We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Banana Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banana Backpackers
Ranked #30 of 586 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

we stayed 3 nights at banana backpackers. they speak fluent english so it is good. no communication problem. the room is clean but not big. they have complete facilities. it is good that we can use microwave, washing machine etc. but they don't serve breakfast, only coffee and tea provided. the location is about 7 minutes walk from anguk station. the only bad thing was hard bed. pls change

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crocodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Banana Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 174 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at Banana Backpackers for 8 days and 7 nights. It's very accessible and easy to find from Anguk station/line. The hostel is very near and walkable from the Insadong street, Gyeongbokgung Palace and Gwanghwamun square where tourists often go. There are lot of korean restaurants around as well as a convenient store where you can buy your basic needs. They gave me a solo room in the 3rd floor (which surprisingly have a comfortable double bed! wow^^) and is very clean and spacious especially for someone like me who got lots of things. Their bathroom is also spacious and clean and has hot shower! I never get a chance to use the laundry area, common room and kitchen since i am always out during my stay there. :D but seeing it, it was well keep and clean. The staffs are very accommodating and super nice, giving detailed information and suggestions and answering the guests' questions. Would definitely stay here again hopefully with my friends on my next visit to Seoul^^

Stayed 7 days on March 2013. Traveled solo.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yanji85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Banana backpakers is good place to stay for me while in south korea. The staff helped me alot and they are so kind. The place and the facilities are so good. Banana backpakers is the First place that i would stay if i want to go to south korea.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rengga_roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Banana Backpackers was everything I had imagined and dreamed of for a hostel and never regretted choosing a single room here over a hotel. The whole place was clean. The lounge, kitchen, and laundry area made for a very spacious lobby and all very well maintained and a warm place to meet other travellers.

During my 7 day stay, the whole team was always helpful and willing to share information about South Korean life. Sang had a really great concept when he started the hostel and I would wish him & Juae the very best as they continue to set up more hostels that stay true to what it should be.

Would definitely choose to stay here over a hotel anytime!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quest4more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed in Banana Backpacker's for five nights. It's easy to find from the Anguk train station. This is my second time in Seoul and the location of the hostel is very convenient if you just want to walk around and wander around Insadong, Gwanghamun and the major palaces /tourist spots(Changdeokgung is like 5-10 minutes walk). The rooms are also great with ondol heating and a cozy bed. The staff are very friendly and very helpful especially Yun and Chu! The next time that I'll visit Seoul, I'll definitely stay in Banana Backpacker's again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Min M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Banana backpackers was very easy to find if you follow instructions well. It is also convenient to go to the nearby subway and to famous tourist attractions around Seoul. The receptionists can speak good english which makes it very helpful for us tourists. The dining/kitchen is very cozy and has free coffee/tea. We had a very nice room on the 2nd floor but the only problem is the heater is not that warm specially the 1st night we stayed there was snowing! But overall, if i will go back to Seoul, i will definitely come back to Banana Backpackers! :) more power!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiechaiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We are a group of 7 people staying there for a week from 9-16 February 2013. The staff (especially, Yunsoo, she is very nice :) .

Our friend had lost his wallet on the way to Namiseom. Yunsoo halped us calling to many places to ask for the wallet. She's very nice !! We are very appreciate it. We are definitely going back there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThitimaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Apple Backpackers Guesthouse
Backpackers Inside
#3 of 586 in Seoul
273 reviews
Seoul Backpackers
#155 of 586 in Seoul
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itaewon
G Guesthome Itaewon
G Guesthome Itaewon
#22 of 586 in Seoul
60 reviews
Lazy Fox Hostel
#8 of 586 in Seoul
118 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hostel HARU
Hostel HARU
#9 of 586 in Seoul
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Backpackers

Address: 7, Duteopbawi-ro 25-gil, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04336, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 586 Specialty Lodging in Seoul
Price Range: $31 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Banana Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banana Backpackers is a cozy property offering comfortable, affordable accommodation in Seoul. Banana backpackers is located near Seoul station just only 5 minutes distance by car. Also It's very convenient place where it takes just 7 minutes from Sookmyung Women Univ. Station by walking. Using metro Line No.4, You can get to Namdaemun Market, Myeongdong Shopping Area, Dongdaemun Market each 4, 6, 10 minutes taken. The place is just near Seoul N tower which is the great landmark of Seoul. And, Itaewon street, Gyungridan-gil, National museum of Korea, War memorial of Korea is near Banana backpackers, You can feel and experience the diverse culture of Seoul like Music + performing arts, History, Shopping, Sightseeing. Our rooms each have their own complete bathroom, hair dryer, TV, air conditioning and floor heating systems. And you may rest and cure your heart from the busy metropolis with fantastic view of Mt. Namsan N Tower at our lovely terrace. Free coffee and tea, hair shampoo & rinse, internet (wireless) and laundry are included in the price as well. Also, we have a fully-equipped kitchen and the pretty and friendly lounge inside. And provide you free blankets, bed covers, pillow cases and towels even free luggage storage service. We have no curfew or lock-out time. The place looks like A treasure island as it is, your trip will be more precious and beautiful with staying. - Banana backpackers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banana Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing