We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal feast”
Review of Jihwaja

Jihwaja
Ranked #5 of 38,110 Restaurants in Seoul
Price range: $68 - $153
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Jongno-gu
Description: Operated by “Living Treasure Of Korean Royal Cuisine” since 1991, Jihwaja is a high-class traditional Korean restaurant located in the center of downtown Seoul. It has enjoyed a high reputation as the finest restaurant that preserves “The Legitimacy of Korean Royal Cuisine,” the essence of the Korean food culture. Jihwaja resembles the sophisticated ambiance of the neighborhood that captures the beauty of the Joseon Dynasty. The restaurant offers very healthy and nutritious dishes as they are prepared with only natural ingredients and royal culinary techniques, without using any MSG, artificial flavors or additives. Jihwaja is committed to promote Korea's authentic traditional food culture - Korean Royal Cuisine - across the world for generations.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

During my first trip to Seoul, I couldn’t help but experience a Feast fit for a king. Each course was so precisely made with care and pride. Mr. Han was a gracious host, sharing the significance of each course of our food journey. The service and atmosphere were impeccable.
Even after our leisurely dinner, Mr. Han went out of his way to assist us when my dad left his phone behind at the restaurant. Not only did he track down our cab driver, he remained after hours to ensure that we had our belongings.
We were truly impressed by his hospitality and extraordinary service.
We are grateful for the experience and will continue to be ambassadors of Jihwaja.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank JenLam929
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, General Manager at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Dear Jen Lam,

Thank you for your kind response for jihwaja

We are very happy that you enjoyed our food and service and we will keep trying our best to serve the best experience for every one of our customers.

Kind regards,

Jihwaja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 164 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2019

We had a party of 8 and our experience with all guests were phenomenal. The meal was delicious and the history of the restaurant and the cuisine itself was compelling. We had a vegetarian that was accommodated amazingly as well. Five stars

Date of visit: April 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Excursion61306473590
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, General Manager at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Dear Excursion

Appreciate your kind compliment for us.

We will try our best to provide the best Korean Royal Cuisine experience including our vegetarian menu which you had.

Hope everything is going well with you and your family !

Kind warmness,

Jihwaja Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

If I were asked to choose just one restaurant to give a clear idea of what Korean traditional high cuisine tastes and looks like, Jihwaja is the chosen one. Everything, from service and hospitality to tastes, textures, temperatures and presentation. Do not expect low prices, but quality justifies the price you pay for it.

Date of visit: April 2019
4  Thank JOSEandBARBARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, General Manager at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Dear Mr. and Ms. Lahiguera

Appreciate your applause for Jihwaja Seoul.

We are always trying to treat our guests as Kings and Queens with most delicious dishes and warm hospitality as the meaning of Legitimacy of Korean Royal Cuisine.

Hope everything is going well with your family.

All of our wishes,
Jihwaja Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

We came wth a group of friends for dinner. The service by Mr Han was fantastic. The meals are great and very tasty. Mr Han cheered our baby boy Elvis up. This was an enjoyable evening! Thank u so much to Mr Han!

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank Eric8874
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jihwaja, General Manager at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Dear Eric8874

Appreciate your kind review for Jihwaja Seoul.
Every host in Jihwaja Seoul is always on duty to serve guests with warmness and sincerity.
Also cooks in kitchen are devoting themselves to serve best courses.
We, all are pride of working here.
Please send a picture taken with Elvis in order to keep the good memory with your family.
It was pleased to serve you family.

Thank you and all of our wishes,
Jihwaja Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

One of the worst experiences that I had in Seoul was going to this restaurant and being treated badly and their menu was bit tricky to understand. Our waitress was not Korean who we had trouble to communicate with both in Korean and English ! Don't let the anterior design fool you! You can get a better food and experience anywhere but here.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, Owner at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Dear Ms Deena A

We extremely sorry for your experience at Jihwaja visited May last year. It is a real shame since we opened 1991 and we are in shock now by your review !
We are now trying to find a waitress who served you and cannot speak Korean and English in order to train her again. But it is very difficult to find a wairess because all of our staffs are Korean and can speak English, Japanese and Chinese in some.
Anyway we will take your review on board sincerely and do our best to improve our restaurant even more.
We hope you can visit us sometime to soon to see how much we have improved since last year because we work very hard everyday to give our respected guests the perfect satisfaction with best experience possible.

Say again we would like to offer our sincere apology and forgive our fault tolerantly.

Our very best wishes to you all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jihwaja also viewed

Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Jihwaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.