We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy Good!”
Review of Hotel Charm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tbilisi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Charm
Ranked #102 of 131 Hotels in Tbilisi
Trondheim, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crazy Good!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

So be it, it was in the middle of a construction site, the electrics and the water were not operating all the time and I had to go carry our own extra bed from the basement, after some confusion with the room-arrangements; THIS PLACE IS A CHARM INDEED!!! Most of the rooms are decorated with antiques and the owner is friendliness herself, who doesnt get annoyed if the guest (read: me) had a few chachas too many and stumbles in in the middle of the night. Its nice to meet for a simple breakfast in the small dining room or to just relax and play backgammon on the terrace, we met several other good travelers here and truly had a great stay.

(For the suits out there, maybe another place would suit your business-trip.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarenEOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
5
28
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hotel is a nice little house with multiple spacious rooms, a friendly staff and right in the middle of the action on the west bank of the river. It is so close to so many things it is hard to decide which to do first, but once that is done it is easy to walk all around the area and back. Nino is extremely helpful and will make recommendations on what and where to eat, how much a taxi should cost and so-on. I enjoyed my stay very much and will stay again when I return to Tbilisi. As others have noted, there was construction occurring opposite the hotel, but I didn't find it as bothersome as they did.

Room Tip: Just let Nino what you like and she will fix you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTravelerUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I am sure that at other times, this hotel is just fine. We stayed in two different rooms. One was an extremely large room with very uncomfortable bed and a musty bathroom. The other was a smaller room in the attic that had a shared bathroom. They both had working a/c and clean bedsheets and towels. Normally, I would rate this kind of hotel "average" for the price. However, as a previous reviewer notes, the hotel is literally surrounded by construction site. The workers start jackhammering around 8a.m. and finish at around 8p.m.

The hotel should not be operational right now and I would not recommend the hotel for any price for the duration of the construction. Once the construction is finished, it will be a fine budget hotel in what will likely be a beautifully refurbished area of the old town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highschoolband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tbilisi hotels

Tours, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

On arrival (on extremely rough-surfaced streets,) we were shocked to see that the two buildings adjacent to the hotel had been recently razed, leaving big holes, big machines, rubble, and dust over what used to be a picturesque balcony/terrace... Our room, though big, was definitely not the freshest, most cheerful-looking one . In the circumstances it wasn't worth the $60 we were charged (after haggling) though breakfast & service were good. The services offered (airport taxi, excursions, city map) were grossly overpriced but it's part of the game, so just be warned...

Room Tip: Just ask to see the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights during our trip to Georgia. The hotel is overall okay but not on the cheap side. Rooms may be considered to be clean, however depending on room. The first room we stayed in the bathroom was en suite but not very clean and very basic with a very low water flow out of the tap. The room was large, on the first floor with basic furniture and locked windows, I suppose to prevent burglars from breaking in. The second room had no private bathroom, it was clean however and also the room was much cleaner. Do not expect efficient heating in wintertime and book well in advance as the hotel is fully booked most of the time. The breakfast is very basic, and my friend felt sick one day after having it. We believe it is the honey which is exposed to the sun all day and everybody putting their spoon inside. The hotel owner is smart, however she knows it and this can become tiresome over time. However, she is helpful and mostly friendly depending on mood.
Overall the hotel is ok, not very cheap, could be cleaner and breakfast could be much better. Would return, however we found better in Tbilisi at a lower rate, do not understand why this is an all time fully booked.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Decent price for what you get, and when compared to other accommodation in Tbilisi. Great location in the Old Town, and just a 5 minute walk to Freedom Square. Rooms vary in size and have some eccentric furniture and design, which I guess creates Charm.
Breakfast is not so great, just some cheese, salami, bread, boiled eggs, and tea/coffee.
Wireless Internet worked fine. One annoying part was that you had to ring the bell to get into the hotel at all times - meaning if you come in at 3AM you have to wake someone up to get in. Someone is at the front desk at all times, but I would prefer to have my own key and not have to disturb anyone.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank move360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Overall, I had a most enjoyable stay here. On arrival there appeared to be a bit of confusion over my (reconfirmed) booking but a quick call to the owner - who wasnt on site - and matters were sorted out while I was given breakfast. Lets be honest about this place, its not a hotel - more of a guest house which means that while you get the genuine human touch & friendliness; they may be a bit less "on the ball" than a real hotel. Certainly at the price I got - I felt I had a good deal. I chose the hotel primarily via reviews on this site coupled with looking at the website. The steinway piano so beloved of many reviewers wasn't visible - certainly not in the room where breakfast was served. The only public areas were the small room above the terrace where breakfast was served, and the terrace itself. Claims of billiard rooms, safes, minibars in the hotel etc on the website are untrue. There was no tv in the communal areas, as a matter of fact there was no residents lounge at all. All in all, the website is rather misleading.

Having said that I fail to identify with much of the gripes of other contributors. I had a small room in the attic with a shared bath. It was perfectly adequate for my needs. Good aircon in the room also. The shared bathroom was clean and there were no problems with hot water. The breakfast was basic albeit perfectly adequate and was always served with a smile (thanks Marina). The staff were friendly and helpful. Taxi to the airport was organised for $20 at an ungodly hour of the morning, advices were given about things to see/ places to eat which were accurate and on the ball (Thanks Nino).

Location of the hotel is perfect & Tbilisi is a great city. Would I stay here again - certainly, Would I recommend it - yes but on the proviso that its a Guest House/B&B as opposed to a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlannoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sharden
Hotel Sharden
#49 of 131 in Tbilisi
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kopala
Hotel Kopala
#34 of 131 in Tbilisi
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Orion Old Town
Hotel Orion Old Town
#40 of 131 in Tbilisi
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Orion Econom
Hotel Orion Econom
#53 of 131 in Tbilisi
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dzveli Ubani
Hotel Dzveli Ubani
#84 of 131 in Tbilisi
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boombully
Hotel Boombully
#8 of 131 in Tbilisi
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charm

Property: Hotel Charm
Address: 11 Chakhrukhadze Street, Tbilisi, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 131 Hotels in Tbilisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is situated in the heart of Tbilisi’s old town. Its antique interior, warm and friendly atmosphere and unbeatable location makes guests return to us year after year. This family-run guesthouse offers a unique mixture of comfort and genuine Georgian culture. Breakfast you enjoy in a beautiful environment of ancient antiques and our second-floor terrace offers a splendid view of Tbilisi’s old parts. This hotel always makes the greatest effort to meet your individual needs, to create a memorable stay for you in Tbilisi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charm Hotel Tbilisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing