We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kosher delicious”

Kosher Restaurant David
Ranked #30 of 43 Coffee & Tea in Tbilisi
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Russian, Israeli
Description: In the heart of the Capital of Georgia Tbilisi, in the historical place of the city, in the garden of synagogue You can find the Georgian Kosher Restaurant David
Restaurant details
Description: In the heart of the Capital of Georgia Tbilisi, in the historical place of the city, in the garden of synagogue You can find the Georgian Kosher Restaurant David
Reviewed August 1, 2017

after being in georgia for ten days we were excited to be able to eat kosher food (as opposed to the endless but delicious cucumber tomato salads!) The food here was absolutely DELICIOUS..we made a point of ordering the georgian food, kinkheli and other unpronouncable but totally delicios meals.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SharonacP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2017

My wife and I live in Israel and were on a week-long organized tour of Georgia. We are semi-religious/traditional and do not eat non-kosher meat. We were totally unaware that there is a kosher restaurant in Georgia, anywhere! Were we happily shocked to see that on the right side of the main synagogue of Tbilisi which we had come to visit was an active kosher restaurant. Between us, my wife and I fluently speak a total of 3 languages - English, Hebrew and Russian - and we discovered that it is possible to speak all three of these languages at this restaurant. What a treat it was for us to eat at least ONE meat meal during this week-long trip especially because our fellow travelers were all complimenting the Georgian meat dishes. The meat meal that we ate at this restaurant wasn’t just an ordinary meat meal but was an EXTRA-ORDINARY meat meal. Georgia is known for serving sheep meat (adult lamb) which all our fellow travelled had all already eaten, so we merrily ordered barbecued sheep. And was it ever scrumptious - moist, tender, and seasoned perfectly. We also ordered beef chebureki (deep fried beef dumplings), another popular Georgian treat and they were excellent. To round out the meal, we ordered chips (French fries), a vegetable salad, and lemonade. I don’t remember the exact price, but I do remember thinking that the price was extremely reasonable, considering we were in a foreign country where Judaism is not strong and kosher almost impossible to find. This restaurant is a MUST DO for any Jew visiting Tbilisi.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Yitzchak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our meal, trying typical Georgian dishes with the help of the friendly and attentive staff. There is a good mix of Georgian, English, Russian and Hebrew spoken by the staff to help people (may be more languages but these are what we heard). Loved the spicing and garlic in the dishes. Not too expensive for what we had but probably is by local standards...

Date of visit: May 2017
2  Thank Amdania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017

We called ahead on our way down from Gudauri to have food prepared for us when we arrive. We were a large group and when we walked in there was large table set beautifully for us filled with tons of salad and bread. The food kept coming and was quite good. Mostly beef filled food, not much chicken. While we ate the kosher supervisor who was there told us about the jewish history of Tbilisi. He also got permission to open the adjacent shul for us which was beautiful. The restaurant was also filled with lots of chanukiot and other ritual items that were interesting to look at.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CBerkNMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

This kosher restaurant is right next to the synagogue in Tbilisi. We had a very enjoyable meal there, with Georgian specialities and fresh salads. In addition, David the owner and Avi, the mashgiach, arranged for us to have Shabbat lunch and take away food for an out-of-town trip. This is the only place in Georgia for kosher cheese kachapuri, as well.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank janetgool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kosher Restaurant David also viewed

 
Tbilisi, Georgia
 

Been to Kosher Restaurant David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing