We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have got to try this place!”

Tosokchon Samgyetang
Ranked #11 of 122,491 Restaurants in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Korean, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bangkok
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You have got to try this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I never had Ginseng chicken before, so this was my first time. REALLY good. The lines were long, and the store was quite crowded, but worth the wait. The inside was quite small with long tables and benches where you may be joining the table with some one you don’t know. I ordered the white ginseng chicken, it was nice and tender. I liked it so much that I ate the whole chicken.There was almost no service, the store appears to be busy churning out their chicken, that they don’t even smile at the customers. Now,I am not an expert on Korean food, so I can’t really compare, but I really liked the food. If you are a tourist, never had Ginseng chicken before and have some time, I think you may enjoy this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chai_Sitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    707
    247
    59
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A traditional place that serves very delicious, renowned and healthy ginseng chicken. Go early, otherwise, there wll be a very long queue for this sumptuous dish!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frangi313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth to have a try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

not a bad idea to have a try, you may share the main dishes among your friend / member. important : try to arrange visit time before lunch / dinner hour, it is packed and long queue.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggylau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Chicken Soup in Korean Way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lots of people recommended the chicken soup store to try as someone who cannot eat spicy food. I decided to give it a try and come here. Even though I already know what I am getting but still pretty amazed about the qualify of food. You don't only see the foreigners here (me included), but even the local people come here to eat. That's why you know it is a place to be. I ordered the basic soup. It is yummy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globalroadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Used to be good!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This isn't the same as it used to be. The quality of foods, especially chicken dishes, has gone down rapidly. It was really disappointing to taste the terrible quality of chickens and dishes!! The place has gone to be like a huge factory!! Quality has gone downhill rapidly. However, during the summer, you can see a long line of customer waiting to eat!!
There are other places with much better quality of foods!!
Don't waste your time and money to eat here until they return to the old days when the foods were so good that this was the place for samgyetang!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irxraydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tosokchon Samgyetang also viewed

 

Been to Tosokchon Samgyetang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing