We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet warm pumpkin porridge”
Review of Migabon

Migabon
Ranked #8 of 122,727 Restaurants in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sweet warm pumpkin porridge”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I watched a Korean documentary that mentioned Pumpkin Porridge, so I tried it as soon as I could in Seoul. Can’t tell if it would be the same if I try it in spring or summer, but in winter, it’s a sweet warm treat. Tasted delicious. The staff was very friendly, so somewhat it even warmer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    180
    45
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Abalone and Pumpkin Porridge”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and cozy environment. I tried the abalone porridge which is savoury. For those with a swet tooth, try pumpkin porridge.

Helpful?
Thank suehean
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I can eat this for breakfast everyday”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time I tried Korean porridge and I am loving it. Personally I like porridge that is not too mushy. I could still taste the grains of rice when eaten. I had ordered the ginseng chicken and my hubby ordered the abalone porridge. Both tasted wonderful to me. The porridge was served with some side dishes. I was not sure how it was supposed to be eaten , so I just mixed them together with the porridge .. Just like the way I eat back home. Yummy yummy yummy. The best porridge that I had eaten so far!

I had tried searching for Korean porridge recipe online when I came back home.. But none looked like the one I ate in this shop.

I had entered Myeong dong from the front. There will be a building
where you see Zara, H&M.. then you will see a police post on your right side.. Continue to walk up the slope until you see Citibank. You should be able to see the shop on the right side of the street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kerand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you feel like some Korean congee, give this place a try. This place is excellent. Staff was very friendly and a waiter who spoke English was sent over to take our order. I was asked if I wanted a larger serving (free of charge) - fantastic! The food itself was excellent and comes with several Korean side dishes. The food tasted great and was filing; much more substantial than congee I've had back home or any I had in Hong Kong. My wife also had some iced omija tea which was presented very nicely and tasted just as good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dvwiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent Korean Porridge! Authentic and flavourful!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Ate here twice during my recent trip to Seoul in April 2013. I had initially found this restaurant on tripadvisor and due to rave reviews decided to try it out. Needless to say, I was not disappointed.

Food: This place specializes in Korean porridge, similar in concept to the Chinese congee but executed differently and decorated with Korean side dishes that complement the taste. You can have different types of porridge, but I had the Abalone and mushroom which was fantastic. Very flavourful and portion size was just enough to be satisfied.

Price: For Korean eateries in the area, this place can be quite expensive if you choose the most expensive dish on the menu which comes in at a mere 15,000 won. The dishes do range between 8000-15,000 won though so there is something for everyone.

Atmosphere: A very humble shop on the second floor of a building, it is certainly a no frills type of setting. However, the place is very clean and the window seats afford a nice place to people watch as people walk along Myeongdong street to shop and eat. The place is also very tourist friendly given the popularity it has obtained especially with Japanese tourists. There is an English menu.

Location: It is located in Myeongdong and the best way to find it is to locate the Seoul Royal Hotel. The hotel should have a Citibank (and Bulgolgi Brothers) located adjacent to it. The restaurant is facing directly across from the Citibank on the second floor (see attached picture). There is a stand with the menu on the ground floor.

Overall a great place to have breakfast or lunch and try out the local Korean take on congee. I recommend this as a must try if you are simply touring through the Myeongdong area. Happy Travels.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgeamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Migabon also viewed

 

Been to Migabon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing