We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but not secure”
Review of Hill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hill House Hotel
Ranked #130 of 475 Hotels in Seoul
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean but not secure”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is very near the myeon dong, Dongdaemen, however the up & down slope really kills.. You need to walk almost 10-15mins to reach the hotel. The hotel provide 2 free internet station for guest to use. Along the way to the hotel, there are stretch of small eating house selling local foods. Some of the shop owners can speak mandarin otherwise the menu will have pictures for you to point for. The hotel lightning had some problems & the sound prove is bad. You can hear the door closed or open & even the guests talking. The breakfast set contains one sunny egg, 2 slice of bread & cup of either coffee or orange juice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    145
    57
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
111
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
tampa fl
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Best location, a short walk to outdoor markets and underground markets. The staff is vary friendly and helpfully. The breakfast buffet is good. It is a very quaint hotel. There a a few stores close by to buy essentials , like water etc...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank middleseatTampaFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

A nice, quaint hotel around the area of Myeongdong. I understand how some travellers would have difficulty finding the hotel. It is nestled in one of the corners of the road after a little uphill climb. Our pocket wi-fi which we rented at the airport came in handy.

When we reached the hotel, the people at the reception were very accommodating and allowed us to leave our luggages while waiting for our check-in time. When we finally get to check in, we were utterly surprised how big the rooms were compared to some of the more expensive hotels there in Myeongdong. The room accommodation came with breakfast as well which included toasts, eggs, butter, jam, salad, coffee and fresh juice. The lady serving breakfast was very strict in making sure that we finish what we order and in putting away our trays after eating. It was actually quite amusing to watch! She was also nice and chatted with us and gave us sound advices.

The hotel is surrounded with small restaurants, coffeeshop, grocery and convenient stores. There is also a nearby subway.

We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Korea. :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrothead_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hill House is incredibly quaint with its modern features. It's a little hard to find, but it's worth it. It was super comfy and roomy too. There was a free breakfast of eggs, toast, salad, coffee, ok, milk. I totally would stay here again. This place is good for English speakers too. I'd stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kwozniak88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here a year ago for two weeks with my friend and we just loved it. Staff was super nice and helpful and spoke very good english. Breakfast was nothing 'special' (breag, egg, jam, butter, coffee, juice...) but it was good and the lady making it was so nice as well :)
Rooms were big and cleaned every day, the bed was a little hard but we still slept just fine.
The location was a little tricky at first, we walked there from the Hoehyeon station and walking up the hill, carrying our luggage wasn't as easy as we had thought :D but once you found it it was very easy to find again.
We have nothing bad to say about this hotel, loved it to death and would definetily stay here again given the chance!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suhmurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
586 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a relatively modest but pleasant hotel, located in a very lively part of town, close by Namsan park. It is within walking distance of a metro station and not that far from Seoul Station. The hotel offers free wifi and a simple but sufficient breakfast. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Insadong
Saerim Hotel
Saerim Hotel
#149 of 475 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Benikea Noble Hotel
Benikea Noble Hotel
#138 of 475 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#95 of 475 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#89 of 475 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Hotel Mido
#143 of 475 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Doulos Hotel
Doulos Hotel
#93 of 475 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Hotel

Property: Hill House Hotel
Address: 42, Sogong-ro 3-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04633, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 475 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing