We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended budget hotel, 3min walks to subway and 15min travel to major shopping attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Benikea Kaya Tourist Hotel
Ranked #206 of 475 Hotels in Seoul
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommended budget hotel, 3min walks to subway and 15min travel to major shopping attractions”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed for 5D4N with my boyfriend and I.
Room,
- A bit small but ok for 2
- toilet was clean with a bathtub
- toiletries are provided except tooth brush
- heAter on the floor is good to keep us warm
Location
-3 min walk from Namyeong subway
- Namyeong is 1stop away to Seoul Station where u can change and head to myeongdong, dongdaemun, Hongik uni, Ewka women uni.
- major attractions are less than 30min away
Food
- there a fried garlic chicken restaurant located near the station, exit Namyeong turn right and walk 100m you will see the restaurant, the chicken is yummy !
- nearby walking distance there's a lot eateries

Conclusion, nice hotel if your budget is Usd 60 plus minus.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weitingthong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    50
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
26
15
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
425 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I picked this hotel for the special traditional Korean style Ondol room. I wondered how the heating floor works and feels. I agree with some friends of mine that such kind of room is actually too hot unless the windows are open. I kept the windows slightly open all the time, making the temperature just perfect. There was no bed but bedding on floor, like the Japanese futon. It's very comfy, not hard as I thought. After a whole day long walk, I like to put my legs between the floor and the bedding to relax and relieve the tension. For the 2 night stay, I could sleep very well through the night without break. There's no table in the room and I always had to move around near ground zero level, quite inconvenient and tired, but it's a special experience somehow.

Though the hotel and room are rather dated, that doesn't matter. It's clean, functional. I particularly like the vicinity which is quiet, safe, convenient, not touristy (I am afraid of staying in Dongdaemun or Myeong-dong which are too touristy and noisy).

About the staff, I think there's much room for improvement. At the front desk, the young man is nicer but speaks poor English. Communication is a problem. The older man speaks better English but is indifferent, poker face. He refused to connect a line for me to cancel my original booking at another hotel in Dongdaemun (I learnt that it's free of charge if calling intra Seoul for a few minutes). He asked me to use the charged telephone kiosk at the hotel entrance instead. He added that it should be me who do the cancellation as the booking was made by me, not him. Finally after he had seen me quite stupid in locating the tel kiosk and counting the coins, he was willing to use the hotel phone to call and pass it to me to talk for the cancellation (haha, I should more and better use my stupidity in the future).

But overall, as the price is too good (W53,000@), location good, great value for money, I still highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The airport bus stop about 5 blocks from the hotel on the same road. The two metro is four blocks from hotel. Next to USO office where you can sign up for the bus tour. Lot of cafes and cheap food $6-$10 meal. Very busy at night with the college kids hanging around but the area feel safe.The hotel is OK , no complain ,clean towel and room . It does look kind of old but clean. No Wifi but CAT-5 work.Staff speak english.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We booked this hotel during our first night in Seoul. from the Airport, we took the airport bus which stops us at a stop which is about 5-10 mins walk to the hotel. Hotel is easily spotted as it is located in front of the main road. Hotel surrounding location are packed with restaurants, shopping malls etc. Overall, the location couldn't be better. Subway stations are about 3-5 mins walk from the hotel.

Hotel wise: very clean, well maintained. Our rooms looked OK, clean. Bathroom are also ok and clean. Overall, we dont have any complains.

As the hotel is located centrally in seoul, it is definitely worth to put a night or two in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchRemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel more than 3 times during my visit to Seoul. I thought the location was almost perfect from were I wanted to go. It's not the newest hotel in town but, it's clean,quiet and the staff were so helpful, that to me is valuable when traveling! I appreciate all the times I didn't have reservations and I was still able to stay thanks!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chirens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pohang, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Thereare 5 points worthy mentioning
First, non-smokers highly recommended to avoid this hotel. When stuff provided us the room 205, we found out that it was a bit smelly and it was not cleaned after previous guest (beds are not changed, somebody's socks were lying on the floor, remains of cigarettes in ashtray etc.). Stuff made excuses and shown us another room 206. It was so smelly that it was impossible to imagine how to sleep there unless you'll get heavily drunk. Stuff claimed absence of shampoo to remove smell. So we waited for cleaning of 205.
Second, internet connection. Wi-Fi signal is very low, speed is very slow and disconnection happens regularly (but in the evening it's almost impossible to connect).
Third, absence of laundry. If you need to wash your clothes, you have to contact the reception and for $50(!!!) they will do it in other hotel for 2 days. If you need to make it hurry you have to pay more (!!!).
Fourth, there is no breakfast included. Restaurant in hotel is unreasonably expensive. You have to pay $9 while in few steps outside you can get much more and better Korean food for $3,5-5.
Fifth, atmosphere overall is depressive. Hotel is very dark, main entrance is dark and flags on it are dirty.
However, as it was said before, stuff is nice and location of this hotel is comfortable.
But negative is very strong.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yosinava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seoul hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Seoul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I was looking for a cheap and central stay in Seoul. Since you often get what you pay for, I did not expect much in the price range around 40 Euros- but even that is too much for the Kaya...
First, on the positive site- the staff is friendly and the location is perfect (three different Subway Lines in walking distance!). That is it. Now the negatives. Even though the cleaning staff tries very hard they have no chance to get the rooms clean. Everything, from the bed to the bathroom smells after cigarette smoke. The air condition is throwing little ice crystals on the bed, the refrigerator is like the TV is approximately 20 years old and loud (have to unplug it during night), the corridors and rooms are very dark, the wireless internet has a very bad reception (almost not working). The room size is average, at most. To all the Hotels I went in my live I found only a few which were providing insect repellent and this was the first one I had to actually use it in the bathroom. The "Escape Rope" looks very scary, especially considering that the windows seems way too small to slip through them in case of a fire.

All in the entire Hotel needs a complete renovation from ground up. The staff deserves to work in a much nicer place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TownX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Insadong
Saerim Hotel
Saerim Hotel
#149 of 475 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#95 of 475 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Hotel Elle Inn
#338 of 475 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel New World
#307 of 475 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
WS Hotel
WS Hotel
#405 of 475 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Hotel Rainbow
#403 of 475 in Seoul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benikea Kaya Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benikea Kaya Tourist Hotel

Property: Benikea Kaya Tourist Hotel
Address: 253, Hangang-daero, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04322, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 475 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Benikea Kaya Tourist Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benikea Kaya Tourist Hotel is an economic hotel near and the 8thUnited States Army Base in Yongsan-gu. The hotel is popular among locals and tourists because of its convenient location within 10 minutes from famous sites such as the War Memorial of Korea, Itaewon, Namdaemun,Myeong-dong, Namsan Mountain , the National Museum of Korea and Yeouinaru. The 8-story hotel has 52 comfortable guestrooms, as well as a range of subsidiary facilities, including a coffee shop and restaurant, a bar, and a sports massage parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benikea Kaya Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing