We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little hotel at a good location”
Review of Hill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill House Hotel
Ranked #139 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice little hotel at a good location”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

take the rail from Incheon Airport to Seoul station, take subway line 4, one stop to Hoehyen station, exit 1, walk 6 minutes and you are at the hotel.
Go to google map, seoul korea, zoom in to Hoehyen station exit 1, recognize the area, now zoom out and zoom back in the hotel, (show as a icon of a bed ), follow the settlelite map, by zooming in and out from both end, using the settlelite map, you will find the way from Hoehyen station to the hotel with no problem.

Room Tip: the cheapest room are in the basement with no window, the deluxe rooms are on the upper floor with w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    146
    58
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
112
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After an expensive cab ride from the airport to Hill House Hotel, we were glad we caught the cab and did not attempt the bus. It was 11pm and we were tired and it was a bit of a challenge even for the driver to find the hotel. We were met very kindly by reception staff and checked into our cozy warm little room with no problems or issues. We were happy with the accomodations and were very happy we chose the room with the heated floor! A very good night sleep and breakfast downstairs with Rose. She was great, very friendly, cooked your eggs just how you order them (and remembered day to day your order!!) Breakfast was a nice time to visit with other travellers or chat with Rose :) We were able to walk to find our way around and if we ever got "misplaced" we just caught a cab back to hotel, cabs were very inexpensive in Seoul. We were very happy with our stay at Hill House and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dugchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Santos, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I know many of us make an issue about it's location. The hotel is a bit hard to locate if you do not have the map. One option to do when you arrive in Incheon Intl Airport is to take the AREX to Seoul Station and take a taxi to Hill House Hotel. Just make sure that you have a map so that the driver won't be lost with his GPS. Another option is to take AREX to Seoul Station and transfer to Hoehyeon Station. Again, Taking there is a bit hard but over all the location is in the heart of Seoul. Everything is accessible by walking, near malls, near stations, near restaurants and near markets. Very near to Namsan Tower. Friendly Staff in this hotel and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diagann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I mostly agree with the other reviews, I got perhaps a good deal at $74 USD a night. The hotel is nice, staff friendly, breakfast of fried (in a lot of oil) eggs and toast is okay for one day but boring after a few. The odd things: there where holes in the wallpaper which were covered up by cut out roses; no shower curtain in the shower; no way to adjust the heat; lots of outside wall space, but just one small window and only half of that is not frosted. Still, I'd go back at the price I paid.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank laetulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Decent hotel in Seoul, a 5 minute walk to the Hoehyeon Metro station, down a not-too-steep hill. The Hoehyeon station is one stop from the Seoul Station interchange, where you can catch Korea Rail (KTX) and transfer to the rest of Seoul's extensive metro system. The nice thing about the location of the hotel is the vast array of mom-n-pop eating establishments right outside the door, a dozen or more on the short walk to the metro. Great food!! The hotel offers breakfast, but with the great offerings outside, I don't know why you would eat at the hotel. You're in Asia, sample the local cuisine I say. Good, helpful, informative, patient English-speaking staff, and when the snows came, they were very proactive in keeping the lobby dry and safe. Fairly clean rooms, large bathrooms are a plus. Great free wi-fi, and a free computer terminal in the lobby for those without mobile laptops. Good value, would stay here again and recommend to tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel, better views than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingHoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I don´t quite understand why this hotel gets a 4 out of 5 ranking. The location is so so, in a back alley which is hard to find for taxi drivers. It looks a bit funky, with all the lights and mirrors everywhere (it could have a different purpose than serve tourists). The breakfast is free (fried eggs on toast) but you smell the scent of fried eggs throughout the whole building when you step outside your room. The hallways are freezing in winter. Staff is friendly though and speaks good English. And the free wifi is also a plus. Still I wouldnt stay here again. The room we booked (deluxe) looked a lot better in the pictures than what we actually got. The matrasses are very hard. Oh, and the rain shower they promote didnt work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruimel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Upon check-in, we were a little disappointed with the room based on the glowing reviews. After staying here for 7 nights, we were okay with the room considering we had only paid about $98 (US) per night.

Pros: Friendly and helpful staff who speak English well. The room was clean and the sheets were changed daily. The neighborhood seems safe and the hotel is decent walking distance from shopping at Namdaenum/Myeongdong and the train station at Hoehyeon. There were two free bottles of water in the refrigerator each day. There are some complimentary toiletries if you need them.

Cons: Upon check-in, the bathroom sink drain was leaking all over the floor until I re-attached the drain pipe in the back after being told by the front desk that we would have to wait until the next day and couldn't switch rooms. The bed was way too hard for a good nights sleep. It felt like sleeping on a piece of padded wood. The room was way too hot. We had to leave the windows open all night which is not so great considering all the noise going on outside all night and early morning. Also, we had a non-smoking room but could constantly smell cigarette smoke coming from adjoining rooms. There is no safe in the room, so I carried around my valuables for the the entire trip which wasn't so bad since Seoul seemed safer than most US cities.

(Tip: there is a decent food court on the 11th floor of the Shinsegae Dept. Store for about $10 per person. Also, level B1 of Shinsegae has groceries and many good to-go food items that are delicious.)

Room Tip: Upgrade the room. Most of the bathrooms in the traveler photos look nicer than the bathroom that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tylr d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hotel Mido
#143 of 493 in Seoul
49 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#111 of 493 in Seoul
355 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#94 of 493 in Seoul
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
N Fourseason Seoul
#159 of 493 in Seoul
181 reviews
Insadong
Saerim Hotel
Saerim Hotel
#153 of 493 in Seoul
88 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Staz Hotel Myeongdong II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Hotel

Property: Hill House Hotel
Address: 42, Sogong-ro 3-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04633, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing