We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food”
Review of Kampungku

Kampungku
Ranked #798 of 125,434 Restaurants in Seoul
Neighborhood: Namsan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Namsan
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

Went for lunch & ordered Nasi Goreng Kampung, Fried Chicken & Ramyeon. All was good except Nasi Goreng as it was quite oily & salty - could be better. Suggest to have some sauces to go with the fried chicken as it was quite plain to eat on its own.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank gwerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2019

Kampungku was the place we settled our meals during the days in Seoul. Location was easy to find and it was near our hotel. A halal restaurant with a Halal Mart next door, prices were reasonable and people there were friendly. Most of the food we ordered was good, and certainly it was comforting to have food you know in a foreign land.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenTan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

Photos on menu are nicely taken. Actual meal left much to be desired. They forgotten our orders. We were puzzled to see the staff happily eating fried chicken..while we were waiting for our food to arrive.. Turns out.. They never record our orders in full. The bulgogi beef have more vegetables than meat. Best to skip this to avoid disappointment.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank 648zarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurantk4, Manager at Kampungku, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

Thanks for the review. We are very sorry for the unfortunate circumstance. We will improve our services asap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

This diner is packed with those who are craving to eat Malaysian cuisines. It serves Korean dishes as well but not the speciality. Expect queue during peak hours esp when the diner is booked by the group tour who occupy the whole seatings.

The korean chicken is one of the favourite,original is better than korean spicy as it is too sweet.

1st or Ground floor and top floor are dining/seating areas with different kitchen respectively. I notice the bottom floor kitchen operates by korean cooks and top by malaysian.

Wifi is available, the most top floor is praying area. Next to this diner is the Halal mart, basic groceries and sometime serves as the waiting area for those who intend to dine in.

I wonder why chopsticks are not available or maybe i could not find in in the drawer or by request?

To find this diner, exit gate no 3 or 4 of Myeongdong station. Locate Pacific hotel and this hotel is at the divergent of 2-one way streets. Get the left hand side street which the car is coming towards you. Climb up the street until u see a sign of Kampungku.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank azah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

After a while abroad, you tend to look for familiar comfort food. What is more comforting than a nice rice dishes done the Malaysian way. Might not be the real deal, but in Seoul there is no other substitutes.

Tried their Nasi Lemak and Nasi Goreng. Not disappointed. Special mention about fried chicken too. Not raving about their halal Korean food though.

Easy to find and will keep you coming back. Seats are plenty but we came not during peak hours so can't really say about seating capacity.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ezamshah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kampungku also viewed

 

Been to Kampungku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing