We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House Hotel
Ranked #127 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worth the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

stayed at hill house for 5 nights when visited Seoul. the hotel was not too difficult to find,except the walk uphill was quite tiring at times, especially after a whole day of walking.

to get to the hotel , take bus 6015 and alight at namdaemun stop, cross the road at the pedestrian crossing and walk in the 10 o clock direction uphill. hotel Rex shd be on your left, keep walking uphill for about 8 mins and you shd see hill house hotel signboard.

hotel staff were very friendly and spoke good English.rooms were spacious with ample walking space.

one thing was that the power to the room resetted itself a few times and in the middle of the night, the aircon switched off by itself.

overall, it was worth the price paid if you do not mind the walk uphill to the hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hutthutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    144
    57
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
110
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at Hill House Hotel on July 6th for 1 night only on a return trip from Europe. Armed with directions from a previous reviewer we were confident that we could find the "mystery" hotel. Caught the 6015 bus from the Airport and the driver couldn't have been more helpful even offering to ring the hotel for directions. We were fortunate that 2 girls on the bus were alighting at out stop and pointed us to the Hoehyeon Subway. The information we had said to use exit 2 but maybe Exit 1 is easier and look for Hotel Rex as a guide. With Rex on your left just walk up the hill until you see a brown sign on a post saying Hill House 60m. We found the room to be large and very clean with a large bathroom with shower over the bath which was not a problem even though there was no screen. The bed was a little hard for us but still acceptable. The staff are more than helpful lending us an umbrella as it rained the whole time that we stayed. Breakfast was more than adequate as the cook will keep the food coming as long as you ask. Suggest you check out the Express train to the airport as it was 8000 KW down from 13300KW compared to the 10000KW on the airport bus. Only a short walk to the subway for a 1 station ride to Seoul and we appreciated that we did not get wet as would have happened if we had caught the bus. Give it a try

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wombatwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed at Hill House for 12 days while on holiday in South Korea and found the hotel very nice. It was clean, the room was a good size for one person with a nice bathroom, a television with heaps of free channels (some in English too) and a good bed. The breakfast was eggs on white toast every day, but good nonetheless. The staff was very friendly and helpful, some spoke better English than others. No problem lending me an umbrella every day it rained and helpful with maps and places to see.

Only "bad" thing was no wifi in the room, only in reception, but that was ok, met some cool people in the reception couch area while surfing :-)

Location was perfect, close to centre, very close to Seoul Tower which means you can find the general direction of the hotel at any time as you can see the Tower from miles and miles away. Saved me the last night there! Also 5 min walk from metro station so you can basically Get anywhere fast.

Bring one of the business cards from the hotel with you so you can show the taxi if you have to take one, they speak little or no English, but can usually find it from the direction/address on the cards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bakoyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights from 6/10/12-6/14/12. Had twin beds. Room Size was ok. The beds are extremely hard. The air conditioner was great. Room would get nice and cold. Breakfast was fine. Eggs, toast, juice, coffee. They had a cook that made the eggs on a griddle. you could have several helpings if you asked her. The omelette covered half of a large plate. The hotel is up a hill, but it is not that bad.The closest subway station is Hoehyeon which is 5 minutes away. I believe you take exit 4.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kg0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

During several trips to Seoul, staying in a few different places, Hill House Hotel is by far the best experience. Location is perfect for using the subway system, Myeondeok shopping area, Namdaemun markets & you can walk to N-Seoul tower. Only negative is a short walk up the hillfrom the subway stop, so not ideal for elderly, frail, or just plain lazy people.
The staff have excellent English & are very friendly and helpful. Have international adaptors, will check things on the net for you in Korean and translate into an English note.
No laundry service, but there is a place 1 min walk up the road where the hotel staff will point you to.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you get the hotel's number and call directly for a reservation the rooms are SIGNIFICANTLY ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I found that existing online reviews about Hill House are accurate. Check them out!

1. Getting there will be difficult the first time. We followed someone's advice and took Bus 6105 from Incheon to Seoul Station, then a cab to Hill House. There are plenty of cabs, but finding one that knows where it is pretty hard. The old man drivers couldn't read the address from my iPhone, so the only way was to call the hotel and ask them to give directions. If you are not traveling light, this is the best way because the Namdaemun stop of Bus 6105 is two blocks from the Hoehyon subway station, and it's a few more uphill blocks from there to Hill House. Dragging suitcase uphill = unpleasant. But taking the airport bus 6105 back to Incheon from Hill House is fine because it’s downhill.

2. Someone put up the "Family Mart" route guide to Hill House in one of the sites. That's the shortest way to the hotel, so take it. Essentially, you use the three Family Mart branches in the area to find the street where Hill House is. Every time you see a Family Mart, keep right. Last fork, go left. Always look out for Hill House signs. It also helps to use the surrounding high-ish rise buildings (Lotte Castle and Hotel Rex) as guides. Watch out for the brown Hill House Hotel signs on the sides of certain buildings.

3. Someone commented that Hill House used to be a motel. Based on the decor, location and proximity to other motels. I think that might be true. So the decor is uninspiring and the lighting is kind of funny, but Hill House has been redeemed, I think. I didn't see any guests who looked like they were there on (monkey) business.

4. Breakfast is simple -- two pieces of toasted bread with a packet of butter and a packet of jam, an egg, juice, milk, coffee or tea. One of the cooks is a Filipino, the other looked Korean to me. The warnings about putting your used utensils on the trolley before you go are right -- if you don"t, you'll get flagged by the cook.

5. Check in is late at 3 and check out is early at 11, but you can leave your bag there if you get in early or want to leave late. By there, I mean an open area in front of reception. Kinda scary given that there are no walls (my poor laptop) but that system seemed to have worked because my bags were not stolen.

6. It’s really convenient to tour Seoul from there. N Tower cable cars, Myeongdong and Namdaemun are all within walking distance. There are lots of places to eat and shop.

7. Amenities – flat screen TV, small refrigerator, and air conditioner. Free fast wi-fi! No need to bring soap, shampoo, dental kit and towels – all there, plus some other toiletries. The reviews about the firm bed are true, but I was not uncomfortable at all and had a great sleep each night.

There are plenty of choices for accommodation in Seoul, some even cheaper, other so much prettier. But this is a tried and tested place and it didn’t disappoint, so it deserves some return business.

Room Tip: If you stay here, it"s probably not because you want some fancy room. Anywhere should be okay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel was your basic very clean budget hotel. The beds were hard as the floors. The staff more than made up for the rather firm sleeping conditions. They were very nice. They made phone calls for us, booked reservations, and wrote directions in Korean for us to give to the cab drivers. They also gave us a map with circles around all the attractions we asked about.
The breakfast was basic but it was enough to get started. And it kept you full until lunch. The woman cooking would make your eggs and toast, as many as you requested and call you when it was completed. You MUST put your own dishes away on the cart by the door.
It is located up a hill but it is easy to get to. Read some of the previous threads. They have excellent directions. And once you check in you'll be amazed that you were worried about finding your way around.
The area is somewhat upscale. The Shinsegae mall houses as many designers as you can name. The Namdaemun market is extensive and can be rather exhaustive. There are other markets in the city that you can visit. Some of them seem to be an endless supply of knockoffs but if that is your thing, you'll be in heaven.
I highly recommend that you take the hop on hop off downtown Seoul tour. I took the Seoul City tour downtown tour. It was 10,000 won and made about 26 stops along its course. Start early and hop off on as many sights as you can stomach. I recommend all of them. My favorites were the palaces and the Seoul Tower. Also take some history tours. The DMZ tour is a must for anyone visiting Korea.

Room Tip: The neighborhood is very quiet. The hotel guests are also very considerate so nothing to worry abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_am_Lost_on_purpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Insadong
Saerim Hotel
Saerim Hotel
#139 of 474 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Benikea Noble Hotel
Benikea Noble Hotel
#138 of 474 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#97 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
HOTEL GS
HOTEL GS
#79 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Hotel Mido
#145 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Doulos Hotel
Doulos Hotel
#85 of 474 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Hotel

Property: Hill House Hotel
Address: 42, Sogong-ro 3-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-873, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing