We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely WOW Dining Experience”
Review of Jihwaja

Jihwaja
Ranked #5 of 38,110 Restaurants in Seoul
Price range: $68 - $153
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Jongno-gu
Description: Operated by “Living Treasure Of Korean Royal Cuisine” since 1991, Jihwaja is a high-class traditional Korean restaurant located in the center of downtown Seoul. It has enjoyed a high reputation as the finest restaurant that preserves “The Legitimacy of Korean Royal Cuisine,” the essence of the Korean food culture. Jihwaja resembles the sophisticated ambiance of the neighborhood that captures the beauty of the Joseon Dynasty. The restaurant offers very healthy and nutritious dishes as they are prepared with only natural ingredients and royal culinary techniques, without using any MSG, artificial flavors or additives. Jihwaja is committed to promote Korea's authentic traditional food culture - Korean Royal Cuisine - across the world for generations.
Reviewed June 28, 2019

Went there with a group of friends. Absolutely wowed by the experience. Best Traditional Korean food. Service was par excellence. We had beef and seafood casserole. The Captain patiently explained each dish, the fresh ingredients and sauce used. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, General Manager at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

Dear Patrick T

Thanks for checking us out and taking the time to share.
As you mentioned that our concept since 1991 has been keeping to real Traditional Korean Food" and a full menu based on The Legitimacy of Korean Royal Cuisine. The dishes on your course are kinds of the Korean Royal Cuisine.
Hope to see you again if you are ever back in Seoul.

Jihwaja Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 164 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2019

I visited Jihwaja last week with my friends during my visit in Seoul. I had the beef rib course and it was one of the best meal I had in Korea. The food was great and I could see that they only use good ingredients to make their dishes. The service was also great and informative. The waiter explained each dish throughly and in English.
I strongly recommend you to visit this place.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pie0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, General Manager at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

Dear pie

Many thanks to your post and glad to hear you enjoyed the dinner.

Over the years Jihwaja Seoul is proud of serving The Legitimacy of Korean Royal Cuisine, one of best food in the world, with best hospitality for our respectable guests. In addition to best dishes with fresh ingredients we used to explain your dishes by English, Japanese, and Chinese to help a more understanding for Korean Food Culture.
Hope to serve you again when you visit Seoul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

We booked for dinner after reading the reviews. It was certainly a dining experience. The service was excellence and the food was fine dining if you don’t mind to splash out for a memorable evening in Seoul.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kitty180
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, General Manager at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Dear Kitty180

Thank you for your kind applause to us.

We are proud of serving you excellent hospitality and great dishes.
Hope you realize that Korean Royal Cuisine in Korean food is the best one because of diversity, devotion, health and others.

Looking forward to serving you again with giving you a more satisfaction.
Appreciate your kind review !

From all of our wishes,
Jihwaja Seoul


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019

Couldn’t get seats at Laoyon at Sheila where I used to go and food has been exquisite there even for the price. Here at Jihwaja, they only offered very sweet traditional dishes not sensitive to health issues nowadays. Presentation of dishes were just like for local small restaurants. Really disappointed.

Date of visit: May 2019
3  Thank tas2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jihwaja, Owner at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

Dear tas2022
We are sorry for your experience at your visit.
Our meeting was held on this matter. And concluded that our staffs did not have much attention to explain for each dish for you. Please excuse the lack of attention.
On sweet traditional dishes you mentioned(we have not known what course you did take), we dare to say that all of Korean Royal Cuisine Jihwaja Seoul had been serving since 1991 is not sweet dishes at all. Healthy food using natural ingredients, not using any of artificial one. Please understand our menu.
And say again, many thanks for your kind review to us.
Jihwaja Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

Very nice restaurant for dinner the food so amazing too the service is good!! Very clean and good location

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank calvinfame
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, Owner at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Dear Calvinfame

Very appreciate your commitment for us.
As you talked, we are located in downtown near many traditional palaces giving you better understanding for Korean heritages.
But also we are trying to give our foreign travelers new and unexpected experience about Korean food culture.
Thank you for the understanding about The Legitimacy of Korean Royal Cuisine, one of best food in the world.


all of our wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jihwaja also viewed

Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Jihwaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.