We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic decorations and rooms, centrally located”
Review of Hotel Charm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tbilisi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Charm
Ranked #111 of 137 Hotels in Tbilisi
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Decent price for what you get, and when compared to other accommodation in Tbilisi. Great location in the Old Town, and just a 5 minute walk to Freedom Square. Rooms vary in size and have some eccentric furniture and design, which I guess creates Charm.
Breakfast is not so great, just some cheese, salami, bread, boiled eggs, and tea/coffee.
Wireless Internet worked fine. One annoying part was that you had to ring the bell to get into the hotel at all times - meaning if you come in at 3AM you have to wake someone up to get in. Someone is at the front desk at all times, but I would prefer to have my own key and not have to disturb anyone.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank move360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

Overall, I had a most enjoyable stay here. On arrival there appeared to be a bit of confusion over my (reconfirmed) booking but a quick call to the owner - who wasnt on site - and matters were sorted out while I was given breakfast. Lets be honest about this place, its not a hotel - more of a guest house which means that while you get the genuine human touch & friendliness; they may be a bit less "on the ball" than a real hotel. Certainly at the price I got - I felt I had a good deal. I chose the hotel primarily via reviews on this site coupled with looking at the website. The steinway piano so beloved of many reviewers wasn't visible - certainly not in the room where breakfast was served. The only public areas were the small room above the terrace where breakfast was served, and the terrace itself. Claims of billiard rooms, safes, minibars in the hotel etc on the website are untrue. There was no tv in the communal areas, as a matter of fact there was no residents lounge at all. All in all, the website is rather misleading.

Having said that I fail to identify with much of the gripes of other contributors. I had a small room in the attic with a shared bath. It was perfectly adequate for my needs. Good aircon in the room also. The shared bathroom was clean and there were no problems with hot water. The breakfast was basic albeit perfectly adequate and was always served with a smile (thanks Marina). The staff were friendly and helpful. Taxi to the airport was organised for $20 at an ungodly hour of the morning, advices were given about things to see/ places to eat which were accurate and on the ball (Thanks Nino).

Location of the hotel is perfect & Tbilisi is a great city. Would I stay here again - certainly, Would I recommend it - yes but on the proviso that its a Guest House/B&B as opposed to a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlannoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Our company included two couples.
We had booked two rooms in the hotel Charm for our first night in Tbilisi. Upon arrival we were informed that only one room was available as another couple "has not left". They have offered either to add additional bed to this one available room in the attic or to stay in a quite damp unpleasant room in the cellar. Although the staff were polite, there was no explanation as to why this couple were not asked to move as would be the case in a decent hotel.

The room in the attic was quite spacious and the price after all was reasonable, so we decided to stay.

The bathroom on the same floor was shared. The shower did not work as the shower hose was broken, the bath was not clean.

Breakfast is poor in comparison to other Georgia guesthouses or another Tbilisi hotel that we stayed in later. There was no fresh bread, sausage was quite bad, the water kettle was a mystery although the staff woman was friendly and helpful.

Such service is really a shame as such problems are quite easy to fix, the hotel has very beautiful antique furniture, its interior is done very tastefully, and its location is good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uncharmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Located in the Old Town of Tbilisi, Hotel Charm is an ideal base for getting to know this city. The charming owner, the lovely Nino, speaks excellent English and is extremely helpful when it comes to finding your way around, recommending good places to eat and drink, and pointing you to the best spa house in town.

The hotel itself certainly lives up to its name. Nino has adapted her family home into a guesthouse, retaining the original homely feel. The antique furniture adds a touch of elegance, and the paintings by her partner proudly displayed on the walls add further interest.

The staff are friendly, the breakfast is very good, and the views from the breakfast room allow you to feel that you are really in the heart of the old town. Hotel Charm appears to be the accommodation of choice not only for travellers but also for many foreigners working in Georgia, thus making it a great place to meet interesting people and hear their stories.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneySus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We expected more after reading the reviews of this place. The room was ok, not terribly clean but not awful. Location was excellent. Water was an issue - hot water was tough to get. The breakfast was disappointing. We ate a bit, and then went to a restaurant aroudn the corner. No excuse for a poor show on food - Georgia has some of the best in the world. After two nights we changed to another guesthouse at the same price, for a much better experience. Didn't really see much of the hospitatlity that Georgia is famous for (though we encountered much of it in other places). In short, you can stay here, but I wouldn't make it my first choice,

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjluecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

There are many positive things about this hotel. Location is good. The owner, Nino, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The fit out is impressive, old oak stairs, antique furniture, good pictures on the walls. As for disadvantages. We had no water at all upon arrival and no one bothered to warn us even when we were passing by the reception. Good that we bought some bottled water on the way to the hotel. Water was a problem in our room all way long, plumbing was poor and not much water in the shower. Sometimes we had it hot and sometimes we had it cold. Cleaning should be done better and dirty carpets are better off the floor. Most things could be improved easily. The big advantage is wifi in the room, not many places in Tbilisi has good connectivity with Apple devices.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guniang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I could not find the hotel neither could the taxi so we missed it. thankfully! I found it later and it is in a yucky location. Plus they wanted 40 lari to get us from the airport - come on, taxis cost 25 on average and 30 max.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tbilisi hotels
0 mi away
Guest House Irina
Guest House Irina
#161 of 653 in Tbilisi
20 reviews
0 mi away
Mirobelle Hotel
Mirobelle Hotel
#21 of 137 in Tbilisi
178 reviews
0 mi away
Tbilisi Hostel
Tbilisi Hostel
#70 of 653 in Tbilisi
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Leadora
Hotel Leadora
#174 of 550 in Tbilisi
19 reviews
0 mi away
Dvizh Hostel Eli Spali
Dvizh Hostel Eli Spali
#10 of 653 in Tbilisi
40 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gutsa
Hotel Gutsa
#130 of 550 in Tbilisi
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charm

Address: 11 Chakhrukhadze Street, Tbilisi, Georgia
Location: Georgia > Tbilisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 137 Hotels in Tbilisi
Price Range: $50 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hotel is situated in the heart of Tbilisi’s old town. Its antique interior, warm and friendly atmosphere and unbeatable location makes guests return to us year after year. This family-run guesthouse offers a unique mixture of comfort and genuine Georgian culture. Breakfast you enjoy in a beautiful environment of ancient antiques and our second-floor terrace offers a splendid view of Tbilisi’s old parts. This hotel always makes the greatest effort to meet your individual needs, to create a memorable stay for you in Tbilisi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charm Hotel Tbilisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing