We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hill House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$273
JW Marriott
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$302
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
$97
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$217
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$147
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
80
149
60
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
149
60
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoehyeon stationnamdaemun marketseoul towerbasement roomsimple breakfastkorean wordsmini martten minute walkdeoksugung palacewalking distancenice roomshopping districtcity halltaxiluggageshampoobathtub
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 309 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is lovely, clean, very comfortable, quiet and spacious. Staff are friendly, especially the breakfast lady, and speaks great english, very helpful!
Breakfast is the typical korean style egg-toast-jam combo.
The location is great, right at the foot of Namsan with the Soul N Tower, 5 minutes away from the cable car entrance. Also 5 mintes away from the subway which will take you anywhere else you need to go. Namdaemun Market is across the road and a great place to eat and shop. Maybe good to konw, the Woori bank has a big branch located right in the area as well which is convenient to avoid high exchange rates at the airport.
I read that the place is a wee bit hard to find so I reccomend to check it out on goole streetview, I had no problems finding it.
All in all I can really reccomend this hotel and would choose it again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DottyBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

First the hotel is not easy to find and taxi driver is not willing to drive you to the hotel. I booked the air+hotel package from airline and it indicates the room is Standard B. When I arrived the hotel, I was told Standard B means the room is in basement and without window. I willing to pay more to upgarde but it is full. I think no one will aware Standard B means the room in basement without window. I saw dead insect inside the bathroom. Later, I moved to another hotel and find that it only cost me a little more, the room is bigger, location is better and good facilities. The one good thing I found in this hotel is they provide breakfast and it is acceptable.

Room Tip: Avoid Standard B room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GodfreyHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Good news and bad news:
First the good news -- the hotel delivers what it promises: 3.5 stars, spotlessly clean, spacious room (we paid for a suite), reasonable price (got it through hotels.com), superb location, friendly, courteous staff, free safe for valuables, room includes fridge, hair dryer, free wi-fi (but no password so not the most secure), king bed (but I think it is a queen by N. American standards - very comfortable but I like the mattresses firm), spacious and comfortable bathroom with separated areas for a rain shower and the jacuzzi tub and toilet, maids clean the rooms quickly and efficiently, no problem with getting extra towels or toiletries, daily breakfast included, big screen HD tv with cable, very effective air conditioning. Coffee and kettle provided in the room. The location superb - shopping areas have got to be one of the best in this huge city from giant flea markets (indoor and outdoor) to high-end shopping and everything in between - all within easy walking distance (10 minutes).

Now the bad news: no closet space at all, no chest of drawers - so be prepared to live out of an open suitcase. Plenty of room on ledges to lay out t-shirts etc. The 6 minute walk up the hill can get a bit tiring at the end of the day. The dining room only opens at 8 am. You cannot get a cup of coffee to bring up to the room before 7:50 am. The instant coffee provided in the room is that sweet cappucino stuff - if you like it strong and black, you'll hate this coffee. The breakfast is fine for the first day but be prepared for a 'ground hog day' experience if you want to take advantage of the included breakfast on a daily basis -- it is fried eggs (fried in oil), white toast, and white cabbage. That's it. Do not expect anything beyond what they promise - eg. I asked the front desk for some cleaning solution (bleach if they could give it to me). Their English is very limited but even after they did understand they said that they didn't have any. That simply is impossible - what do they do if they have a stain to clean? But they are always very respectful and friendly, so you don't get too frustrated. No pool and very small lobby lounge area. No bar and no way of getting drinks served. TV has extremely limited English languange channels - I ended up watching CNN only. No music or clock in the room.

Overall -- I recommend this hotel and would stay here again without thinking about it.

Room Tip: Go through hotels.com and ask for a suite. AC is efficient and quiet. Rooms are well insulated from outside noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

stayed at hill house for 5 nights when visited Seoul. the hotel was not too difficult to find,except the walk uphill was quite tiring at times, especially after a whole day of walking.

to get to the hotel , take bus 6015 and alight at namdaemun stop, cross the road at the pedestrian crossing and walk in the 10 o clock direction uphill. hotel Rex shd be on your left, keep walking uphill for about 8 mins and you shd see hill house hotel signboard.

hotel staff were very friendly and spoke good English.rooms were spacious with ample walking space.

one thing was that the power to the room resetted itself a few times and in the middle of the night, the aircon switched off by itself.

overall, it was worth the price paid if you do not mind the walk uphill to the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hutthutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at Hill House Hotel on July 6th for 1 night only on a return trip from Europe. Armed with directions from a previous reviewer we were confident that we could find the "mystery" hotel. Caught the 6015 bus from the Airport and the driver couldn't have been more helpful even offering to ring the hotel for directions. We were fortunate that 2 girls on the bus were alighting at out stop and pointed us to the Hoehyeon Subway. The information we had said to use exit 2 but maybe Exit 1 is easier and look for Hotel Rex as a guide. With Rex on your left just walk up the hill until you see a brown sign on a post saying Hill House 60m. We found the room to be large and very clean with a large bathroom with shower over the bath which was not a problem even though there was no screen. The bed was a little hard for us but still acceptable. The staff are more than helpful lending us an umbrella as it rained the whole time that we stayed. Breakfast was more than adequate as the cook will keep the food coming as long as you ask. Suggest you check out the Express train to the airport as it was 8000 KW down from 13300KW compared to the 10000KW on the airport bus. Only a short walk to the subway for a 1 station ride to Seoul and we appreciated that we did not get wet as would have happened if we had caught the bus. Give it a try

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wombatwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews