We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Honest Korean Dumplings”

Myeongdong Kyoja Main
Ranked #11 of 122,727 Restaurants in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Honest Korean Dumplings”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

There're only 4 items in the whole menu, and no worries if you don't speak a word of Korean cos the full colour pictures are self-explanatory. Basic restaurant layout and you will find rubbish bins on the outer leg of each table as you will probably need to blow your nose after devouring the spicy kimchi , savouring the fresh dumplings and slurping the piping hot noodles. The delectable dumplings come in plastic steamers, unlike the bamboo steamers commonly found in Chinese restaurants. Instead of the usual lettuce leaves that hold the dim sum, Myeongdong Kyoja uses a thin sheath of lightly greased paper to line the base. Dumplings are healthy cos the minced pork isn't fatty and the proportion of chopped veggie is bigger. Their wrapper texture is different from the wonton wrappers , not too thin and not too thick, just about right to hold the moist & tasty morsel. Noodles and dumplings were delicious with just the right amount of seasoning, so you wouldn't be very thirsty afterwards. Noodles were snowy white; silky smooth and remained still slightly chewy even if they're steeped in the broth for a while, without turning soggy. In the midst of the meal, a waitress walked up each table offering free rice, which nobody seemed to take. Service was efficient but don't expect warm smiles from the all-women team, just adequate eye-contact to be polite. You need to pay right after your order, so the staff has one less thing to worry about when the place is constantly packed and traffic is busy. This is a no fuss eatery where one will leave feeling satisfied. They have a 2nd branch also in Myeongdong so now the waiting time in the main store is less, but you know it is good and popular cos there's always a long queue throughout their business hours. A trip to Seoul won't be complete without patronising this kyoja store at least once per visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G1G1MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    986
    366
    58
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Korean Noodle and Steamed Dumplings!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you are a big fan of Korean food, this place is must go.

The combination of hot noodle soup and spicy Kimchi is the best in the town.

Kalguksu (Chopped noodle soup) is the most famous dish served in this restaurent. Is not spicy as other Korean cuisine, but still tasteful enough. :-)

You need to be aware that the waiting line might be long if you visit the restaurant at lunch or dinner time. If you visit there at the time slot, you might notice that you are surrounded with many tourists from around the world as well as local people.

Even though the waiting line might be long, the waiting time might not lasts for a long time, since the dishes will be served instantly. (FYI, all dishes are pre-paid when you order to minimize the processing time.)

The only drawback is since the place is quite popular, it's not the place for relaxing and enjoying atmosphere. It's more like a fast food restaurant style.

One tip: the portion size of noodle is not small and you may ask for rice bowl for free if you want. So if the number of companion is 2 or more, order different type of dishes, for example, noodle and dumpling, and share together. This might be great tip for the people who want to enjoy variety of dishes at the same time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
930 reviews
503 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“THE BEST steamed dumplings”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

While we were out hoping off the "hop on, hop off the Seoul City Tour Bus, we ran into a tourist information office outside of which was a group of young adults demonstrating - or so it seemed. As one young man turned to me, he asked me where I was from. It turned out that he had recently graduated from Michigan State and had returned home to Seoul and this group of youngs were raising money for disadvantaged children. We had a nice conversation and I asked him if he could recommend a dumpling restaurant. There was not a moment's hesitation; he wrote, in Korean, Myeong Dong Kko Ja, and that is where we went for dinner. While my husband had the soup, I had the 10 most delicious, thin-skinned steamed dumplings, I've ever been served. The restaurant, we were downstairs so I don't know what is upstairs, has zero appeal except that it is so full of locals that one knows it is good. They sport a sign that they were among the 100 best restaurants in Seoul in either 2012 or 2011, I don't recall which. My husband liked his soup very much but I adored my dumplings. Here, you pay before you eat, but they do accept Visa cards.
The tables are crammed together and turn rapidly, so casual, calm dining is not in the picture but
I'd crawl back just to have another portion of dumplings. If you like them,be sure to go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Misleading”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was misled by the name of the restaurant and expected to eat gyoza there. But in fact it only three items (4 in summertime): Kalgusuk, steamed mandu and Bibimgusuk. All three items are mouthwatering especially for those who can't eat spicy food (the first two are not spicy). And I guess that is why the Kimchi in this restaurant is extra spicy with lots of garlic.

Considering that this restaurant is located in Myeongdong where even street food is twice more expensive than in other areas, the 8,000 Won menu with no tax and no tip is a steal IMO.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ewakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naha, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Uber Korean and delicious”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I don't know who wrote that this was not authentic, the place is nothing but locals and we met locals who drove more than an hour and a half from the outskirts of the city just to eat here. The kimchi is almost effervescent in its spiciness, which is so uniquely delicious, and the dumplings fabulous. this is one of my favorite restaurants in the world.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter5195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myeongdong Kyoja Main also viewed

 
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Myeongdong Kyoja Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing