We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches in Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benikea Hotel Acacia
Ranked #298 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cockroaches in Room”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have reserved a premiere double room (ie one queen size bed) for 6 nights. But when I checked in with your hotel, the hotel's staff told me that there was no double room available for me. The Hotel's staff could only offer me a twin bed room and no other option was available and hence I had to accept it because it was about 11:30 pm.

After I came into the hotel room, I found 2 cockroaches moving around the floor near the bed and then I caught them. Also the refrigerator was not working. The wifi was very poor. As a hotel guest, this was totally unacceptable and unreasonable and I felt very disappointed.

Later, I checked with the reception and was informed that I had to pay all the hotel charges if I cancel the booking. Then we moved to another room, but still found cockroaches in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wk_chambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    32
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
17
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Acacia for 5nights in Seoul which was recommended by the travel agent. The location very good.

Location
Close to several main subway stations. According to the apps:
Euljiro 4-ga (0.37km), Jongno 5-ga (0.50km), Dongdauemun History & Culture (0.54km), Dongdaemun (0.72km)

Close to 2~3 convenience stores, currency exchange shops which gives a very good exchange rate (compared to the airport and most places).

The airport limousine/shuttle bus drop off and pick off point is just less than 5mins away.

Rooms
The room is slightly to the small side but for single or couple staying should be enough. As long as you don't plan to have two oversize luggage then it should be OK. My room had a small jacuzzi which is good i thought. A nice way to relax. Two bottle of water is provided for you.

Internet
It has free Wifi service. However, some rooms (the room i stayed in) had a desktop provided for basic usage such as checking e-mails and browsing websites.

Photos
Don't trust the photos too much on website, it doesn't look that nice compared to the actual one. However, i think 70% more or less, subject to which types of rooms your staying in.

Overall
If your a tourist looking for a basic hotel near to the subway station then i would recommend this hotel. Don't expect huge amount of room space. But with free wifi service, close proximity to the stations and airport bus then yes this is great for young travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruceywonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Acacia for 3 nights with friends. We had two rooms connected.

The location of this hotel is good, around 5 mins walk to MTR station. Walking to Dongdaemun is also around 5-10 mins.

There is an currency exchange shop in the hotel and the exchange rate is good. As a tourist, it is convenient to get local currency easily with reasonable price.

There are some convenient stores around this hotel where you can get food and drinks. Along the walk to MTR station, there is a local food market for fruit, dried seafood, herbs, ginseng. The price is incredibly reasonable (even lower than in supermarket). Check them out is a must!

The room is clean and big, though we didn't have the desktop computer. However, there is wifi service and it is stable.

The bathroom is a little bit dark and it is better to intall a lighting in the bath tub area. The light will be automatically turned off after some time of turn-on.

We didn't have breakfast in this hotel, thus we cannot write any review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giuseppe_li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in Double Deluxe room for 2 nights in this hotel in Apr 2013. The room style does not match with the photos shown in the website. The room is small with street view. The lobby looks like a 3-star hotel, receptionist is not friendly. However, the location is convenient. You can take airbus directly from the airport to this hotel nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleKoHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stay in the deluxe garden terrace room for 4 nights. Room was pretty small but fortunately this room come with a big terrace that enable us to put our luggages and shopping stuffs. Hotel is about 10 mins walk to Dong Da Men shopping belt which close @ 2 to 3am, good for those who like shopping. There is a underground tunnel just outside the hotel that link to the train station, this help to shield us from snow,rain,wind and scorching sun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainmanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located in the middle of the road between Dongdaemun Market & Mingdong where you will find easy transport between these two famous shopping areas.
There’s a limousine route from the airport which stop right at the corner where the hotel is. Despite the room is quite small but however the convenient transportation and room rate added up its overall C/P.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FatbirdAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
387 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I try to be more direct on my comment so that travelers are easiler to understand:
Bad points:
There are a lot of hardwares stores near the hotel, you feel like that you were in the wrong place in the begining.
Our room door is opening outside therefore you have to make sure that you are not blocking other people passage.
The mini fridge was smell badly, we were not using it at all.
The light switch,TV and air condition are all in one remote control. It took a while to learn how to use it.
The toilet, bath and shower are occupied one third of the room. It doesn't make a lot of sense.
WiFi is very weak in the room and the computer is not fast enough for 2012.
The shower gel & shampoo are not so good quality seem to be watery.
Air condtion are not quiet and seem to be on a funny location.
I was not asked if I wanted a smoking room but offered one!
Good points:
The bed is large and comfortable, we often get a good night sleep.
TV offer quite new movies in a few channels, good.
If you can walk 10-30 minutes, this hotel location is perfect to go a lot of locations.
The staffs are very helpful in terms of translation from Korean to English.
I don't think that I will be back to this hotel but the staffs are great overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiseguy1282005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Ramada Seoul Dongdaemun
Ramada Seoul Dongdaemun
#117 of 472 in Seoul
465 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Uljiro Co-op Residence
Uljiro Co-op Residence
#152 of 472 in Seoul
289 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Western Co-Op Residence
Western Co-Op Residence
#153 of 472 in Seoul
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
ibis budget Ambassador Seoul Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Just Stay Hotel
Just Stay Hotel
#313 of 472 in Seoul
43 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Dongdaemun I
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benikea Hotel Acacia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benikea Hotel Acacia

Property: Benikea Hotel Acacia
Address: 360, Dongho-ro, Seoul 04561, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul > Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Benikea Hotel Acacia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benikea Hotel Acacia consists of 134 guest rooms, various banquet halls that can sit up to 700 people, and a luxurious wedding hall. The hotel is devoted to satisfying customers with high-quality service and advanced facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benikea Hotel Acacia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing