We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent and interestingly located”
Review of Hill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hill House Hotel
Ranked #135 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Paris
Level Contributor
602 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Very decent and interestingly located”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a relatively modest but pleasant hotel, located in a very lively part of town, close by Namsan park. It is within walking distance of a metro station and not that far from Seoul Station. The hotel offers free wifi and a simple but sufficient breakfast. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    145
    58
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
111
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed last year and although it was hard to find once we found it, we were really happy with the location. We stayed a few nights then left for a few nights and came back for one night before flying home.
Our room was always cleaned, and a reasonable size, we were actually happy with the size of the room until we came back and were put in a different room which was easily 50% bigger then we were a little disappointed and wondered why we wouldn't have gotten a bigger room when we stayed for 5 or 6 nights.
Breakfast is fine.
The staff incredibly helpful and always cheerful.
This place is less than 5 minutes from a subway and not that much longer from anywhere else you need to go, a 7/11 round the corner and a view of the N Seoul tower.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teagzy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel is just a short distance away from Hoehyeon station, and where the airport busses stops in Myeongdong. The rooms are big and comfortable, and are great for staying in. The staff were great and very helpfull. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Line A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Location was good, near the subway station and walking distance from many attractions (Namsan tower, Namdaemun market, Myendong). There are several korean restaurants along the way from Hoehyeon subway station to the hotel so finding food is easy. The hotel staff was also extremely friendly and generally spoke good english.

The room was clean and a good size but maybe a bit dated. In the future e.g. the wallpapers could be updated. Also the AC was very loud. However these are minor issues which is why we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Seoul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed from the 27th of April to the 1st of May and the hotel was great.

Location
From Heohyeon station, take exit 1 and walk till you have Woori Bank HQ on your right, go up that street and walk all the way up, you will pass a few BBQ shops on your right, a Japanese restaurant on your left, a GS25 convenience store and you will need to take a left and walk about 10m and you will reach the hotel. It's quite a hike up and we were often breathless at the lobby, but it was good. The area itself is great, the BBQ shops down the road are good and the Japanese restaurant was good for late night meals as it opened till 2am. The street had a few dodgy hotels offering sex and massages, but it didn't feel unsafe even at midnight. There's a little mini mart that opens till late too and is great for last minute Korean souvenirs (ie: chocolates/biscuits). It's great location because it is located in between Namdaemun market (from Woori bank, cross the road to Shinsegae and Namdaemun is on your left) and just next to the bustling ultra hip Myeongdong area (from Woori bank, cross the road and to your right is Myeongdong). So perfect for shopaholics and tourists :)

The hotel itself
We arrived pretty early, at about 11am but could not check in yet. We were however allowed to leave our bags at the lobby to check in at 3pm. The staff at the front desk were all very helpful and friendly and the lady especially could speak very good English (sorry I didn't get her name) and another guy too, a slightly bigger sized guy. They gave us a map that was very useful (more useful than the one I bought locally). The rooms were pretty good! Adequately sized, double glazed windows, huge TV, huge bathroom. A few qualms though, the shower went from blistering hot to freezing cold from time to time but amenities were refilled daily and the room was cleaned daily upon request. It got quite hot at times but we left the window open throughout the stay. Also, they could only issue one key so having two guests with a key each was not an option. And one scary thing! Our room key could open another room's door (they must look into this!). Other than that, the room itself was perfect. The beds were firm but comfortable and the TV had many channels (mostly Korean, some English), a funny sterilizer which we thought was a microwave and a fridge. Breakfast was fried eggs and toast by a very nice lady, got kind of boring after awhile though. Take all you want, juice and milk and coffee too!

Summary
Great place, great location and easy access to all the great areas (Namdeamun, Myeongdong, taxis aplenty). Good food along the road up, recommended is the Japanese restaurant (very friendly guy!) and the BBQ shops (very Korean feel). Money changers etc all nearby. I'd definitely return for the benefit of the location :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulJujubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Hill House Hotel lies between Namdaemun market and Namsan park quite central. You'll have to pull your luggage through some narrow old-fashioned Korean streets. A bit up the hill it lies in a quiet location. But still the next metro stop, small grocery stores and even smaller restaurants can be reached conveniently.

The hotel itself looks like it was build as a business hotel in the 80s before tourism to Korea stared to grow. With it's interior from the same time it looks quite old now. But when looking at the details, you still have the feeling that somebody put a lot of effort into planning this place.

The staff was very helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast is fried eggs, toast and jam. That will be boring after two days and you might go for breakfast somewhere else (when you smell the eggs already in your room).

The bed was (really) hard but I got used to it. Wifi is free and works.

If you book early, you might get a good value for the money. I booked late and could probably have gotten a more modern place for the same price. I found paying upfront also a bit strange, but probably most visitors today are backpackers instead of business people, so they want to make sure, they actually get their money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

For the money this hotel was great. The room was large, as was the bathroom and it was clean and quiet (even though just next to the reception). The staff were extremely helpful too, providing us with maps and booking a taxi to the airport for us. Breakfast was included (eggs and toast). Just down the hill are a few shops if you need basic supplies. It can be difficult to find, but do ask some locals and look out for the signs on the street directing one to "Hill House Hotel" - the signs are above the local shops on the hill and are black with white writing. Hill House hotel was great value for money and walking distance from the large market and shops. Also, it is reasonably close to an underground station, which was useful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pidge335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Saerim Hotel
#150 of 472 in Seoul
86 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#89 of 472 in Seoul
230 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#104 of 472 in Seoul
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Benikea Noble Hotel
Benikea Noble Hotel
#140 of 472 in Seoul
141 reviews
Hotel Mido
#141 of 472 in Seoul
48 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Hotel

Property: Hill House Hotel
Address: 42, Sogong-ro 3-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04633, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing