We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam!”
Review of Jihwaja

Jihwaja
Ranked #5 of 38,110 Restaurants in Seoul
Price range: $68 - $153
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Jongno-gu
Description: Operated by “Living Treasure Of Korean Royal Cuisine” since 1991, Jihwaja is a high-class traditional Korean restaurant located in the center of downtown Seoul. It has enjoyed a high reputation as the finest restaurant that preserves “The Legitimacy of Korean Royal Cuisine,” the essence of the Korean food culture. Jihwaja resembles the sophisticated ambiance of the neighborhood that captures the beauty of the Joseon Dynasty. The restaurant offers very healthy and nutritious dishes as they are prepared with only natural ingredients and royal culinary techniques, without using any MSG, artificial flavors or additives. Jihwaja is committed to promote Korea's authentic traditional food culture - Korean Royal Cuisine - across the world for generations.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

One of the worst experiences that I had in Seoul was going to this restaurant and being treated badly and their menu was bit tricky to understand. Our waitress was not Korean who we had trouble to communicate with both in Korean and English ! Don't let the anterior design fool you! You can get a better food and experience anywhere but here.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, Owner at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Dear Ms Deena A

We extremely sorry for your experience at Jihwaja visited May last year. It is a real shame since we opened 1991 and we are in shock now by your review !
We are now trying to find a waitress who served you and cannot speak Korean and English in order to train her again. But it is very difficult to find a wairess because all of our staffs are Korean and can speak English, Japanese and Chinese in some.
Anyway we will take your review on board sincerely and do our best to improve our restaurant even more.
We hope you can visit us sometime to soon to see how much we have improved since last year because we work very hard everyday to give our respected guests the perfect satisfaction with best experience possible.

Say again we would like to offer our sincere apology and forgive our fault tolerantly.

Our very best wishes to you all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 164 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I visited this restaurant during our first trip to Seoul to celebrate my husband’s 30th birthday. The staff members were all very friendly. The food was excellent and the staff members kindly took their time and explained the royal Korean cuisine to us. (We ordered the Beef rib course)

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank SarahsMoslehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, General Manager at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

Dear Mr. and Ms. Ehrhardt

Thank you for your kind comment for us.
Next time to visit Jihwaja Seoul again, please let us know your birthday in advance.
We used to prepare a red rose for you on the table.

Appreciate your experience for the real Korean food culure at our restaurant.
Hope everything is going well with your family.

Jihwaja Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Great food ! Wonderful service!!! The people in the restaurant were proud of their work & were helpful and professional. We enjoyed ourselves and they provided a greater insight into the Korean food and culture and even history! We forgot to take back our credit card & they sent it back to us to our hotel. Well done! And big thank you to all of the staff there!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank KKYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, Owner at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2019

You must be Ms. Tan and your family.
It was a big pleasure to serve you. Happy you get back your credit card in a short time.

Appreciate your commitment to us and understanding Korean Culture and Real Korean Food.
Hope everything is going well with your family and have a nice trip.

All of our wishes,

Jihwaja Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

We were greeted warmly by Mr Han and he took pains to explain to us the ingredients and preparation process for each dish. Sometimes the dishes consist of 5-6 items put together. The service was wonderful and the food is delicate and delicious. Unlike street food, the food here is delicate and light, with emphasis on fresh, natural flavors. Mr Han and his team are wonderful hosts and attentive to our needs. It was a memorable experience.

Date of visit: February 2019
3  Thank landyc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihwaja_Seoul, General Manager at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2019

Dear Landy

It was our pleasure serving you and explain real traditional Korean dishes-Royal cuisine.
Korean Royal Cuisine has two unique things that are slow and healthy.
So as you felt that we all have to make all of fresh dishes with delicateness and sincerity.
With this mind, most dishes have to be explained their own history and process so that our respectable guests
know other country's food and culture.

Believe everything is going well with you !
Very much thank you !

Jihwaja Seoul


.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019

Food was very good and explanation about the food was so much great to enjoy the dinner. Let me try with a Full Course (GungJung Manchan) next dinner at this restaurant.

One of the best dinner I've enjoyed throughout my life. Whenever I need to entertain a precious deligation, I have no doubt to take them to this restaurant again.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank SeungHo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jihwaja also viewed

Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 
Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Jihwaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.