We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful but an ideal base”
Review of Hotel Dodo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dodo
Ranked #394 of 497 Hotels in Seoul
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful but an ideal base”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We booked a semi-double which was a good size for 2 of us. Very clean inside with it's jacuzzi bath and a good selection of toiletries. TV mainly Korean but we were able to watch some films in English. Just be careful of the soft porn channels if you have children.

The staff didn't speak the best of English, but understood what we asked and were able to communicate well enough to be understood.

The hotel wasn't ideally placed to explore central Seoul. However, just a few moments walk from the hotel you have a choice of 2 subway stations giving you easy access to Seoul. In an around the hotel is full of local restaurants and it is Definatley not an industrial area. There are shopping malls, a local Market, bright neon lights with plenty of convenience stores and if the local stuf isn't to your liking, there is even a mcdonalds.

All in all I would say it's a great hotel to use as a base to explore Seoul. We got a great room rate too , this combined with the airport international taxi only costing 55,000won, helping us save even more money.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malemew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
6
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2010

I went to Seoul and stayed at Hotel Dodo. I read a couple of reviews before making my way there. When you reach the airport, go to your hotel by their subway station at the Incheon International Hotel, basically connects everywhere you want to go.

Staff - Very Friendly and helpful. However, downside was the Manager's English was really limited. I had to spend 3mins trying to explain and ask him, "Whats the temperature outside?" The manager allowed me to check in even at around 1030.

Facilities - Jacuzzi in bathroom wasnt what I expected it was. Though's its a bonus right from the start. Bathroom pretty good. Branded liquid bathroom use for usage, e.g shampoo, conditioner, body wash, shave cream, more creams which I didnt use. There is NO Wireless internet in the Hotel, Only wired LAN cable in room (optic fibre(Y))

Room- Rather small, but cozy at the same time. Marbled floor. A remote control that can control everything in the room(Y). Instructions available in English. However, lights tend to go off for no reason sometimes( I figured its some sort of timer or smth) . Big 42 inch LCD TV. A desktop in the language of Korean, Video Demand system via computer. Computer monitor can be linked to the LCD TV, Movie experience (Y). And a good sound system around the room. However, I would advise you to bring your own netbook, you can plug the LAN cable to your own computer. The desktop is in Korean, pretty hard to use. There is a sterilser, mini-fridge, desktop with internet access, lcd tv, sound system.

Location- Pretty good, except its more of in an industrial area, had to deal with construction sound in the late mornings. A pretty easy to find downtown with restaurants, street stalls. Near to 2 subway train stations, 10-15mins walk. (Y). I travelled from to Incheon Airport station to Singil station, I could see the Hotel Dodo neon sign from far.

Food- apparently, I realised my package included breakfast, but they forgotten.Can Drinks in fridge are refilled everyday, so make sure you drink them or keep them away to get more the next day. Mineral water is replenished if used.

I personally like the friendliness, the staff would greet whenever you enter or come down even if you dont understand Korean(neither do I).

Any queries or questions, can contact me.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackSonata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyeongju, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Sadly, one of the main things that sold me on the Dodo and was really looking forward to was the Jacuzzi ... and the bubbles didn't work.
My friend and I asked about it, if we could please change to a room with a working Jacuzzi, but nothing was available. I then asked if they could give us a small discount due to the fact that the hotel IS advertised as having a Jacuzzi, and was told that booking.com had a lot of it's facts wrong about the Dodo (it says they have broadband for example and they don't, they have slow net). They then looked at me helplessly, as if it were my fault they had the wrong advertising out there. I said they needed to take responsibility for the broken Jacuzzi, that the online booking company obviously have no idea they haven't fixed it.

How ridiculous. Customer service is very much a new concept in most of Korea, so if you're here for a visit, keep that in mind. You could get served crap on toast here but they will be surprised if you send it back.

I asked very very nicely if they would please consider the small discount or something in lieu of the broken jacuzzi (the cost of the hotel is reasonable, but as an English teacher in Korea this was still a big treat for me) and they smiled and nodded and then forgot about us. Couldn't have given a rat's.

The place is a fading glory, clean and spacious with very nice beds. If you don't mind a broken jacuzzi then this place might be good enough for you, and I admit, it was still nice to have a bath.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seahorse70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Staff - very helpful but dont speak good English so you need to be patient with them.
Room - Clean and value for money.
(Lots of free goodies to use - Night suit, slippers, Jacuzi which you cannot expect in such less room rate.)
Free water- as much as you want and free coffee, tea, orange juice in room
Free high speed internet - already connected with a big screen tv
PC with video on demand facility so download any movie in seconds and watch it on TV.
Room service till 10 PM only so rush to get that as the locality does not have restaurants around. If late either order Pizza from Dominos etc or eat something frozen !
* Towels looked very used - so next time when I stay in this hotel I would take my own.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmundHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

After laughing about the name, and marveling that it was the only hotel with 1 room left in the entire area, I was surprised at the size of the room, good in room ammenities, jacuzzi tub, etc. Priced right too. Not a bad deal.. The one small window was a bummer though. Grea aside from the lack of view

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Nice cozy hotel, safe , secure, near train station, convenience store next door, Free parking. Only bad is that it is in a industrial area (heavy equipment supply & trade supply store area.) My Yobo (Honey) didn't quite like the local but I'm in construction so I didn't mind. Hotel is an excellence value and rooms are cozy and seem suited for couples.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2009

This hotel is remarkably good value for money. The room is clean, quiet, spacious and well-equipped, with some nice surprises like a jacuzzi, bidet and PC with 5.1 surround sound (though it doesn't work). A couple of disadvantages, though: there is no closet or drawers for storage of clothes, the window is masked with a board, so there is no daylight (though it can be opened) and the chair and sofa are not particularly comfortable.

Internet (cable) is fast and free, but TV is a disappointment, with only one English channel (CNN).

The location is perhaps not ideal, being 10-15 minutes walk from each of three metro stations, and the neighbourhood is full of engineering workshops (could be full of worse things, though). However, there are lots of interesting places to eat nearby, a convenience store right outside, and a big market just a few minutes' walk away.

All told, this hotel is a good option if you don't mind not being really close to the metro.

Final note: this hotel is not where it showed up on Google map. I have moved the marker 'A' to the correct location near Yeongdeungpo Rotary (roundabout).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prokofievlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Yeoido
Hotel The Designers Yeouido
Hotel GMS
#233 of 497 in Seoul
4 reviews
Benikea Seoul Hotel
#266 of 497 in Seoul
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Dott Myeongdong
#180 of 497 in Seoul
15 reviews
Yeoido
Kensington Hotel Yoido
Kensington Hotel Yoido
#88 of 497 in Seoul
225 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
WS Hotel
WS Hotel
#406 of 497 in Seoul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dodo

Property: Hotel Dodo
Address: 23, Beodeunaru-ro, Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 497 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dodo 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing