics market is just a short hop from line to line. You can walk to the base of Namsan Mountain to take the cable car up to see Seoul Tower.

There are many restaurants withing 2 minutes of the hotel and about 3 convenience stores.
If you need to change money, Woori Bank is right near the metro station.

If I have to point out "downers": the closet is very, very small, the bed is hard and some of the furniture is old and worn. For the less hardy, the walk up the hill may be a bit tiring. But for us the downers did not outweigh the positives which makes this hotel a great value for the money.

Room Tip: The deluxe twin is very spacious and does not cost too much more than the regular twin. The double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bebehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed 2 nights for vacation and it was a right choice in terms of value for money. Location can be good if you do not mind to walk along narrow streets with vehicles passing by and 10 minutes walk to hot locations for shopping. Information not updated as the only elevator was no more in service that means to have to lift your luggage upstairs. Room has just be renovated but much smaller than it looked from photos. Breakfast was simple but good particularly the only old lady in charge is good in English. Reception staff also can speak little English but not too helpful. A fat guy just gave me a luggage belt to tie up all the luggages on my own when I asked for left luggage. This is a simply service that hotel should cater for instead of leaving the customer for self service. Otherwise it cannot named as a hotel while there are many other terms. Nevertheless, price is still attractive.

Room Tip: Choose the suites if you don't mind to pay some more. Other rooms are just too small and not att...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rondymak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#97 of 505 in Seoul
238 reviews
Hotel Mido
#143 of 505 in Seoul
52 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#115 of 505 in Seoul
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Staz Hotel Myeongdong II
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Benikea Noble Hotel
Benikea Noble Hotel
#142 of 505 in Seoul
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Hotel

Address: 42, Sogong-ro 3-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04633, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 505 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: $46 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing